We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindsay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindsay Guest House
Ranked #69 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights early August 2013. We were greeted by Keith , he was extremely helpful and informative. He spent about 1/2 hour discussing routes and transport into the town centre and other amenities nearby. He then showed us to our room. It was spacious very clean and had tea/coffee making facilities, TV etc. There was a wide choice at Breakfast, which was very well cooked and presented. I would highly recommend it as a place to stay. It is just out of the town centre but easily reached by foot or public transport. My car never left the car park as there was no need. All in all a very friendly family run Guest House

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
109
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A good friend and I stayed at the Lindsay Guest House for 2 nights earlier in July during our weekend in Edinburgh. We could not have had a more wonderful time. The room was beautiful, clean, and spacious, with all necessary amenities. We had a gorgeous view of the canal, and actually walked the 20 minutes into town from the Guest House to have dinner in the city. It is also a very easy bus ride into town, and Pamela sat down and showed us exactly how to get to wherever we are going.

Pamela and Keith were amazing. They are such kind, well humored, generous hosts, and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast was just incredible as well, filling and delicious. If I ever have the opportunity to return to Edinburgh, I will stay at the Lindsay Guest House again. It could not have been a more perfect experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKWarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay at Lindsay Guest House on our visit to Scotland to watch the Open. It proved to be a good choice. Nice quiet location, comfortable beds, an excellent breakfast and a warm welcome by the owners. Would certainly return on our next visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 231jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, which was really too short for Edinburgh. The on-site car parking is very handy. The city centre is only 20 minutes away on foot along a pleasant canal or one can take a bus (No 10 or 27). The owners, Pamela and Keith are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonyetS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family stayed here for two nights on a city-visit to Edinburgh, attracted initially by its on-site car-parking spaces which many other establishments could not offer. We received a very warm welcome from owner Keith, who bombarded us with helpful advice about transport, eating-places, etc. Lindsay House is a very pleasant 25-minute walk along an attractive canal towpath to the city centre sights, which in the good weather during our visit proved a real bonus (although it is also right on the bus route into the city). Rooms are clean and comfortable, although the décor is rather chintzy for our personal tastes. The breakfast is excellent, although porridge if required needs to be ordered the night before. We had an altogether pleasant and enjoyable stay, and would thoroughly recommend Lindsay House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bucksbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We travelled to Edinburgh by train and stayed one night to pick up a car the next day. There was an easy and frequent bus service between town and the guest house. Our double room was a good size and peaceful overlooking the garden. The beds were very comfortable and unusually I slept really well. Breakfast was delicious. Keith & Pam were very welcoming and they kindly stored our bags on the day we left while we picked up our car, which was much appreciated. I would certainly stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Double room on ground floor overlooking garden was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights on our first visit to Scotland. Very comfortable, large rooms and excellent breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble for Keith and Pam. They had good local knowledge and helped us with buses and trains and recommended places for us to visit and eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debomarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.0 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#58 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#31 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Badjao Bed and Breakfast
Badjao Bed and Breakfast
#316 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#39 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
4.9 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#34 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindsay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindsay Guest House

Property: Lindsay Guest House
Address: 108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindsay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindsay Guest house is a red sandstone Victorian listed building of great character. Located in the highly desirable Merchiston area it is on an excellent bus route which takes 10 - 15 minutes to make the journey to the city centre. For the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Union canal to the city centre (approx 30 minutes). Car parking available. (No cost) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lindsay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindsay Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing