We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place near Royal mile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safestay Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Safestay Edinburgh
Ranked #10 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place near Royal mile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

this hotel is located in the center. we had a room for 4. the room was a little bit small but nice for us. we had also shower and toilets inside. Breafast is very good. the staff is very helphy. and the price is good also. so we are very happy from our staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minouche25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us,

See you soon

Anne@Sch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    460
    171
    51
    53
See reviews for
177
110
329
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was very apprehensive about staying in a hostel, but there were 7 of us through for a stag weekend so just went with it. Really glad i did. We were in an 8 bed room, 2 showers, 2 bathrooms. Everything was clean, well maintained, friendly staff and had a goodlaugh with the bouncers. Couldn't fault the food, but thought the dinners were better than the breakfasts. Full bar and great location to get around other pubs. The staff made sure the noise was kept down for everybody. Would recommend to anybody

Room Tip: We were on floor 1, room 112 and my only problem was that saturday morning around 7, i was woken up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay.

See you soon

Thanks

Anne@sch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hostel is a super location for Edinburgh and felt very safe and secure when we were there. Obviously it's very cramped but it is a hostel and that's what you'd expect. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EbbieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hey,

And thanks for leaving a review for us.

Edinburgh is such a gorgeous place and we are glad you enjoyed staying with us.

Cheers,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was on a trip with university and we stayed at this hostel. The rooms and shower/toilets where clean. We ate at the hostel too and the food was quite nice at both breakfast and dinner! The location of the hostel was very good too not far from the royal mile, clubs and pubs and the Grassmarket! :) Would recemmend this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livibooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks lots for your review - we really appreciate it..

It's great that you had a good time here in Edinburgh.

See you soon!

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hostel is perfectly located - just few steps from Royal Mile. Easy to reach form Waverly Station, all main city attractions are within walking distance. Staff is helpful and friendly.
I stayed in a room with private bathroom. Room was rather small, but clean and quiet. It was pleasant surprise for me to find a hair-dryer in my room - usually hostels do not provide such a benefit. Towels were also provided.
Reception is opened 24/7, as well as storage room - it is very convenient if you need to store you luggage or need any assistance.
If I come to Edinburgh one more time, I will stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hey,

Thanks a lot for leaving a review.

So glad you had a good time. We will hopefully see you soon!

Cheers,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Its was pretty ok for a hostel and good value for money..
the room was simple and overall ok, except for the bathroom that had very bad smell..
however the place itseld is friendly and busy..nice atmosphere..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi,

And thanks for leaving a review.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Cheers,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went as a group in January, and we liked this hostel better than some others we have been to in the same city. The location is great, just off the Royal Mile. The staff was helpful and "cool" towards the young ones in our group, and helped us when we needed assistance as group leaders. Wifi for 5 pounds 24hrs or even cheaper if you stay for a week. The breakfast is very good, and the bar is nice place to be for the young ones. All beds were clean upon arrival, and for a single room we had three large towels which was good. We came on a Sunday, and were promised that sheets and towels would be changed Tuesday by the manager but they didn't which was not so good so we asked again and Wednesday afternoon they were finally changed and we had fresh towels.

Some issues that could be better:
Two of our rooms smelled very badly. The manager was in my room to fix the problem, but it still stank of sewage, even though with the door closed it was not a problem. If we could wish for anything at a youth hostel, it would be that the floor was vacuum-cleaned and that all the trash from the room were taken out now or then. We had sick boys in one room for five nights, and they were in need of new sheets and towels, a blocked toilet first night, and the trash bins were never emptied. In the other rooms this was ok, and in my room the little trash I had was taken out every day and the bathroom cleaned so it seemed.

All in all this was a good experience as we travelled with a large group of students 19-21. We would definitely recommend the place for student groups or young people going to Edinburgh for the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nintin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again,

Anne@sch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay Edinburgh

Property: Safestay Edinburgh
Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Safestay Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Safestay Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing