We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay- great location, quiet, great...”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
119 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
Street
Living Room
Dining Area
Sofa Bed
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Lady Wynd
Grassmarket
The Castle
Living Room
Bedroom
Living Room/Dining Area
Welcome
Lady Wynd
Bathroom Window
Bathroom/Jacuzzi
Calton Hill
Grassmarket to Westbow
Beautiful Castle
The Royal Mile will be lit up this Christmas
beautiful evening in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tor1na
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay- great location, quiet, great value & Very thoughtful owner”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for a long weekend, perfect for 3 of us, sofa bed is a good double with fresh bedding. The location is unbeatable, just off Grassmarket on a very quiet side street but so near all the action. We had no issues with noise but just bring earplugs if worried. The owner has thought of everything - you really will be spoilt! The apartment is very clean and fresh with everything you would need - home-made soaps, jacuzzi bath & food to start you off (milk, bread, eggs, yoghurts, biscuits & prosecco!) She even has a new fan since the last review! Good communication, reliable, clean apartment in an excellent location - would not hesitate to book!!
Thank you very much Eve - we had a fabulous experience of Edinburgh and are very keen to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you very very much. And yes, I installed a fan in the bedroom. I am so glad you had a good time. And I would be very happy to see you again.
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryhaze...
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights in this lovely apartment and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting an apartment within walking distance of everything in Edinburgh .
Eve was there to meet us and show us around . We have never rented an apartment before where the owner went to so much trouble to ensure that we enjoyed our stay . There was fresh milk , wine , chocolates , flowers and so many other thoughtful extras . Thank you Eve !
The position of the apartment was perfect for us . It is right at the base of the impressive castle , within easy walking distance of lots of restaurants , pubs and shops both on the Grass Market and The Royal Mile and there is even a supermarket close by .
This cute , beautifully renovated and spotlessly clean apartment was perfect and we loved our time there .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2015
Thank you very much for those kind words. I really enjoy preparing the apartment, and ensuring that guests are happy. I always take note of recommendations. You were lovely guests.
Thank you again
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accentmon...
Meath
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment with thoughtful little extras”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Eve's apartment in Grassmarket is comfortable and affordable, and Eve went to great trouble to make sure we felt welcome there. A welcome basket of Scottish delicacies, a week's worth of fresh fruit, and basic groceries like bread, butter, juice, oil, tea and coffee were all included. Eve also added home-made jam and eggs from her own hens, and even home-made soap in the bathroom. The facilities were all great: big, comfortable bed, powerful shower, plenty of storage, plenty of towels, and so on.
The only thing keeping it from being five stars is that there is a little noise from outside (although surprisingly little, considering it's right in the centre of the action) and this means you can't sleep with the windows open, which makes the place a little hot in the summer. We were fine with earplugs, but a fan in the bedroom would also help to block the noise out (and would keep the place cool in the two weeks of the year when that's necessary in Edinburgh).
We would definitely stay in this apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment
Liked least: Some noise from the street outside affected our sleep a bit
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
thank you for that. I will consider the fan. And I look forward to you visiting again.
Eve :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissBinks...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Apartment”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As others have pointed out, we received a great welcome from Eve to a very well equipped and well located apartment which provided an excellent base for a Festival visit.
All arrangements were easy and Eve was very helpful and responsive to enquiries.
The location was good and compensated for the lack of view. Being tucked away in a little alleymeant things were quieter than is often the case in the city centre.
Spotlessly clean, comfortable and with a great shower, the apartment felt fresh and well looked after and all the little, thoughtful touches were very much appreciated. We would return. Thank you Eve.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you very much. It was a pleasure. I would be very happy to greet you again in the future.
Eve :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Super comfortable and relaxing!”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a wonderful stay at this lovely little flat. With a great view of the castle as you approach the property it starts very well. The owner is really helpful and friendly and left us many treats to greet us including her own homemade soaps, eggs from her chickens and lots of goodies to tuck into and enjoy. The bed and sofa bed are both very comfortable and the whole apartment was beautifully clean and welcoming. The location is great and we were able to walk to everything that we wanted to see. Very much looking forward to coming back to visit soon! Thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2015
I am so happy that you had a good time. And I would love to see you again very soon.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review, I really appreciate it.
Eve :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen D
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable, convenient apartment”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A really wonderful place to stay. Clean, comfortable & very well located. About a 15 minute walk (with luggage & a seven year old!) going the long way (step~free) from Edinburgh Waverly train station. It is a bit quicker if you use the shorter route (with steps, but they are steep & can be slippery if wet). Maybe a 5~10 minute taxi ride.
The apartment is right next to Grassmarket & access is down a small alley way called Lady Wynd. There are plenty of restaurants & pubs in Grassmarket. The apartment is a minutes walk from the main Grassmarket area so nice & handy. Edinburgh Castle & the Royal Mile are very easy to walk to. Where the entrance to the apartment building is you can actually see Edinburgh Castle up on the hill. The apartment is on the first floor (up one flight of stairs) & there is no view as such from inside the apartment but it so close to everything that it makes up for it (& the fact it is quieter especially at night).
I made an online booking request with Trip Advisor & within an hour I was contacted by the owner of the apartment, Eve. Payment & booking was fast & secure & communication by Eve was nice & friendly & informative.
On the afternoon of arrival Eve was there to meet us in person. We had a lovely warm welcome. She showed us around & gave us the keys. She has thoughtfully put together a visitors information folder that has everything in there that you need to know about the apartment such as instructions for the washing machine/dryer, dishwasher, tv, freeview box, dvd player, wi~fi, central heating etc. I might add that the instructions for the tv/freeview etc are a dummies guide & are very clear even if you're not used to using technology & the remotes are numbered so there is no way you can go wrong! In the folder there is also useful info about things to do, places to visit & places to eat in Edinburgh & info/contact details if needed about Eve & her husband.
On the lounge table Eve had left us a bottle of wine, chocolates, Scottish shortbread & oatcakes, a small bottle of Scottish whisky, a fruit basket, homemade jam & other goodies & there were also fresh flowers in a vase. In the fridge was fresh milk, orange juice, several bottles of mineral water, fresh eggs from Eve's chickens, butter etc. In the cupboards there was a great assortment of teas, sugar & coffee to go in the supplied coffee plunger. There is also a basket full of single serve breakfast cereals & potato crisps/chips & a loaf of bread was there for us too. Diswasher tablets, washing machine liquid, cleaning products, broom/dustpan/brush & paper towel are all supplied. The kitchen is well stocked with plates, cups, saucepans etc. Everything you need if you want to make food & cook with the microwave or oven & eat in.
In the bathroom Eve left us two bars of lovely handmade soap and some bath salts that she had made herself. There are plenty of toliet/loo rolls/paper supplied & also plenty of lovely clean fluffy towels.
The lounge has a three seater sofa/couch which does convert into a sofa bed if required. There are two comfy lounger chairs. The glass top dining table has four seats.
The bedroom has a very comfortable bed & the wardobe has plenty of hanging space for clothes and a plastic drawer unit. Inside the wardrobe there is also an iron & ironing board & a hoover/vacuum cleaner. Access to the bathroom is off of the bedroom, just something to keep in mind if sharing the apartment.
The bathroom is light & the jacuzzi bath was nice & relaxing. The power shower has very good water pressure so made washing long hair quick!
Both my daughter & I loved staying here, just wished it was for longer & we hope to return again in the future.
Many thanks Eve for making our stay in Edinburgh even more special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Wow, thank you. You certainly wrote a very detailed review. I am so grateful, and I really appreciate it. You and your little girl were lovely guests, and I hope to meet you again soon.
I only wish that I could have provided you with better weather.
Thank you again.
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn P
Newtownstewart, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful apartment in a great location”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great apartment with large bedroom, including large comfy bed, lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Small kitchen had everything we needed. Great location at the bottom of the Grassmarket area just below Edinburgh Castle, The Royal Mile and a short walk from Princes Street. The hallway is bright and clean and the apartment is on the second floor so would suit everyone.
Eve takes a lot of pride in her apartment and supplied a lot of complimentary iitems including homemade soaps, jam, free range eggs, fruit, biscuits, wine and whiskey.
Will definitely return to stay in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2015
Thank you very much for those kind words. I would just like to point out that the apartment is on the first floor, not the second :-).
Please, come back soon, and thank you for leaving the apartment absolutely spotless, there was no need, but I am grateful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing