We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel in every way.....but beware the noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #78 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
West Country
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel in every way.....but beware the noise!”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I booked Le Monde to take my girlfriend away for 2 nights for her 30th birthday. I wanted a cool and original "boutique" hotel which didn't break the bank. Le Monde ticks almost every single box. The "London" room was fantastic - i (cheekily) asked for a complimentary upgrade from a superior room and it turned out that they'd already given us one! The girl on reception was almost apologetic for not being able to bump us up to a junior suite! The decor was great, the bed was sooooo comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. I can't fault it at all. The location of the hotel is great too - a short walk to the castle and all the bars etc on George Street. The service was great as well - they were happy and helpful and made us feel incredibly welcome.

So basically everything was great and the hotel provided great memories for my girlfriend's b'day trip as she absolutely loved it. However, the only thing that dissapointed was the noise from the club / bars in the hotel. I read lots of reviews stating that this was an issue and so I was certainly mindful when i decided to book. I did ask when I booked to be given a quiet room and even the upgrade was at the back of the hotel on the top floor. We're a young couple and don't normally have an issue with this sort of thing, but do be aware that it is very noticable when trying to sleep. The noise comes flying up the lift shaft and the bass makes the room vibrate until 3 a.m (on a tuesday night)....on the 3rd floor! It certainly didn't ruin our stay at all, but if i ever go back to Edinburgh for a relaxing break I would probably stay elsewhere......which is a real shame because everything else about the hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bean0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    201
    81
    38
    37
See reviews for
36
483
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Location location location! Le Monde is situated right slap bang in the city centre of Edinburgh and everything you could need during your stay is on your doorstep! That is if you even need to leave the hotel at all!

Beautiful decor, luxurious rooms, delicious dining and a vibrant nightclub all under one roof!

Stayed for just one night and I'll definitely be back, as the most important thing to me with any hotel stay (the service) was absolutely spot on! Well looked after and in one of the most fabulous hotels too!

Can't wait for my next trip to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjohnson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I stayed in Barcelona and the room was gorgeous!! Right at the back of the hotel, so pretty quiet and relaxing with very little noise. The reception team were very pleasant and helpful and gave me a welcome drink voucher on arrival and a pass to Shanghai Night Club below the hotel.

They really pay attention to the little details, like a detailed weather card, including the weather in Barcelona - nice touch!! The room was very comfy with great plasma and nice bathroom.

Even the service in the bar was great. Food was great vale for money and scrumptious!! And the cocktails - so many to choose from, and if you are stuck for choice, the bartenders will help you choose!!

All in all a great visit and i would love to go back and try one of the other rooms!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I booked the Atlantis room at Le Monde as a treat for me and my boyfriend. I booked it six weeks in advance and was almost put off by the reviews on Trip Advisor, so I emailed the hotel with my concerns and they where only happy to reassure that my stay would be what I hoped for. Immediatly, the customer service was fantastic, I sent several emails and got immediate replies.

When we arrived the receptionist was really friendly, the room was ready for an early check in as requested. They did ask for a credit card to ensure that I had available funds available for check out. I was asked to pay cash because I didnt have one. I asked could I make sure the room was what I expected first, this was fine. I went upto the room and it was what I expected so I went back to reception and asked would it be ok if I paid one nights fee and pay the following nights the next day, I was being cautious, I didnt want to hand over all my money incase there was any problems; this was fine with reception.

The room was very clean and welcoming, there was some damaged tiles over the bath and the TV in the bathroom didnt work, this is something the hotel need to address, but it was no big deal for us!!

There are alot of bad reviews about the customer service, we had no problem whatsoever. I rang the reception desk a number of times and they where only happy to help. I rang up because the air con was either too hot or too cold so they adjusted it for us. I rang up for a towel, 2 clean mugs, some milk, shower gel and a bar of soap, this was brought upto the room within 20minutes, there was no soap but the receptionist did try to find some.

The breakfast wasnt the best we have had but we are use to buffet breakfasts where you can help yourself, of course this is not possible with such a small hotel and it does feel arkward having to keep asking for more. The Scottish breakfast was greasy and not very big, this is because my boyfriend didnt want half of the items, that was his problem.

The bed was huge and very comfortable, it was two small beds pushed together but it didnt make much difference, me and my boyfriend actually had enough room to spread out. The room was very quiet but we can't comment on nightclub noise because we stayed on a Monday and Tuesday so it was silent.

When we needed any directions or advice where to go, reception printed us a map off and where more than happy to help.

We had two free cocktails in the bar which where free with our vouchers, I had an extra one but my boyfriend thought £7.50 for a cocktail was alot, I thought it was worth it!!!

If you can comfotably afford to pay the prices, then its a great place to stay. If your a poor student like me, it is alot of money for what you get really. For that price I would have liked my bags to be taken to my room, more toiletries in the room (you get 2 small shower gels, lotions and shampoos. In addition, conditioner, a bar of soap, tootpaste and a disposable shower cap would be nice too). The room has tea and coffee (Nescafe saches, fresh ground coffee would be better) and hot chocolate, I feel like some bottled water, small selection of fruit and biscuits would be a nice touch). There are a few things that could be sorted like the TV and the tiles.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

stayed in le monde for one night, arrived in the afternoon, was grate service and atmosphere, as i got to my room "tokyo" i recived a letter welcoming me to my room with some free drink vouchers for the bar and some vip passes to the night club,
later in the evning i had some food the menu was huge and had so much to choose from, at some pritty good prices.
all in all for the one night there it was great. plan to visit again and not for business next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocky583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2010

I stayed in Le Monde for a night on a business trip and was given the L.A themed suite (each room is differently styled to represent a city). The receptionist was very polite and promt checking me in and gave me 2 complimentry drink vouchers and a free pass for the adjoining nightclub. The room was excellent, with a large bed that was exceptionally comfy with very good quality bedding and it also had a large top of the range plasma tv and even a tv in the bathroom! I had a meal in the very trendy Vienna area of the bar, food was delicious, very reasonable price and the service was excellent. Thouroughly enjoyed my stay in this hotel and would definately book again the next time i'm in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieNGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angus
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Enjoyed one night in Cairo, a junior suite. It was brilliant.
we went on a Sunday deal and easily spent the £120 on food and drink
well worth every penny - a great treat, highly recommended and a place we will defo book into again
thanks everyone

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple_funky_buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#19 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing