We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well rested and recharged.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #80 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

This gorgeous wee boutique Hotel in the heart of the city is a must for a special night.

We sadly only had one night, could've stayed forever.

We had the Berlin themed room which was very comfortable.

The check in time is strictly 3pm but was worth it as the room and bathroom was spotlessly clean. (They'll take your bags though.)

My wife being a bit petite found the bathroom mirror and shelves far too high as was the bed for my mini wife but maybe being the Berlin room they were expecting tall blonde folks. We'll book the Tokyo room for lady wife next time.

Staff are genuinely warm and friendly.

We dined in the restaurant which we have used many times before for lunch and dinner so have no complaints.

For some bizarre unexplained reason they dont have chicken breast on the menu ~ you're guess is as good as mine?

The breakfast was excellent but would have liked our Scottish favourite tattie scones!

Being very fussy with food standards I can assure you won't be disappointed.

Definitely going back and try a longer break.

Besides we usually visit the cosy wee bar and sit by fireplace when shopping in Edinburgh.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anon_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 840 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just back from spending our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Le Monde. We wanted somewhere special for our stay in Edinburgh and this hotel certainly lived up to this.
We booked the Atlantis room which was amazing, with a fish tank behind the bed!
The whole stay was a pleasant experience, staff were friendly and helpful. In good position for visiting the sights, most things within walking distance. Would recommend to anyone looking for something different.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Le Monde for 4 nights and enjoyed every night of our stay, we stayed in Milan, Paris and LA and all rooms were amazing. The staff were fantastic and very friendly and the rooms were spotless, and we liked the mood lighting and great themes in the rooms. We look forward to coming for our anniversary thank you to everyone at Le Monde.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HullElgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Upon arrival , impressive friendly staff , very happy to help.Check in quick and easy. Room very clean, stayed in the Atlantis.room location was quiet and comfortable.Had dinner in the very busy bar, limited menu but enough to satisfy, washed down with plenty of cocktails. Overall a lovely time and would definitely visit agin

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 341ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for our anniversary. reception staff brilliant. Stayed in "New York" room. Lovely big room, possibly not if you require a view from windows but that wasn't a concern of ours. Positioned very well for visiting Edinburgh Would definitely recommend and will use as our Edinburgh base when visiting again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is the second time we stayed at the hotel. The first time staying in a 'standard' room the rio. 1st stay was fantastic, room was great and quite spacious. This visit we decided to pay the extra and stay in one of the 'superior' rooms- the Dublin. The room actually appeared smaller than the rio despite the slight increase in price.the bathroom especially was smaller. Whilst clean and tidy the room could have benefited from a blackout blind and a proper kingsize bed ( bed was just two singles pushed together with a slight slope). The other guests on the same landing were quite noisy ( obv not within hotel control) and you could hear quite a bit through the walls. Could not fault service or the package we were able to get however very disappointed in the 'superior' room.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaW0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Fun and unusual hotel in a great place. We stayed in the Sydney room which we enjoyed a lot if you can avoid breaking your neck by falling in the sunken bath! Nice food, cocktails. No parking though and the nearest car park is at least 10 min walk away but that's fine as you won't need your car during the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvershower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
493 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,452 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $147 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing