We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A world class experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #77 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Le Monde hotel. It was glorious. We were in the Icelandic room.
The interior design is very impressive, the staff are helpful and best of all it's an A1 location right next to all the action. There is also a great restaurant and bar as part of the hotel
Given the design and overall theme of the hotel my own suggestion would be a more apt key chain than a tacky disco ball. A mini globe perhaps!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a choice of city to pick from as each is designed accordingly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MellieMel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you so much for giving such a glowing review of your experience here at Le Monde. Reykjavik is a great room and you are right we are located right in the centre of the Edinburgh buzz. We are glad to hear that our staff looked after you so well; we always strive to make our guests feel welcome and do everything we can to better their stay.
Thank you for your idea about our key chains; we love it and the globe will be something that we are going to use in the future. Hopefully you will be back soon to see your idea in place!

Best wishes,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 831 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at the Le Monde on Sat 28th December. When we arrived we were greeted to 2 glasses of complimentary champagne and a free upgrade to the Dublin suite! It didnt have the best of views but it was fine for a one night stay!
Have seen some comments about the staff being unfriendly but for us the staff also couldnt be more helpful.
Although Le Monde has bars and restaurants in the hotel we didnt visit these so couldnt really comment about them but we were very happy with our Dublin suite and will definately be booking again and hopefully we will stay in a different city in the world!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi Craig,

Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Our champagne check-ins on Fridays and Saturdays are a great way to kick-start your weekend!
We pride ourselves in having a dedicated reception team who will always do their best to look after all of our customers and we are so glad to hear that was reflected in your experience.
Remember when you come and stay with us again to let us know that you have experienced Dublin so that we can allocate you another of our destination rooms!

All the best

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at Le Monde on Sat Dec 21st. A night away before the christmas madness. We stayed in a lovely room (Sydney) no view but not a problem for one night. Unfortunately there was a lot of noise from the bar under our room but we put this down to Christmas party night! Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Thanks to the great staff who booked us a table at Rhubarb, we had the best meal we have had in a long time in a beautiful building 10min up the road. We will be visiting Le Monde and Rhubarb again in the new yr.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicnicklukelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi Nick,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your stay with us here at Le Monde! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our restaurant recommendations were to your taste.
As you mentioned the hotel can experience some noise with us being right in the centre of such a vibrant capital but we do our best to allocate rooms on the third wherever possible. When you return you will need to try out another of our fantastic suites.

We are looking forward to welcoming you both back to Le Monde already!

Kind Regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed at Le Monde on Saturday we arrived and were greeted by two glasses of champagne .
We got up graded to the most amazing room Atlantis,
The bars in the hotel are fantastic with different themes, we also eat in the hotel and the food and service was second to none.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone without an hesitation.

We will defiantly be going back

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARYANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Hi Gary,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review! We are always delighted when we are able to upgrade our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed Atlantis!

Look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

From the minute we stepped into reception, the receptionist was helpful. Free complimentary glass of champagne :) we wanted to book dinner in the restaurant but it was full but the staff accommodated us, which we thought was just great. Our room was lovely, very chic, only slight disadvantage we could here all the noise on the street below. Would definitely come back again!,,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyb1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Le Monde.

Look forward to seeing you next time!

Best regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Myself and my wife flew in for a one night stay. I had chose this hotel due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We had the Moscow room which was great. The bed was big and comfy, and the ensuite bathroom was large and clean.
The hotel itself has a great bar on restaurant, which was very busy all day and night, which would indicate to me it is very popular. We paid for Half Board so we had our evening meal in this restaurant and it was great. Very good quality food and staff. Next door to the hotel is The Dome and this seems to be THE place to go in Edinburgh. There were queues outside all day long so i would recommend you book in advance.
The only downside for me is that they need to spend a little more time and money on the small details in the rooms. We had a couple of small things broken and missing in the room, but i am sure these small things would of been found if there was regular maintenance, but saying that it did not detract from a great stay.
It was expensive but worth the money if you are looking for a special place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your positive review! We are pleased that you were not disappointed with your overall stay and that you enjoyed our food and dinner package!

With regards to the maintenance I would like to assure you and future visitors that we do pay attention and regular checks are carried out on a daily basis. The issues you encountered were actioned and have already been rectified.

Hope to welcome you back again soon and please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we will be delighted to choose a room especially for you.

Best regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Le Monde for one night last week and this was the second time we have stayed in this hotel. It's a really cool hotel with every room themed as a different city. Last time we stayed in Berlin which is a lovely room with an amazing bath! This time we got a free upgrade to Dublin! We were excited about this and again Dublin was a really nice room! No bath but a lovely spacious shower and lots of area to sit and have a drink. Massive bed, really liked it!

One of the best things I think about this hotel is breakfast is served until 12pm! When you have been for cocktails in Edinburgh the night before it's ideal!! And on a Sunday breakfast is served till 5pm!!! Amazing!

Le monde is a really quirky cool city centre hotel with good location right on George St. Looking forward to staying again and trying some other cities!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LJNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to post your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your second visit as much as your first and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Being a smaller hotel we enjoy being able to offer slightly later breakfast and check out times when possible for our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed these services.

Kind regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $159 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing