We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I have stayed at in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great stylish room in the heart of George Street. I was served breakfast by Dorota, coffees and lunch by Michael and hotel reception Ian. Could not have been more helpful - food and drinks orders were speedy and accurate, Ian very attentive and took time out to help me plan my journey (avoid road works). Everyone friendly - hard to find fault and looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelsaleJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 836 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Brilliant stay for one night for our mums 50th birthday, all the staff really went out their way to make our stay special, changed our room to a larger one (Sydney) as there was 3 of us and organised a bottle of bubbly in the room. All the staff took time to talk to us in reception and in the restaurant and bars and were extremely friendly. We look forward to trying out other themed rooms in the future!! We were planning on staying in one of the older hotels - but this was quirky and made our short break fantastic, would definitely recommend, as would my mum who is a travel agent to any of her clients going to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Me and my boyfriend had an amazing one night stay in the room 'Paris'. We arrived before 3 (Check in time) but were very kindly allowed to leave our luggage in the hotel until our room was ready. During this time we went for some lunch and shopping which was made so much easier by not having to drag our cases about. I got a phone call from the hotel about 2:30 to say our room was ready whenever we were ready. The room was beautiful, we did feel as though we were in Paris! The view over George Street was amazing and we had the best nights sleep. The hotel is right next to the Hard Rock Cafe where we had cocktails, drinks and dinner which was perfect. Thanks again Le Monde for an amazing stay. The only thing we regret was not booking more nights!! Will definitely be coming back again in the future.

Room Tip: Paris definitely has a brilliant view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaysabraoadlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

As said in title this was a second visit as loved it so much last time. Right in the heart of Edinburgh. Excellent staff (man on hotel reception in particular - didnt catch a name). Every need catered. Stayed in Atlantis which was a great experince with the built in fish tank! (could do with some more colourful fish but thats my only suggestion!) Great big bed plenty of space in the room. Very good facilities in room. Breakfast was delivered as room service and was excellent. Looking forward to when we can return! (oh drinks down in the bar - superb).

Room Tip: both rooms i have stayed in have been great - its fun waiting to see which 'city' you will e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliG317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at a bit of a last minute choice, as we normally stay in quite main stream hotels. This was our first boutique hotel experience & we loved it! The rooms in Le Monde are all unique & are based on individual cities (e.g. New York, Tokyo, Sydney etc), we stayed in the Tokyo room & it was inspirational! There are huge windows with bonsai trees inside, a large sunk in bath with a window to the bedroom that has a pull switch that makes it frosted for privacy!! The room also has 3 TV's! Plenty of room for storage & relaxing! Absolutely amazing! Location is great, the only thing was parking. If you arrive after 6:30pm parking is free & plenty of spaces, however before 6:30pm it is very busy, however there are 2 multi stories nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkandcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here on saturday night for our anniversary and we had a lovely time!

We stayed in Atlantis and the room was amazing the bathroom was huge and had a lovely sunken bath and a rainfall shower with seperate toilet. In the room was a large double bed and plenty wardrobe space. The see through fish tank was awesome and a definate talking point! Our room looked out across the back of the building and the view was dissapointing as we honestly didnt have a good view.

We ordered room service and the food ( as always from le monde) was amazing would recomend going for a meal to friends and family.

we did have two down sides to our stay, we had ants in the room and the air conditioning wasnt working and as it was a hot day the room was stuffy and uncomfy.

Apart from those small issues our stay was lovely and would recomend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxhsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here with a friend after a works meeting to have a night out in Edinburgh. We were given the Tokyo room and it was perfect! Huge room with twin beds and living area and a huge bathroom with sunken bath, shower and seperate WC. We were running behind schedule and the reception were more than helpful delivering a chilled bottle of wine to our room to begin our night out whilst we were getting ready. We had cocktails downstairs, which were amazing and went on our night out.

The beds were incredibly comfy and breakfast was delivered to our room at no extra cost. The staff are super friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to give you the best experience they possibly can.

We will totally be back here for another girlie night out, but this time we would defo be spending more time in our room!

Fabulous!

Room Tip: Tokyo was amazing and very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raelovesshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain W, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Great to hear you had a good night, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks!
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
488 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#80 of 151 in Edinburgh
340 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $148 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing