We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but a little far from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straven Guest House
Ranked #33 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
brownsville
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent but a little far from town”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is an excellent B&B. Our room was large and nice. The breakfast was excellent and the service was very polite and helpful. The only issue is the location. It is about a half block off the beach which is very pleasant. However, it is a 25 to 30 plus minute bus ride to the City Center and while buses are suppose to run every 5 minutes they don't. There are 26?stops on the bus route to City Center and it did not seem to matter when we went or came back; the bus stopped at almost all of them. Thus it can take 45 minutes to get to and from City Center. if we had been expecting the commute taking this long, it would have been better, but it was a little frustrating that the bus ride was not 15 minutes. If you have a car this is a GREAT choice. If you don't it is still a good choice, just realize it is a little bit of a bus ride.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knuhles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macmccool, Owner at Straven Guest House, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience in our house so much. I am so sorry for your unfortunate experience on the bus which puzzled us at first. Normally the bus service works seamlessly – every 5/7 minutes daytime and 15 minutes frequency evening. Timetable states a 15 minute journey but this can extend to 20 - 25 minutes in practice at busy times. They do stop at most stops which is all part of the service but charge along a dedicated bus lane so still get in faster than other traffic. A 45 minute journey sounds quite extraordinary but I recall there was a recent fatal accident in town with police closing off roads to investigate which caused a major blockage so perhaps this coincided with your visit. Do read other reviews here where you will see that the bus service normally works very well for our visitors - AND it is a chance to see other parts of the city and meet the friendly locals! For the overwhelming majority of our guests being able to escape the noise and bustle of the centre and have a walk on the beach seems to make the short journey well worthwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
97
218
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have traveled from the US to Edinburgh five times since 2004, and have stayed in B&B's each time. The past two times I stayed at Straven Guest House... once in 2010 and most recently in late June of 2014. My wife and I absolutely adore our hosts Mac and Marion! The rooms are spacious and clean, beds are very comfortable, the breakfasts are amazing, and Mac and Marion are delightful, and have made us feel warmed and welcomed each time we have visited.

Straven is situated very near the water, on The Firth of Forth. There is a beautiful beach and esplanade which my wife and I would stroll along each morning after breakfast, before heading in to beautiful central Edinburgh, or visiting nearby attractions such as Sterling Castle, Melrose Abbey, etc. It's proximity to the A720, makes it an ideal location from which to base your explorations of Fife and Midlothian. The esplanade has some lovely restaurants and shops as well, and it would not be a stretch to say that you could just stay put and enjoy entire days by the seaside.

Central Edinburgh is just a stones throw away, and while my wife and I decided to take the bus (a very easy commute with no transfers, to York Place), you can easily drive there in about 10 minutes... parking is plentiful. My wife actually walked there on one morning while I was in Skye... it's about 3 miles to city center.

Needless to say, I will not be staying anywhere else on my travels to Edinburgh. Sometimes you are just lucky enough to find the perfect place. At Straven, we have found it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminH531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

It will be quite difficult to write a review of Straven Guest House without sounding too gushing.... so here it is - straight! A delightful house in a quiet street, a stone's throw from the shore, yet only a short bus ride to the heart of Scotland's Capital. What a perfect location! We stayed for five nights in a large, beautifully furnished room. Everything you could possibly need and the en-suite facilities were excellent with a roomy quadrant shower. The breakfast choices were amazing - our five nights insufficient to try everything available but what we had was beautifully cooked by Marian and served with a generous helping of Mac's humour and invaluable knowledge. Everything Straven Guest House offered was of the highest quality and it is hard to imagine more friendlier hosts. There is plenty of free street parking, which can be a problem in some parts of Edinburgh and a frequent bus service at the end of the road. The view from our window encompassed the sandy beach, the twinkling lights of shipping and possibly the Bass Rock light - I should have asked Mac! But at the end of a busy day, what more could you ask than the gentle lapping of the waves to lull you off to sleep in your comfy bed with the anticipation of one of Marian's breakfasts the next morning? Until next time.......thank you both for a memorable stay.

Green Features: This is obviously a priority for Mac and Marian and we were pleased to help by re-using towels and cutting back on waste.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We landed in Edinburgh (tired) and found our way to this guest house. We were greeted by a fantastic host whose sense of humor, attention to detail, and knowledge of the area made this our favorite bed and breakfast. This is a beautiful Victorian home, decorated with care and attention to details. Our room was huge and spotless. We loved the large lounge, the library, and the luxury of a wonderful restful night. Breakfast was a feast. This home is on the firth, and the walks at the beach are paved with no car traffic. There are many restaurants in the area, and the bus stop to the town center was a half block away, making it easy to avoid the terror of driving into the center of town. Thanks, Mac and Marion, for making our trip memorable.

Green Features: Great attention was paid to environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryfort c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip to Edinburgh and it won't be the last! Mac and Marion were the most friendliest and welcoming hosts that I've ever encountered whilst staying in B&B's.
The location was perfect near the seafront and only a short bus ride to Edinburgh city centre.
We stayed in Room 1, which is at the front of the house. It was spacious, clean and had a good size en suite shower/ toilet area.

I had indicated that we were both vegetarian and this was accommodated. The food was delicious.

I would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzyT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Wow, what a great place. We had booked another B&B in the area, but could never get in contact with the innkeepers. The first call to Mac settled everything, his personality, hospitality and accommodations settled that Straven Guest House was where we would stay. Everything was first class and Mac and Marian's advice on getting around Edinburgh were greatly appreciated. Mac had actually arranged for a private car hire to pick us up at the airport, which worked like clockwork. It was so nice after traveling and walking about Edinburgh, to simply stroll to town or the seaside promenade for a bit to eat and drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I've stayed at Straven Guest House on a number occasions, on my own, with my wife and with friends each time to hospitality has been second to none. Mac and Marian are two of the kindest, friendliest people you'll ever meet.

I have ran the Edinburgh marathon several times and find the location great to get back to from the finish. My wife and I stayed here during the Edinburgh Festival the bus route in is quick (about 10 mins) and regular, there is also a bus stop just at the end of the road. Did i mention they are on the seafront? Not many people outside of Edinburgh will be too familiar with the beach but on a warm day, early morning or evening a walk along the beach is a perfect way to start or end your day. I love the contrast of being able to dip into the wonderful City and back out to peaceful surroundings.

The breakfast is fantastic and if you fancy you can have a starter followed by full Scottish breakfast. Endless refills of coffee and enough toast to keep you going whilst exploring everything Edinburgh has to offer.

I have recommended Straven Guest House to everyone.

Great service. Great people. Great place. 10 out of 10!!!!

Mark

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARKBUTTRESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#38 of 392 in Edinburgh
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockville Hotel
Rockville Hotel
#39 of 204 in Edinburgh
124 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#105 of 392 in Edinburgh
129 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#23 of 392 in Edinburgh
353 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straven Guest House

Property: Straven Guest House
Address: 3 Brunstane Road North | Joppa Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Straven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For accommodation in Edinburgh more personal than any hotel try bed and breakfast in our comfortable, traditional Victorian house in a peaceful residential area of Edinburgh in a lovely leafy street leading to sandy Portobello beach/promenade. So peaceful it is difficult to believe you are only a fifteen minute busride from the centre. Explore the rich heritage of Edinburgh by day - relax in the evening with a quiet stroll along the beachfront promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Straven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straven Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing