We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personable, clean, great location and accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straven Guest House
Ranked #23 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Can't say enough about the rooms, the quality breakfast, and the hospitality of Mac & Marian. Visiting Scotland for the first time, my friend and I looked for a comfortable accommodation that would add to the experience. After reading all of the positive Trip Advisor reviews on Straven Guest House, we were ecstatic to find that they had last minute vacancy for us.

We enjoyed our stay to the fullest and appreciated Mac's personalized tips on where to go and what to do (because let's face it, not matter how many Lonely Planet books you read, you're still looking for the best hidden spots that require a locals knowledge).

**One bit of information that was out of the hands of Mac and Marion.. If paying by Credit Card - and foreign transaction fees apply - check the daily exchange rate prior to paying. The credit terminal company they use determines the conversion rate and was surprisingly high. No matter where I checked the internet for previously listed conversions, I could not find the high rate at which they charged my card resulting in my total for the stay to be about 18 Euro more than expected. Not a LOT but good to know.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 488 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Mac & Marian were the perfect hosts. Breakfast was presented well, prepared perfectly, and they had a wide selection of fruits, cereals, juices, etc., apart from the cooked menu items. Our cooked selections were prepared exactly as requested, which we greatly appreciated.

The home is beautiful. Very clean, nicely arranged and fully equipped. Our hosts were very friendly, helpful, patient, well-informed regarding local facilities, bus routes, etc.

We were made to feel that we were really welcomed, more than just as paying guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clyde G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

From the first email contact we were looking forward to our stay, and were certainly not disappointed. On arrival we were very warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. Room was great, I cannot believe how quiet at night it was and the breakfast is awesome. Mac and Marian are wonderful hosts. Great location for the beach and bus, only one complaint, we were not able to stay longer, hopefully next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed there during the time of Edinburgh International Festival and it was absolutely the right choice! The owner, Mac, is really friendly and kind, and warmly welcomed me like a family. The lodge is located near the very quiet beach, and I loved strolled around and popping in a cafe. Very peaceful place to revitalize yourself - definitely would love to come visit again!!! Really miss the delicious Scottish breakfast :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yumi_Isozaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have spent nine days at Straven Guest House and it was the right choice. The B&B is located directly at the seaside, only three steps from your room. The different local busses stop just aground the corner. So it is easy to get to the city center every few minutes. The accommodation was nice and clean. The bathroom seems to be new and the landlords are very nice and friendly and always have lots of tips to spend your day. The delicious breakfast was prepared individually. You have to order the main course of that the day before, so there is no wish left. For me it was a perfect stay. Thanks to Straven Guest House!!!

Room Tip: I had a double room for single use with a double bedrock was cosy and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights a week ago, lovely house, stayed in Room 2 which was good size, excellent size bathroom with a big shower, good supply of tea, coffee etc. There is a lounge for guests with a bigger tv and lots of books if you want to relax after a day out walking for miles. Mac was a very good host, friendly and informative but not intrusive. Fantastic breakfast, great selection of cold and hot, the cooked breakfast was delicious, lovely dining room. Had a great nights sleep, it was cosy with a good sized radiator as it was cold when we visited. Liked that it was by the sea for a nice stroll but also short bus ride to Edinburgh. Lots of street parking, we left the car outside the day we arrived and only got back in the day we left. Very relaxing getting the bus rather than driving in Edinburgh, we bought £3.50 all day ticket each and were able to travel miles to different attractions and get on and off. Mac and Marian give you a card with their address, a small local map and the bus numbers so you can't go wrong. Would definitely return and have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Straven Guest house for Hogmanay - we had such a lovely time. Not only were the rooms of the highest standard, the hosts (Mac&Marian) were so welcoming, helpful and made our stay extremely pleasant. One of the highlights for us was the breakfast, there is a wide variety of options, however, we had a fully cooked breakfast most mornings which was delicious (a special added touch was that it was served until 11am on New Years Day!). Straven is a short bus ride to the City Centre, it is also so close to the beach which is a bonus. We could not recommend this guest house enough - we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauralouise4234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
781 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
The Bridge Inn
#19 of 394 in Edinburgh
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ard-na-said
#14 of 394 in Edinburgh
382 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#11 of 394 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#20 of 394 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straven Guest House

Address: 3 Brunstane Road North | Joppa Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Straven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For accommodation in Edinburgh more personal than any hotel try bed and breakfast in our comfortable, traditional Victorian house in a peaceful residential area of Edinburgh in a lovely leafy street leading to sandy Portobello beach/promenade. So peaceful it is difficult to believe you are only a fifteen minute busride from the centre. Explore the rich heritage of Edinburgh by day - relax in the evening with a quiet stroll along the beachfront promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Straven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straven Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing