We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of Arden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arden Guest House
Ranked #182 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights last December and enjoyed it completely. Great connectivity to the centre of the city with a bus stop close by. The room I stayed in was rather small, but comfortable and well stocked. The hosts were very warm, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast provided was sumptuous and very well prepared. They have a beautiful dining room overlooking the garden. Specially loved their potato scones! I only wish we could stay there longer. Would love to go back again. Left in a hurry, with a train to catch..... so here is wishing the family that runs the place a very Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pragnya_Prasanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    45
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
46
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here with family and my parents on a weekend to Edinburgh to see one of my daughters. The owner was very attentive and extremely pleasant. We had the family room, which had two singles and a double bed. The room was a great size and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was superb and cooked as ordered. No complaints here, had a wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone. It's also convenient for grabbing a bus into Edinburgh city too as it's right on the main bus route - no need to battle for parking with your car!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My friend and I shared a twin room at The Arden Guest House and were very pleased with our booking. The Guest house is on the main road with the bus stop for Edinburgh town centre was about 20 yards away; the frequent bus service was brilliant.
Proprietors and staff were really friendly, and as mentioned in the title, the breakfast was very substantial.
I would definitely recommend this guest house, and say it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: noise from main road might be a problem during summer if windows had to be left open for fresh air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for just the one night. Room was lovely and clean. They were very accommodating with our baby and setup a cot for us at no extra charge. Good breakfast, owner was pleasant. Quiet location but close to the main links. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

stayed at the arden for one night, very clean, comfortable room, good breakfast, owner was pleasant,we arrived early but was accommodated without a problem. the guest house is near enough to Edinburgh with out the hustle and bustle of the city centre. if I go to Edinburgh again this would be my first port of call.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulldogbt1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is excellent value for money. We stayed here for two days in September and found the staff to be friendly and engaging, the rooms with facilities akin to much more expensive hotels and the location to be more than adequate not too far from the middle of town. I will almost certainly be back next time I go to Edinburgh

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboTheBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in a room at the front of the second cottage (was made up of two cottages with a wall knocked out in the middle). Was a little noisy, so the window had to be kept shut. Room was the smallest we've stayed in so far in our journeys around the UK. Friendly staff and very generous breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonbel036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Emerald Guest House
#175 of 393 in Edinburgh
48 reviews
Allison House Hotel
#108 of 393 in Edinburgh
184 reviews
Ravenous Beastie
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 393 in Edinburgh
284 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 393 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
Aaron Lodge
#28 of 393 in Edinburgh
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Guest House

Property: Arden Guest House
Address: 126 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing