We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was very welll cared for as a woman tarvelling alone”
Review of Arden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arden Guest House
Ranked #190 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2008

During my 4 night stay at the Arden hotel I felt very well cared for by Janet and her team. The levels of customer service for a small b&b are exceptional, with fresh fruit and biscuits every day, and a lovely breakfast. As a woman travelling alone it is often daunting to stay in new places, but I was made to feel so welcome it was like being at home. The rooms are modern and bright (I think some new photos are on their way) and very well maintained with high standards of cleanliness. It is easy to find on the main road and the bus stop is outside. I loved it and will be using it again for my staff and my family to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fizzpotzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Arden Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2008

Everything as in the other reviews is true .This place is a gem and Sophie the dog is great.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vermaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Having been regular visitors for over 20 years to the Kirklands Guest House next door, we rang and were lied to by the owner of the Arden who had taken over both.

We booked in and found that every thing had changed including breakfast times, staff, cleanliness and most of all friendliness.

We missed breakfast and were basically told "tough - I'll do you an egg" (my son has an egg allergy) - " oh well there's nothing else"

The room had holely, dirty sheets and was not upto the previous high standard.

When we complained , the owner didn't care and just wanted his money.

Bargepoles come to mind. There are far better B+B's around.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maverick69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardenedinburgh, Head manager at Arden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2008

Dear reviewer,

I am sorry to hear of your awful experience while you were travelling in Edinburgh. Unfortunately, I am unable to locate your details in the month of November 2007 and the fact that you have encountered a male staff made me think you are perhaps talking about another place. We run a full female team from owner to resident to housekeepers. The person who used to own both the Arden Guest House and Kirkland Guest House has left since October 2005. He is in fact running the Aaron Lodge now.

Should you be thinking of coming to Edinburgh again, please pay us a visit and I am sure you will enjoy your stay with us. Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Janet

Head Manager

Arden Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed at the Arden Guest House while in Edinburgh for a concert, Its about 15 mins from the city centre on a number 33 bus (£1) which stops almost right outside the House, or about £7-£10 in a taxi depending on traffic .
The staff are Great, Friendly and very Helpful phoning taxis, etc for us and giving details of buses to use. Even phoning to ensure we knew where we were going on our way there.
Rooms are clean, airy and well decorated, with a selection of teas, coffees, hot choc and biscuits,
The breakfast was fab, catering to all individual needs and very tasty. Fresh warm croissants are offered and very delicious.
To sum up I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend the guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

Arden Guest House - what a lovely B&B. The staff are extremely helpful and accomodating. I stayed with 12 of my friends & they catered to our every need. Always ringing taxis whenever we needed them. Turned up the heating when we were cold. Had a great choice of breakfast (full English or Continental). The only bad thing was that it advertised that the journey time into Edinburgh city centre is only 10 minutes away - more like 20-30 mins depending on traffic. In a taxi it will cost up to £10 to get there so after a few journeys the majority of your spending money is spent on taxi fares!! Overall though the bed & breakfast was lovely & clean. The staff are very pleasant & helpful!! The scenery speaks for itself!! Edinburgh we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelstarLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

Arrived late and hassled having had to walk out of the hotel we booked, which was terrible. Arden House is a 3 star rated guest house. They had vacancies and showed me 3 rooms, 2 twins and a double which were all lovely. Big bright rooms with super views, very smartly turned out with really nice touches - some chocolates and biscuits for tea and imperial leather in the bathrooms. Everything was spotlessly clean and there was plenty of room. We had a large spacious bathroom with enormous bath and free standing shower. The rooms are being updated currently, ours apparently was next on the list, however while this will be a good investment, we were very happy with our room. Breakfast was nicely done, very friendly and pleasant service. Basic continental - fruit segments and cerials with juice and tea and toast. Choice of cooked - we had full scottish which was nicely done. If you are going to the races this would be a lovely convenient place to stay. In addition they do golf packages and have access to a 7 seater for journeys in and out of Edinburgh. We had a car which makes things very easy, train takes just 5 mins from Edinburgh Waverley - best to park the car at the station. Was delighted with this place and would go back. Great base for exploring East Lothian.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdinburghAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Violaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#193 of 393 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Appin House
Appin House
#89 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#120 of 393 in Edinburgh
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Emerald Guest House
Emerald Guest House
#138 of 393 in Edinburgh
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airdenair Guest House
Airdenair Guest House
#179 of 393 in Edinburgh
63 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 393 in Edinburgh
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Guest House

Address: 126 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $91 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Arden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing