We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of City Apartment

Stunning 2 bedroom apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning 2 bedroom apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Stunning 2 bedroom apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Alan B
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Enjoyed a great weekend stay. The 4 of us sharing had plenty of space. Great location and owners were very flexible and accommodating with check in and out times

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mongoose5...
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, pleasant walk in.”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We found the apartment very comfortable and the owner was very helpful. We were two couples who enjoyed the walk into the city, taking 15-20 minutes, and the walk to the top of Arthur's Seat, taking 30 minutes. The supermarket was 5 minutes walk away. We saw plenty of buses which we could have taken into the city. Late at night we either walked back to the apartment or took a £7 taxi ride. The open parkland within 5 minutes walk was a bonus and we were on the right side of the city to take part in the Saturday morning park run 1.5 miles away. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathrooms were modern and well appointed. Being opposite the sports stadium, the apartment was not overlooked, although we could imagine a pole vaulter with binoculars just being able to get a glimpse into the apartment at the peak of his vault.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking everywhere. We had very good weather.
Liked least: There was a little noise from the street and a neighbouring apartment, but it was minimal.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was a pleasure to host you. Would love the opportunity to welcome you again to Edinburgh. Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcuthill1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This flat is very comfortable and pretty”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My sister and I love this flat. We have all we need here and feel very much at home. We like having a parking garage and having an elevator. The kitchen is adequately equipped with plenty of glasses silverware and dishes. It is also attractive. There are 2 televisions and also 2 bathrooms which is unusual in Edinburgh. It is quiet with a pleasant view of the meadowbank sports center.
There are also plenty of buses into the center of Edinburgh as well as down to the ocean terminal.
There is a washer and dryer and a large fridge , microwave cooker. It is all wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It is tastefully decorated and very clean
Liked least: Probably the location but it is really not bad
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind review. We try and make the apartment as homely as possible and it's a great bonus knowing guests appreciate this. Would love the opportunity to welcome you again to Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zooropia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very welcome and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very comfortable and Nice homely apartment. Didn't want for anything. Nicely decorated and very comfortable beds

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Thank you so much for taken the time to write this review, it is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to welcome you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annielf
Argyll, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, great location”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I give this a 4.5 only because we had to go out and buy more toilet paper and hand soap and the wifi often went out. Otherwise, it was very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable, excellent location with several buses we could easily take down the main road to the city centre. Sainsbury was a short walk away.

We enjoyed a meal at the owner's Italian restaurant which we really enjoyed. Also walked just around the corner to a great Chinese restaurant - Xanadu.

If we do another one week trip to Edinburgh we will choose this flat!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Hi Annie, Thank you for this review. Please accept my apologies for the oversight re the toilet paper and soap, hope this was not too much of an inconvenience. I hope to be able to welcome you again to Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco L
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The landlord made the difference in our trip”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our weekend has changed dramatically since we met the landlord: he is such a nice and funny guy, and we had dinner at his restaurant two times out of the two days we spent in Edinburgh.
With regard to the house it was clean, perfectly fit for our needs (number of beds, spaces, etc.), easy to reach and well served (stores, public transport).
I have personally had troubles with the wifi, but I realized it is something that happens all over the town: the connection is not strong enough and it keeps falling.
We did not appreciate that the landlady came one hour before the official check-out time to clean the apartment as she had someone else coming later, though that can be part of the game.
Last but not least, we enjoyed our stay and we would go back to that apartment if we ever return to Edinburgh.
Last but not least,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The landlord
Liked least: The wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Marco, thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your weekend. I am sorry about the intrusion on your morning od departure, my understanding was you had been informed that you needed to vacate the property at 11.00am. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonworshi...
Niceville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Spacious & comfortable with excellent location & amenities!”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were VERY pleased with this choice of apartment for our 2 night Edinburgh stay! Guliano and Heather were very accommodating and gracious hosts. Upon arrival we were met at the door with keys, shown around the apartment and given information about the city, buses, parking, etc. A garage was available with this rental but the free parking on the street outside was always available so we never had need of it. Nice to know it was there if needed & would probably be a very welcome perk if the nearby sports stadium is in use. A lift opens to the second floor door of the apartment so getting luggage in and our was a breeze. The apt. was very clean, well furnished and comfortable containing everything we needed. We never felt cramped and could have easily had 6 people instead of our 4 and would have been just fine (as long as 2 people didn't mind sleeping on the couches). Beds were comfortable, washer/dryer combo was small and confusing to operate but nice to have for our mid-trip stop (even a drying rack was provided). Heather even provided coffee, tea, sugar, salt/pepper and a small container of milk along with some opened containers of juice, marmalade, condiments, etc. in the refrigerator that were probably left behind by the previous tenants but we did not choose to use. The kitchen was well stocked with anything needed, including an espresso machine! 2 full bathrooms was also a wonderful perk that was not common to most apartments we considered. Also, free wi-fi with an excellent signal strength. Location was perfect! Just enough out of the city center to be very quiet and make the price affordable while avoiding parking issues. An easy walk from the top of the street to a large grocery store and only half a block down the street to the nearest bus stop and an approx. 10 min. ride into the city center. We almost could not have picked a better place for our needs and budget! Gulliano even owns 2 restaurants in town. We had dinner our first night at one, had a wonderful Italian meal and even received a nice discount on our bill...an unexpected blessing. The food was great, place was packed and a bit noisy at first but a very pleasant experience once the crowd thinned out a bit. Absolutely the best tiramisu we've ever had! As for the apartment, the only suggestion for improvement (and this is not at all a complaint) would be to add some towel bars and/or hooks to the bathrooms and leave more explicit instructions for operating the washer/dryer. Checking out at the end of our stay was as simple as locking the door and dropping the keys through the slot in the door as we left. All in all, this is a great place and we almost could not have been happier with the choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and price!
Liked least: No towel bars for hanging wet towels in the bathrooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I appreciate your comments re washing machine instructions along with towel hooks. This I shall take on board and address. Glad you enjoyed your meal especially the Tiramisu which I must say is one of my least favourite deserts, I shall pass your comments onto Giuliano.

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing