We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The first place I check when I need to stay in Edinburgh.”
Review of Calton Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calton Apartments
Ranked #72 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
leeds england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The first place I check when I need to stay in Edinburgh.”
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I use these apartments several times per year when I have to stay in Edinburgh for work, and I am there again in a few weeks. But I have also used them to enjoy a family break in the past.
Great location on the edge of the city centre, and the walk to princess street IS 10 minutes if you know where you are going, despite comments in another review.
They are spacious, and clean, and allow the flexibilty of self catering if you prefer it. There is now a tesco express a few minutes away that makes it even more convenient.

I have not had chance to use the Wifi, so cannot comment on that.
I always have my car, so the distance between apartment and hotel to collect the keys is not an issue at all - just a few minutes drive, but easily walkable if necessary.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We had a very bad experience with this property. When we arrive on saturday afternoon we went to collect the keys for the apartment in a hotel,there we meet a very rude man in the reception desk that suggest once the apartment wasnt ready for us to goback to the station in order to have a safe place for our bags there. That is not all, there beds was full of house mates, we had to spray a product in our bed in order to get some sleep.The internet is most of timess unavailable. A day before last, while my wife was getting change a man out of the blue apears on the window and start to do a painting work!!!
When i call the manager she told me that she was away and the job was booked to be done a month ago, that shouldnt be a problem as we should leave the property to go touring!!! The location is ok not perfect, isnt in a attractive part of town.
Overall the city was great but the apartment a nightmare, i will never go back and i dont recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laluna40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Got good deal from Laterooms-£90 which in Edinburgh you wouldn't get a hotel room for ,let alone an apartment.
Had to collect keys from hotel up the road which is pointed out at time of booking,easily found and a short walk from far end of Waverley Station. We were too early for check in ,but the receptionist let us leave our case and phoned us as soon as apartment was available.
Apartments were also easily located and in what we found to be a quiet area.
Rooms were all clean & had everything needed,would say perhaps a wee retouch of decor needed in places but nothing major.
Bed was comfy and we had a good sleep,bedroom was at back and there was no noise at all either from outside or other apartments.
On leaving we just had to put keys through letterbox rather than return them to hotel.
We appreciated the freedom of having space rather than a hotel room and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squidgitmidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calton_Apartments, Manager at Calton Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Calton Apartments. We endeavour to ensure the comfort of our guests, and are more than happy to assist in any way we can.
Regarding the decor, this will be addressed in the quieter times.. not possible during our busy months. There are plans to revamp the kitchens, soft furnishings and also new furniture. Already this year, 2010, we have replaced the previous sofas and chairs with quality hand-made ones (sofas are twin action sofa-beds, each side pulls out separately, with orthopedic mattresses) - our regular guests are delighted with this change, especially as the chair is now a proper armchair. We have also ensured that all of our 8 apartments have new Freeview digital colour TV's.
I do we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay at the apartments, and again, thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We really enjoyed renting these apartments instead of staying in a hotel. It is an excellent way to save a bit of money. There is a small kitchen to make your own meals and a washer and dryer combo. They are close to the bus and train stations which made it easy to visit the surrounding areas. If you want to go this route Calton Apartments is a great way to go.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creativeoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bewitching87
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

travelled with 5 friends for a night out on the town. Was very reasoanble and the appartment was clean. Was also central so we were in walking distance of the bars and clubs and the other main attractions.

Downside- severe lack of hot water and the appartment is a fair treck away from the hotel where we had to collect the keys which is not fun if you wear high heels!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bewitching87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

You have to collect the keys for this apartment at the Abbey Hotel in Royal Tce., which is a good distance away from these apartments. There is no reception at the apartments and if you have any problems you have to contact the Abbey Hotel immediately you arrive. Even though there are five floors here, there are no lifts, only stairs....so be warned. There is a bus depot across the road so there is constant noise throughout the night. Our main concern was fire safety. We were on the top floor and the stairs was the only way to exit the building. The apartment is very small especially for six. You cant walk past the beds in the twin room unless you flatten yourself against the wall and do the side step! The covers in the sitting room were stained and dirty. The table was far too small for eating at. The duvet covers for the pull out beds were not clean. We were short of pillows. There were several light bulbs not working. The handle of the bathroom window came off in my hand! There was a peculiar smell when we opened the apartment but this went whenever we opened the windows. Management were condescending when we conveyed our concerns at the end of our stay.It is only of 2* quality

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tucky45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calton_Apartments, General Manager at Calton Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
I had already received an email from the guest concerned, who booked via Laterooms - who received a reduced rate prior to arrival. No mention was made that stairs were an issue - we own 8 apartments in 1 building, and could have arranged a lower floor, if requested, no request was made. Information on Laterooms clearly shows both map, checking in point, apart from our own detailed confirmation of reservation. The Abbey Hotel is only 10 minutes walk to the apartments. I park my car there and walk to and from work at my office within the Hotel. I had already addressed the various issues with the guest by email, including housekeeping, and was disappointed that our normal high standards had not been adhered to. There is a full information manual in each apartment, and we will rectify the situation. But no request was made, we were only made aware when gues, which, apart from providing emergency service numbers etc., also requests if any maintenance issues, or anything we can help with, to contact us immediately checked out. Unfortunately, no contact was made to ourselves, and we were unaware of the various issues until the point of checkout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We got the appartment off Laterooms.com at a big discount. It was good value (£85 pn for two bedrooms) but would not have wanted to pay full price of £250 pn. The beds were hard, and the lounge furniture was an uncomfortable sofa bed, a chair and 4 dining chairs - not adequate if there was full occupancy. Parking on site is very useful. The area was reasonably quiet and we were not bothered by the bus depot further down the road. The appartment is a 15 minute walk to Princess St or Holyrood Palace. There is a good choice of eating places within a few minute's walk. Free WiFi was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#131 of 149 in Edinburgh
523 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
#67 of 212 in Edinburgh
72 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#4 of 212 in Edinburgh
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canon Court Apartments
#38 of 212 in Edinburgh
378 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments - Braid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calton Apartments

Property: Calton Apartments
Address: 44 Annandale Street, Edinburgh EH7 4AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calton Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star self-catering apartments, family friendly. Single business travellers and small groups welcome. City centre. Free private parking. Free Wi-Fi internet. There are 8 apartments in same private building which each have: * 1 double bedroom (1 double bed) * 1 twin bedroom (2 single beds). * 2 Extra single beds = large sofa bed in lounge converts into 2 individual single beds (fully sprung mattresses) * Bathroom with Aqualisa power shower & bath. * Kitchen: Fully fitted equipped (including washer drier, fridge/freezer, full cooking facilities, stove, hob, grill, plus microwave and toaster). * Lounge with dining area (dining table & chairs), sofa, armchair. Freeview digital TV. * All linen and towels included. Iron, ironing board, hairdryer. * Welcome Pack (tea, coffee, milk, sugar sachets). Toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Calton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calton Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Calton Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing