We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brill stay”
Review of Calton Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calton Apartments
Ranked #69 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
fife
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“brill stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

had a great time at the calton aptartments,we went on a girls night out so this was exellent for us.
the custumer service was top class got all the info we needed via phones and email.very helpfull
they where clean and had everything we needed.. thanks will be back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The apartment has everything you need and parking was really easy at the back of the terrace. The apartment smelled like a curry house :s when we first went in but nothing a spray of impulse could'nt sort out. Bedroom was great, kitchen modern, bathroom and living room great too.
The only bad thing was the drunk beardy guy with a stick skulking around the place who buzzed saying 'I forgot my key let me in'' haha no chance mate. In head of this the main door into the apartment block could be more secure. Also banging of doors and cupboards kept me awake the early hours of Sun morning. I would reccomend this apartment though as for the price and its destination it was fine but it wsn't a 4* so don't expect too much.

Room Tip: There's no lift but not too many stairs second floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moongem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Good location situated very close to the Playhouse where my partner and I were going to see a show. I will give you that the apartment was not the cleanest however for the cash paid for the nights stay - was fine. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milleroz146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed as a group of 8 in August over the beginning of the fringe. We had two apartments on the top floor, there is no lift.

On the plus side a good location and the apartment was clean and a few sachets of coffee and little milk pots had been left for immediate use. Not as generous as other places I've stayed which had left a bottle of milk and a loaf of bread and butter.

The twin bedroom was small with no room to walk around the bottom of the bed.

1 of our showers didn't work.

The cost for 2 nights was £450 per apartment, and on the final morning we were being continuously reminded of the check out time.

On the plus side, the hotel allowed us to leave our luggage with them.

The decor was a bit kitcsh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calton_Apartments, General Manager at Calton Apartments, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
The reservation was made via Laterooms, with a detailed description of the apartments, including location, accurate photos including a floorplan of each apartment. As there is no lift, this is not advertised. However, if there had been a specific request at time of booking regarding stairs, this would certainly have been considered, but upon going through the reservations, I can see there was no request.

We do our utmost to ensure guest comfort, and thank you for your kind comments on the cleanliness of the apartments. With regard to complimentary tea, coffee, milk and sugar satchets, these again are detailed in agent sites, as well as our own website.

As mentioned, you were part of a group, and as such, we endeavour to keeps groups and families on the same floor if at all possible, and as mentioned, you were able to use the facility of the shower in Apt 7. All apartments have both baths and showers, therefore, full bathing facilities were available. However, we can only apologise for the unfortunate circumstance of the shower failing during your weekend stay.

With regard to the shower, if this had been reported immediately (as requested both at check-in and in the comprehensive information manual we supply for each apartment), it would have been dealt with promptly, in order that no one was inconvenienced. Upon checking the shower in Apt 8, whatever the problem had been, did not present itself, as it appeared in good working order – it is possible there could have been an intermittent problem, but nothing had been reported by previous guests, however, to avoid any potential future problems a new pump has been fitted.

Checkout time is clearly stated in all correspondence, including signed Terms & Conditions of Let, of which guests have their own copy and also at check-in. Each apartment takes around 2 hours to service, and must be checked prior to new arrivals checking in. In August we have full occupancy in all of our 8 apartments, and must work efficiently and quickly to ensure new guests are able to check in on time, therefore, in busy times, it is much appreciated when departing guests leave on the specified time – much as we would love to give more time, it is not always possible. In quieter times, we can come and go a little more.

The décor issue will be addressed in quieter times, with plans for staged refurbishment.

We do hope that if you wish to stay in Edinburgh in the future, that we can be of assistance.

Yours sincerely
General Manager: Calton Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed here in September & found it great, yes there was some noise from the bus depot across the road, but I didn't find it overly bad. The twin bedroom was small, but it's a bedroom, we were there to sleep. Had great nights sleep. Everything was clean, shower was good. Was super good being a short walk from Princes St. Will be booking here again for sure. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

As a group of 12, we rented 3 apartments over a long weekend. The booking process was efficient and the staff were very responsive to our pre-trip questions. Once we arrived, we checked in at a hotel about 10 minutes walk from the apartments and found the hotel staff helpful and friendly.

The location of the apartments is perfect. We walked into the city both evenings which took a very short time. There's a youth hostel about a block away that has public internet access and printing (which we used for boarding passes etc), and there are plenty local buses passing up and down the closest main road. There were shops close by so we could stock up on supplies (the supplies promised by the business were in place in all apartments when we arrived).

As far as I know, the apartments don't have a lift so we had to climb a couple of flights of stairs with our bags. It wasn't a problem for us, but other travellers should be aware.

I'd recommend these apartments to other travellers because of price, location, and service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveller004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We stayed there in October and were very happy. The appartment was very clean and tidy,had plenty of room and was very well appointed. It was only a short walk into town or there was a local bus nearby. Even though there was a bus depot across the road we never heard the buses during the night. We had to collect the key from a nearby adress, but this was no big deal. We would stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveShaunaZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 149 in Edinburgh
514 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
#70 of 204 in Edinburgh
70 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#4 of 204 in Edinburgh
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Apartments
#29 of 204 in Edinburgh
389 reviews
Canon Court Apartments
#36 of 204 in Edinburgh
374 reviews
West End
My-Canning Street Apartments
My-Canning Street Apartments
#78 of 204 in Edinburgh
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calton Apartments

Property: Calton Apartments
Address: 44 Annandale Street, Edinburgh EH7 4AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calton Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 2 bedrooms + additional beds, 3 Star. Family friendly. Single business travellers and groups welcome. City centre. Free onsite private parking. Free Wi-Fi internet access. Each of our 8 apartments have: * 1 double bedroom (1 double bed) * 1 twin bedroom (2 single beds). * 2 Extra single beds = large sofa bed in lounge converts into 2 individual single beds (fully sprung mattresses) * Bathroom with Aqualisa power shower & bath. * Kitchen: Fully fitted equipped (including washer drier, fridge/freezer, full cooking facilities, stove, hob, grill, plus microwave and toaster). * Lounge with dining area (dining table & chairs), sofa, armchair. * All linen and towels included. Iron, ironing board, hairdryer. * Welcome Pack (tea, coffee, milk, sugar sachets). Toiletries. * Free WI-FI. Freeview digital TV. DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Calton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calton Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Calton Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing