We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minto Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minto Guest House
Ranked #167 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

We orginally chose this guest house as we were on a small budget for accomodation and Minto House seemed good value for money, especially for Edinburgh and July. I was a bit apprehensive as the reviews were mixed.. and I was right to be.
On a positve note the guest house is very clean, although the garden is a bit messy with toys lying about. Overall it seems a bit dated and could do with a spruce up though. The loacation is quite good, not really really near the town centre but it doesn't matter as there is a bus stop almost right outside it - the bus service is so good in Edinburgh anyway you need not worry and is cheap - £3 for an all day adult ticket you can use as much as you want. There is a Tesco Metro nearby and nice cafes within walking distance if you're hungry or need something else.
The room was clean although very small although the ensuite was good, it looked quite recently installed. It was just small things like the rusty toiletries holder and no desk in the room to do your hair at or anything that spoiled it a bit too.
Wasn't happy with the service provided. Only continental breakfast but that didn't matter, as we knew that when we booked. I suppose you get what you pay for and at the low price don't be expecting luxury - it's ok maybe for a night or two. After this experience I probably will spend a little more money on accomdation in future especially if there are more than a few negative reviews for somewhere, this was particularly disappointing for me as there is a lot of choice out there if you shop around for not that much more per night.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxMissAxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    27
    19
    14
See reviews for
35
47
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
telaviv
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

we paid considerably less at the minto than we had been quoted for other guesthouses. The breakfast was good and the hostess boiled us eggs even though they dont actually do cooked breakfast. I think the room was recently refurbished because it wash fresh and in good condition. it was comfy and i generally enjoyed my stay. i was 10 mins from the royal mile and princess st. iwould recommend any one to stay here. it was great value

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

I have never stayed at a worse B and B. It could be so nice if it was clean and cared for. Could only stay in room for 20 minutes. There were cushions on the window which were damp, mouldy and dirty. Damp walls, musty smell.. Broken lights hanging off the wall.. I can do basic hotels.. this was just scruffy and dirty... Allergy sufferers beware! Broken lampshade.. crumpled bedlinen.. bad smell.

Booked into the minto hotel ... 3 doors down.,. great.. clean, modern, room and cheaper!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle_R43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

Everything about Minto House, from the friendly smile of the owner to the ideal central location, contributed to making our stay in Edinburgh a delightful experience. The things we value most in accommodation are cleanliness, safety and a pleasant environment- minto house provided plenty of all three. The low prices make it ideal for a family on a budget.
First and foremost Minto House is a family home- we loved the personal touches such as the no vacancies sign drawn by the children and benefited from local knowledge from our hostess over breakfast. It was one of my most enjoyable experiences abroad, minto house provided all the comfort of being in one's own home whilst being able to explore an unfamiliar city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_thinkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

On arriving here, we should have realised that this was faulty towers, with the felt tip pen sign in childs handwriting saying "no vacancies".

The main hall and staircase is bare, with no shade even on the stair light and the stair railings on the first floor were shaky.

Hall bathroom, which had a sign saying it was for only guests in one particular room was recently done and quite nice, but ceiling had not been finished off and was basically a bit of mdf.

Bedroom was tidy, but a door frame was simply boarded up, the carpet was badly stained and the sash windows could not be opened without them falling back down. Tea making facilities were given but although a small jar of coffee was provided, the owner supplied only two teabags at any one time with minimum cartons of uht milk.

No soap at wash hand basin.

No lounge and there is no cooked breakfast, It is basically make your own toast and help youself to cereal. The owner sits in the dining room watching everyone at breakfast, very off puting.

Would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chakras69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

This retrospective review is of a stay of last summer, not this summer. Though I've stayed in this guest house at times before and nothing has changed and I doubt has changed this year.

This road is full of Guest Houses. It is a very good idea if you don't want to pay a quite large sum of money for your accommodation in Edinburgh to check out some of the guest houses on this road - Newington Road which becomes Minto Street (following on from South Clerk Street first, it's the same, one straight road from North Bridge, off Princes Street.) Search The Web for guest houses if you want to book a place.

I recommend The Minto Guest House, and for a good value, relaxing stay, it's a very good place to start seaching for availability. Reliable, pleasant, rewarding accommodation seldom comes cheaper in this country, let alone in notably expensive Edinburgh.

The Irish lady manager of The Minto Guest House was lovely and pleasant also, suggesting I catch a bus right outside the guest house to see the great little Rosslyn Chapel, which was famous anyway but moreso in recent years because of involvement in 'The Da Vinci Code'. And I did, and I also had a lovely walk from where the bus stops, 20 minutes on a straight road to tiny Roslyn and Rosslyn Chapel and the lovely meadows around it.

Buses from The Minto Guest House go to Princes street every 5 to 10 minutes or more regularly. Walking time is approx. 45 minutes to Princes Street, through interesting, cosmopolitan Newington, where you could end up spending much of your time as it is more interesting than the big chain stores such as M&S and Next on Princes Street. (See something in The Queen's Hall at least.) Though there is a lot more to central Edinburgh than Princes Street's big British chains, there is the great Jenners Dept. Store for a start, and better places around Princes Street, not that bid chain stores aren't great at times. See Queen St. and George St. See The Botanic Gardens and Stockbridge if you get a chance. Sit on top of Calton Hill and also Salisbury Crags for rewarding views.

This guest house was really cheap and fine. I was asked for 25 pounds for an ensuite single room per night. I was told I would have to move during my stay which was fine, as I was checking guest houses on the day of the stay, without having booked.

I got a lovely twin room for 25 pounds the first night, with a good sized ensuite shower room with toiletries. And a nice window looking onto a quiet lane at the back with lovely old houses and a quiet, long garden to look at. This was very close to where I had lived for years when I had gone to study at "Edinburgh University".

The next room I was moved to was very big, single beds for three persons, and a larger ensuite, on the front road, but nice and quiet. Again very clean and pleasant.

Very good value for money. This is a nice, simple establishment. The rooms are not of "comfort" accommodation standard but were comfortable. I found it a really pleasant, simple, relaxing place. A world away from what travellers bother about or expect from accommodation which costs a lot of money, this was still lovely, simple, comfortable and very good value for an ensuite room for one in Expensive Edinburgh. It is near Newington which is an excellent area, quite near Arthur's Seat, Salisbury Crags and Holyrood Park for lovely views of these places and lovely views over the city from them, and very pleasant walks.

Not to be confused with the Minto Hotel a few villas away on the same side of the same road. I ate in the restaurant of The Minto Hotel, and each of the three courses were lovely as was the wine.

I enjoyed gorgeous snacks and wine and puddings in the Metropole cafe-bar very near also on each day of my visit.

  • Liked — Although I am saying I loved the great value, I separately liked the simple, comfortable accommodation also - it was not a case of a good price paid for only acceptable accommodation, I pleasantly enjoyed my stay in this simple establishment.
  • Disliked — No dislikes or problems at all.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank factual5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

clean accommodation, pleasant stay

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#131 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#164 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#14 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southside Guest House
Southside Guest House
#54 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Classic Guest House
Classic Guest House
#69 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minto Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Guest House

Property: Minto Guest House
Address: 23 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minto Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Minto Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minto Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing