We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freddie & Fiona -- great hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broughton Hotel
Ranked #18 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
615 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Freddie & Fiona -- great hosts!”
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The hosts, primarily, made my stay very enjoyable -- Freddie & Fiona -- I couldn't find the hotel on my first pass through the area, and Freddie saw that and whistled for me! Every day there were new shortbread cookies to go along with tea in the room, and on the last morning, when I had to leave before the appointed breakfast hour, I found a cold platter of breakfast food, which I did not expect. Very impressive -- I will certainly return.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DottoreGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    263
    35
    13
    4
See reviews for
164
387
37
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The proprieters of this Georgian gem, Freddie and Fiona, were gracious hosts, were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and provided well for our needs during our stay.
Our en suite room was very clean, quiet and located on the uppermost floor of the Broughton; it was compact but contained everything we required for a comfortable stay. Cleaning of the room etc and re-stocking of complimentary coffee, tea, shortbread and bottled water was done on a daily basis.
Generally our lasting impression of the Broughton was one of a quiet, well kept, very clean and airy B&B facility.
The central location of the Broughton within the City of Edinburgh was ideal for us and was within comfortable walking distance of the Waverly railway station and all the main attractions and places of interest which the city had to offer during the Festival, particularly the Castle which was the backdrop fpr the Royal Military Tattoo.
The variety and standard of food served at breakfast was excellent, well presented and cooked to perfection.
Everything about The Broughton proved very much to our liking; there is really nothing negative to say.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would re-book without hesitation should we return to Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Winnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights from 26 Aug to visit the Tattoo and the fringe.
like any hotel if I wanted to nit pick Im sure I could look for things to complain about. I thought this hotel was excellent value with the added bonus of free car parking (I could not find another central hotel offering this). Yes the room was small, spotlessly clean and with all the facilities we could want in a very quiet area of the city centre.
The hotel is within walking distance of most major attractions and is very close to the bus stops.
A couple of very minor faults in the room were quickly sorted when pointed out to Freddie.
When I next return to Edinburgh this will definately be my first choice when booking a hotel.
One final moan, I've put on weight after 3 of Freddies wonderful breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I'm slightly baffled by the number of positive reviews for this hotel. The location was excellent, and particularly great for festival visits, but our experience was really let down by small points - the toilet seat that wouldn't stay up, the lack of a soap holder in the shower, and above all the tiny, extremely hard bed. All this would be fine for a budget hotel but for £120 a night this is not a budget hotel (at least not during the Festival). The breakfast was good, but nothing that special and the impression was of somewhere just a little tired and worn out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJBUPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discofred57, Owner at The Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Hi: 1. Sorry your toilet seat would not stay up but if you had told me it could have been easly sorted. 2.The bed in that particular room is standard queen with memory mattress.
3.Our localy sourced breakfast menu (see hotel web site to view) has always been sufficent for the vast majority of guests.(Some guests Vagens/Glutton free may find a lack of choice)
4. £60 per person per night Bed & Breakfast with free private parking & Wi-Fi during the hight of Edinburgh Festival is very good value.( The average rate elsewere for the same *** star rating is £75p.p.p.n.b/b)

I do hope it did not spoil your visit to Edinburgh and wish to welcome you again Regards Freddie & Fiona X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Not only do I rate this B&B as AAA in it's accommodation, location was also AAA because it was so central yet in a lovely quiet and safe neighbourhood, food was traditional (which I was particularly looking for) and excellent, but the outstanding feature for me was the service and the warmth of Freddie & Fiona in truly making their guests feel welcome and "at home". Value for money, all those things considered, was AAA - excellent. I would definitely recommend them on all levels.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_chickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourock
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed at the Broughton on the 14th August. We were visiting the Festival/Fringe and the Tattoo. On arrival Freddie was on hand to provide information on directions to the various events in the City and to recommend somewhere to eat that evening. Room was small, but spotlessly clean with a modern en-suite. Bed was comfortable and the shortbread is a nice touch. The Hotel is in a quiet area but close to all the buzz of the city. Breakfast was hearty and well cooked and presented. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return to the Broughton on our next trip to Edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenGourock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamleby
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We did enjoy our stay at the Broughton Hotel. It's easily reached by foot from the Waverley train station. The room at Broughton was very comfortable and the surroundings were quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was also good and the staff was helpful and serviceminded. We can gladly recommend this small hotel to anyone going to Edinburgh. We also enjoyed hearing some of the story behind those wonderful drawings on the envelopes covering the walls of the breakfast room.

Åke & Berit Klasson
Sweden

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skottland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 149 in Edinburgh
986 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,811 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broughton Hotel

Property: The Broughton Hotel
Address: 37 Broughton Place, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broughton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet tranquil city centre Georgian townhouse hotel is set right in the heart of Scotland's capital. We provide hospitality in elegant and comfortable surroundings to guests visiting Edinburgh on business and to those wishing to enjoy a short sightseeing break. We are within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's world famous castle, palaces, gardens, museums, shopping centers, and our train & bus stations. There are many fine restaurants, bars & night clubs to suit all types. We are very close to these establishments, although not that close to cause disturbance. All rooms fully en-suite with FREE high speed wifi, FREE private parking and full Scottish breakfast included in price. Kind regards Freddie & Fiona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broughton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing