We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic relaxing hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Broughton Hotel
Ranked #17 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2009

This was our fourth visit to the Broughton Hotel and yet again we had a superbly relaxing time. The hotel has been redecorated and upgraded and the rooms are spotless.
The owners have created a very friendly atmosphere. Freddie cooks a breakfast to die for with the most perfect fried eggs we have seen. A good variety on the breakfast menu to suit all tastes. We hope to have many more visits in the future.
Definitely worth an inclusion in any future publications from Trip advisor.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekendmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for The Broughton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 750 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2009

The location is perfect, close to everything and on a nice old street with almost no traffic at all. The service is perfect, a warm welcome, a quick administrations procedur, showing the room and telling us about whats going on in Edinburgh.
The breakfast is realy Scottish, good, well done and served as you were a guest in the owners house.
The rooms are what we need, a comfortable bed, a bathroom with shower, a teapot and a window with a wiew.
We really love this place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bengansilvervik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

This hotel is located within a 5-10 minute walk from the main shopping and tourist areas of Edinburgh. It is in a quiet street so you can be assured of a peaceful night's sleep. Freddie and Fiona are very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very clean and comfortable. There is a good choice of breakfast which is well prepared.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaykay18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is a nice hotel ideally located for anyone wanting to be in the heart of Edinburgh or either business of pleasure. The owners meet you with a warm welcome and breakfast offered a good choice and was well prepared. Also offers free internet connection which was ideal for business working.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunsta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

the service was ideal, very very friendly and made to feel most welcome. the room and bathroom were absolutely spotless. the location was fabulous for the theatre, shops and sightseeing, could not really have been better. cannot really single out any one good thing because everything was first class. we definately recommend and will use the broughton again. a small hotel with a big welcoming stay. brill.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Our second time of staying with the very welcoming Freddie and Fiona. Room facilities excellent with televison, refreshment tray and well timed central heating (a bit chilly first thing on an October morning in Edinburgh). Excellent full scotish breakfast, although the black pudding may be a little too spicey for some! Good free parking right in the centre of Edinburgh just the place as a base for exploring the town and surrounding districts or shopping whether it be Princess Street or Ocean Terminal or even a production at the Playhouse just across the road. We'll definatley be using the Broughton again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotHolidayTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Excellent small family run Hotel., with off road parking. Excellent Breakfast, room clean, tidy with good facilities. Within easy walking distance of Edinburgh City. Highly Recommended and hope to return on a future visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
998 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broughton Hotel

Address: 37 Broughton Place, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $93 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broughton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet tranquil city centre Georgian townhouse hotel is set right in the heart of Scotland's capital. We provide hospitality in elegant and comfortable surroundings to guests visiting Edinburgh on business and to those wishing to enjoy a short sightseeing break. We are within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's world famous castle, palaces, gardens, museums, shopping centers, and our train & bus stations. There are many fine restaurants, bars & night clubs to suit all types. We are very close to these establishments, although not that close to cause disturbance. All rooms fully en-suite with FREE high speed wifi, FREE private parking and full Scottish breakfast included in price. Kind regards Freddie & Fiona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broughton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing