We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay: cosy, comfortable, well situated and most gentle and helpful hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broughton Hotel
Ranked #17 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The hotel is very well situated, at a walking distance from most interesting places. Quiet, clean and cosy, with a deliciously tempting breakfast. Hosts were most helpful in providing us with tips on nice places, like restaurants, and also in helping us out with situations in general. Nice and quiet neighborhood .Would certainly stay there once again when returning to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for The Broughton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 750 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2009

We have just returned from a hogmanay break in Edinburgh and chose the Broughton Hotel because of it's central location and free parking. What we did not expect was a very cramped attic room, but worst of all several flights of steep stairs. If you are young or perhaps a mountaineer this may not be a problem, but I am in my sixties and found them a real ordeal. I do think it should have been pointed out to us when we booked. Also we were told in advance that on New Year's day a cold breakfast would be left outside our room, fair enough I suppose, what actually happened was our breakfast was handed into our room at 1pm on new years eve, as this included ham sandwiches, we were expected to eat these some 18 hours later and although they were wrapped there was no refrigeration in the room which was very warm. We left a day early as I had such a problem with the stairs. On the plus side the hotel is very well situated, the bed was comfortable and clean, the room was warm and the parking was a big plus. Freddie did not introduce himself to us but Fiona was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallsendgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed here for 10 nights and couldn't fault anything, or any aspect of our experience.
The hotel was easy to find and centrally located in Edinburgh so we could get to visit all the major attractions with no difficulty whatsoever.
Freddie and Fiona were always polite and thoughtful. Indeed, on more than one occasion they offerered good and helpful advice on what to go and see.
Our room was lovely: clean and with plenty of space, the room was a pleasure to sleep in (very comfy beds!) The showers were always nice and warm. We soon found ourselves very much at home here!
The breakfasts were lovely too. Cooked to perfection, I would reccomend the "Full Monty" (it fills you up all morning and gets your day off to a realy good start!)
Furthermore, the hotel is nice and quiet and it isn't difficult to get a nice peaceful nights sleep ready for the next action packed day!

Overall, a great big thank-you to Fiona & Freddie for making our stay a pleasant one & contributing to a thouroughly enjoyable trip: we would recommend the Broughton to anybody visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Edinburgh: The Broughton Hotel Broughton Place "Excellent"

Just had three days in Edinburgh we stopped at the Broughton Hotel it was excellent very friendly, superb breakfast, great location so easy to reach city centre.
We will definitely go back there to stay

Thanks Freddie & Fiona keep up the good work

The Murray's Lake District

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MintcakeKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Broughton. The hotel was centrally placed for exploring the city and had the added bonus of having its own parking area. In a city like Edinburgh, that's extremely valuable to say the least. The room we stayed in was small but perfectly formed, clean and comfortable. The shower was unusually hot - it was really hot on its lowest setting - who knows what would have happened if we'd have turned it up to full.

The breakfasts were pretty good and the hosts were friendly, and although they weren't there to check us in, they had a very clear and effective method for a DIY check-in. I thought it was good value for money for a city-centre hotel and would recommend it for those wanting to explore the city on a bit of a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tween31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

A sweet little hotel right in the heart of this historic and majestic city.

The owners are friendly, the place is clean and well looked after.

And it's also pretty good value for money as you are right in the heart of things,

Small quibbles are, althought the breakfast is generous I found it a little greasy and the full monty looked a bit of a mess. But then that's what the typical scottish breakfast looks like so it is authentic.

The only other thing is I found the decor a bit old fashioned; drapes and dark colours it could still look traditional with a lighter colour scheme.

But, over all a very pleasant experience.

NB: The website pictures don't do justice to the hotel, my room was much nicer than the one featured.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodgehenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

A great find! Three of us stayed, in the triple room, over the weekend as we were attending a wedding nearby. It was excellent value and Fiona (and Freddy ) could not have been more helpful. It's in a great location too, with plenty of good quality pubs and restaurants nearby, and The Playhouse and the St James Shopping Centre just a few minutes' walk away. Can't recommend it highly enough, and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlingstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
998 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
979 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,850 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broughton Hotel

Address: 37 Broughton Place, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $92 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broughton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet tranquil city centre Georgian townhouse hotel is set right in the heart of Scotland's capital. We provide hospitality in elegant and comfortable surroundings to guests visiting Edinburgh on business and to those wishing to enjoy a short sightseeing break. We are within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's world famous castle, palaces, gardens, museums, shopping centers, and our train & bus stations. There are many fine restaurants, bars & night clubs to suit all types. We are very close to these establishments, although not that close to cause disturbance. All rooms fully en-suite with FREE high speed wifi, FREE private parking and full Scottish breakfast included in price. Kind regards Freddie & Fiona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broughton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing