We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and close!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broughton Hotel
Ranked #18 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, friendly and close!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We are very pleased with everything! Love to return and absolutely recommended. Nice and clean rooms. Not directly in the tourist roads, but very near which we think is much better. Safe, friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    263
    35
    13
    4
See reviews for
164
387
37
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Fiona and Freddie are operating the hotel with their heart. We stayed there for 2 nights and returned from St Andrews for another night. The location is within walking distance to most of the attractions. In fact we did walk to all places we visited during the 3 days. Our room with a street view and the surroundings were quiet. Free private parking and high speed WiFi. Choices of breakfast, recommend the kipper which is a bit different from English/Scottish (Full Monty) Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G2F2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just spent the weekend in this great City; but the accommodation made it for us. It's only 10 minutes from the railway station and City centre; so a great place to stay at reasonable prices.

The owners are very friendly and ultra helpful.

Room was great, all we needed, very clean & tidy and as for their breakfasts - Great, superb choice and quality.

Stay here with confidence.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Good location for the Waverley rail station, theatre and main attractions in Edinburgh. Very helpful host. Good value for money. Leaving our bag until late afternoon on our last day was a real bonus. We didn't use the room during the day but it was nice to know that we had the ability to call back if necessary. Prefer this set up to the large hotel chains. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Broughton Townhouse (formerly the Broughton Hotel) has all you want from a B & B. The rooms are cozy with good beds and a spacious bathroom + all the trimmings… hairdryer, tea and biscuits, Wi-Fi and adapters (if you come from continental Europe).

The owners, Freddi & Fiona, are kind and help with whatever they can and serve a great breakfast each day – you can go for the classic British spread, but you can also just have them make you some eggs and toast, or yogurt… always accompanied by juice, jam, tea and freshly made coffee.

The location is great… it’s quiet but really close to Calton Hill on one side (great public park overlooking the city with a café on top) and pubs, restaurants, theatres and the likes on the other.

Tips for dining and drinking nearby (that aren’t one of the great pubs)…

L’ecagot Bleu is an unpretentious French restaurant (recommended by the Michelin Guide for the last four years)… but if you’re seated before 7 pm you can get a two course dinner for a measly 13 pounds.

In the basement bellow L’escargot Bleu there is a cozy wine, beer and pickles bar.

The Broughton Café and Diner is superb for brunch… a must try place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just returned from a super weekend in Edinburgh where my daughter,mum and myself stayed at The Broughton Hotel - B&B.The owners Freddie and Fiona were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much bother for them. Breakfast was first class with plenty of options. We had a triple room which was small but very clean and comfortable. The location was ideal for restaurants, The Playhouse, shopping and bars and we will definitely stay again when we return to this lovely city.An added bonus was that we got to meet Jet - the owners adorable Black Labrador.

Room Tip: No lift so as my Mum is elderly I requested a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Despite a lovely location, excellent breakfast and very welcoming hosts. Our room had a real issue with the shower; the handle was broken and the knob did not turn on properly. It was moulded and the bath-mat was greyish white.
The curtains did not close properly and the hairdryer did not work after 5 minutes!

Room Tip: Don't chose the attic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Margarita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discofred57, Owner at The Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Sorry you had a few problems on your short stay.1 the bath mats are cream not white but a few persons have made this comment that they look grey! We have replaced them with pure white.
2.The shower holder was cracked but like many things if we are not informed we can't fix it (fixed now)
3.as with the shower we did not know (replaced)
4.Curtains close from the right hand side first time we have heard of curtains not closing ?
5. Chambermaid informed of the mould spots have inspected myself no longest a issue .

Thanks for your constructive comments but please in future inform the person in charge and I am sure they will be addressed right away .
Kind regards Freddie .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 149 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,807 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broughton Hotel

Property: The Broughton Hotel
Address: 37 Broughton Place, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broughton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet tranquil city centre Georgian townhouse hotel is set right in the heart of Scotland's capital. We provide hospitality in elegant and comfortable surroundings to guests visiting Edinburgh on business and to those wishing to enjoy a short sightseeing break. We are within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's world famous castle, palaces, gardens, museums, shopping centers, and our train & bus stations. There are many fine restaurants, bars & night clubs to suit all types. We are very close to these establishments, although not that close to cause disturbance. All rooms fully en-suite with FREE high speed wifi, FREE private parking and full Scottish breakfast included in price. Kind regards Freddie & Fiona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broughton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing