We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a few nights, when visiting Edinburgh”
Review of Thistle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle House
Ranked #285 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good enough for a few nights, when visiting Edinburgh”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The longest stay during my visit of Scotland. Location - about 30 min on foot to Old town, so good enough for us. Compared to other hotels, I stayed, rooms were freezing. Room is spacious enough, bathroom is OK. Plenty of tea and coffee. Small TV for such a big room. Our room had door to the inside garden , but door was locked and garden used for just owner's private purposes. The continental breakfast just cereal, toast with jam and fruits. You have to pay extra for something warm.
The biggest con, the owner is not british and his accent is very difficult to understand. My job is taking orders from british customers through phone,but this guy was something else. out of 30 words you could understand perhaps 5-6 at the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
22
35
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I spent several days at the Thistle Guest House and I had a really good treatment from the staff. They are very helpfull and caring about the guests. As I was by myself, that helped me a lot to have a better staying and to know the city better. The cleanness was terrific. I had a private room with shared bathroom, but It always seemed to be just mine, since it was always in perfect conditions. The room was very confortable and nice decorated. I highly recommend the Thistle House and would stay again If I ever come back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Worked well for me. Quiet place not too far from the hospital where I worked, about 10 minutes from central Edinburgh by bus. Several services every 10 minutes. Well cleaned room, mine (single en suite) had a terrible wallpaper :-) but other looked better, newly redecorated. Excellent price, probably hard to get better value for money if you want a single room. Very basic breakfast but for extra you could get cooked. Nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikaelwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed for one night during the snowy March of 2013. The area is beyond the Commonwealth Pool on the Dalkeith Road, so using the bus (which stop 50m from the B&B) is recommended. The owner, who's English was quite accented (but then so is mine) was extremely friendly and the check in was painfree. As is increasingly common with the cheaper B&Bs in Scotland money is expected up front (too many defaulters I suppose), but the room was a cosy ensuite with very comfortable and recently refurbished furniture and the wifi worked a treat. The view over the back gardens with the snow was indeed beautiful.
The ensuite was snug, especially the shower, I would not recommend it to the size 18+.
Breakfast was 'light', ie. continental, cereals, toast, yoghurt and hot drinks and well presented.
Overall a good place to stay, if you know who to use the public transport system.

Room Tip: if you have problems with stairs this place may be problematic. it stretches over two steep staircas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngharadWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over new year. Owner friendly but English not great, wanted payment as soon as we walked in, but we insisted on checking out the rooms first. Double en suite was a large room with a tiny shower room but clean and comfortable.The furniture is old but i suppose it suited the building. For the price we paid i suppose it was value for money, and the continental breakfast was adequate. For a short stay it suited our needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesburgPommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Thistle House and enjoyed our stay very much; the hotel is lovely and the location is excellent--2-3 blocks from Haymarket station and just a short walk to Princes Street as well as the Royal Mile. The staff was very accommodating and offered excellent suggestions for restaurants nearby and the quickest walking path. The breakfast was fine but a little limited but overall the Thistle was great.

Room Tip: Many stairs so ask for a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z0eybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had an amazing time! We were lucky to get the big bedroom, it was very clean. Free wifi & breakfast were included, no complains there. Just one thing, I could hear my next door so I am not sure if the sound proof is bad or they were really loud but it did not bother me. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent, I really liked it there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-Shun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#95 of 149 in Edinburgh
650 reviews
Appin House
#71 of 392 in Edinburgh
131 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#160 of 392 in Edinburgh
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arden Guest House
#190 of 392 in Edinburgh
121 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#32 of 392 in Edinburgh
199 reviews
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
#122 of 392 in Edinburgh
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House

Property: Thistle House
Address: 1 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle House is a spacious Victorian building close to Edinburgh's major attractions. Ten rooms, each tastefully decorated to ensure a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thistle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing