We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Thistle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle House
Ranked #286 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over new year. Owner friendly but English not great, wanted payment as soon as we walked in, but we insisted on checking out the rooms first. Double en suite was a large room with a tiny shower room but clean and comfortable.The furniture is old but i suppose it suited the building. For the price we paid i suppose it was value for money, and the continental breakfast was adequate. For a short stay it suited our needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesburgPommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
22
35
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Thistle House and enjoyed our stay very much; the hotel is lovely and the location is excellent--2-3 blocks from Haymarket station and just a short walk to Princes Street as well as the Royal Mile. The staff was very accommodating and offered excellent suggestions for restaurants nearby and the quickest walking path. The breakfast was fine but a little limited but overall the Thistle was great.

Room Tip: Many stairs so ask for a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z0eybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had an amazing time! We were lucky to get the big bedroom, it was very clean. Free wifi & breakfast were included, no complains there. Just one thing, I could hear my next door so I am not sure if the sound proof is bad or they were really loud but it did not bother me. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent, I really liked it there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-Shun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week. Overall we had a very pleasant time here. There was always a free on street park near by, usually right out the front of the guest house. The staff were so nice and friendly. We were always greeted with a smile. The free continental breakfast is basic but suited us fine. The room was comfortable and clean. Also very warm! We stayed in a double ensuite with free tea and coffee facilities and TV. Room is serviced as requested. I would absolutly reccomend The Thistle House. The transport into the city centre is very easy a bus across the road every 5 - 10 mins. Great value for money accomodation.

Room Tip: Choose and ensuit room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I spent only one night in Edinburgh and stayed in this place. The staff is helpful but the policies of this hotel are not convenience for customers. In my opinion, it is fine to charge 2% in the case of using credit or debit card but they haven't informed on booking via internet. There would be breakfast but only cereal and juice, if you prefer to have hot breakfast, you might need to pay addition charge about 5 pounds. Again, it had not informed via booking. The room is fine but not be impressed because the bed sheet is quite old and look cheap. Overall, this hotel might not worth for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kong10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The staff are wonderful, helpful & attentive.
I asked if they had soy milk at breakfast and they dashed out to get me some right away. They even offered to buy in vegan options for breakfast for me. Our late arrival & early departure were also no problem for them. Generally pleasant & helpful at all times.

The Location is good. It is a bit away from the centre (30 minute walk approx') we were happy with that. It is in a pleasant area which has regular, bus links & getting a taxi is not to pricey.

Our room was an ensuite double. It was large & comfy with tea&coffee facilities, tv & hair dryer. It was cleaned daily and we were very happy with it.

I felt that this B&B was great value for money and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't want a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirteene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I had an amazing stay at this guest house the staff were very helpful to all my needs. We were in the family en suite it is a spacious room with a good view. My kids had a great time in the back garden. The guest house is near the city centre and close to Arthur seat. Cameron Toll is full of shops and is a nice shopping complex. People are sweet and kind in Edinburgh I would definitely recommend this guest house to my friends and family. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Give them a call and they will accommodate your ever need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#95 of 149 in Edinburgh
651 reviews
Appin House
#74 of 392 in Edinburgh
131 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#160 of 392 in Edinburgh
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arden Guest House
#190 of 392 in Edinburgh
121 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#31 of 392 in Edinburgh
199 reviews
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
#124 of 392 in Edinburgh
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House

Property: Thistle House
Address: 1 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle House is a spacious Victorian building close to Edinburgh's major attractions. Ten rooms, each tastefully decorated to ensure a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing