We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of B&B <3”
Review of Thistle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle House
Ranked #305 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2011

1. Hotel staff were VERY friendly! We walked there from the train station in Edinburgh (DON'T do that if you are carrying a lot of things, there're several buses, #2, 14, 30, 33 and 48 of Lothian Bus for example, that stop less than 100m away from the place!) and lost our way. We called the staff and he gave very clear instruction to us :)
Upon arrival, he offered us tea/coffee FOR FREE as the room was not ready, but it was just because we arrived earlier than the official check-in time. How sweet is that!
2. The room is very spacious and the bed is super comfy <3
3. It feels very much like home there, SERIOUSLY.
4. The breakfast was great!
5. The interior design is wonderful, I took picture practically EVERYWHERE LOL

In short, IT IS HIGHLY HIGHLY recommended, FROM THE BOTTLE OF MY FRIENDS AND MY HEART <3

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginnynnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 116 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2009

My host was very friendly and laid back. The first night that I arrived he didn't insist that I pay for my room right away. I could wait until the next morning. I was also able to stay an extra night without a fuss. Breakfast was always wonderful. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and also very clean. The house is about 25 minutes from the Royal Mile on foot or only a few minutes by bus.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I was there last month with my colleague at The Thistle House. The place is marvellous, the rooms are well cleaned, cosy and it's very close to the city centre. The Scottish Breakfast was amazing. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncena_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Upon entry the owner/whoever made it abundantly clear that we were an inconvience by yawning multiple times with a frustrated face. And proceeded to ask that we pay everything before we put our bags down.
The breakfast was the CHEAPEST and worst tasting 'english' I've had in years and the toilet moves when you sit on it.

NEVER returning there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBnBFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Very good guest house and received a great welcome. Ideally located and very cute and cosy rooms. The bathrooms were small but the over all very nice guest house.. Parking is available but for only 1 or 2 cars but we never found it difficult to get parking outside the guest house.. Every morning they serve scottish breakfast which is very good.. We were told that there is internet access but when we were there due to some reason it was not working.. but over all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeptisnarayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We were warmly welcomed to this clean, fresh smelling, cosy, well facilitated accommadation. We had a large room with ensuite. The breakfast was supurb. There is an added cost for a full breakfast however we did not require this, as we had ample to eat with that provided. Parking is a premium. Once we found a park we left the car there and took the bus into the city as the bus stop was in close proximity to the accommadation.
We put our towels out for changing however they we not changed. On return to the room we found that our used towels had been put back in the ensuite again.
If booking here,save yourself frustration by obtaining clear directions on location beforehand, as we got very lost initially.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I stayed at the Thistle House on a short solo trip to Edinburgh. I normally stay at another B&B on Kilmaurs Terrace, which is my favorite in the UK, but on this trip I was alone and only needed basic accommodations.

I found the room to be perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable and I was very pleased to discover it was en suite. For the price, it was amazing.

Breakfast was more along the lines of a London B&B as it lacked haggis and black pudding and the more boutique touches many Scottish B&B's are known for, BUT it was tasty and filling and kept me satisfied until dinner. I was offered second helpings, too.

The host was gracious and pleasant. I hate to admit that being an American I do not have an ear for certain accents, and I did struggle understanding him. (I consider this my own shortcoming.)

The Thistle House is located in a neighborhood with dozens and dozens of B&B's (no online resource I have found lists them all). The nearby bus service is very convenient or it is a refreshing walk from the Royal Mile and Princes Street. It is also very near Holyrood Park.

If you want clean accommodations at a bargain rate this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.9 mi away
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
#129 of 393 in Edinburgh
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#72 of 393 in Edinburgh
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
MW Townhouse
MW Townhouse
#321 of 393 in Edinburgh
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clan Walker Guest House
Clan Walker Guest House
#92 of 393 in Edinburgh
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gladstone House
Gladstone House
#91 of 393 in Edinburgh
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Appin House
Appin House
#86 of 393 in Edinburgh
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House

Address: 1 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $73 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle House is a spacious Victorian building close to Edinburgh's major attractions. Ten rooms, each tastefully decorated to ensure a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Thistle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing