We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,275)
Filter reviews
1,275 results
Traveler rating
865
267
92
34
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
865
267
92
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi suiteprivate gardennespresso machinechateaubriandstockbridge areaboutique hotellovely hotelno lifton arrivallisted buildingturn down servicesmall hoteltop floorquiet streetfull scottish breakfastgeorge streetmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 1,275 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

This is my favourite hotel in Edinburgh. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, bathrooms are also wonderful.
The staff are lovely & nothing is too much trouble

But favourite bit (& a real treat) is breakfast. Whilst a hot breakfast is available I usually opt for continental there is a wide variety of different breads, fresh fruit, yogurts. It is always nice to have home made jam, I particularly like the whisky marmalade and lemon curd.
I stay fairly regularly & would recommend the hotel for singles, couples and friends.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank HB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

Great to receive and read your comments, the team will also be best pleased to have your recognition. There is no better endorsement than that of a returning guest, thank you very much.

As always, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a very nice part of town far enough away from the noise and hustle and bustle but only a 15 min walk into the centre of town. My wife had difficulty walking too far so we would get a cab into town which came in 5 mins then had a leisurely walk down hill back to the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and the room was fabulous. The food in the restaurant was very good but unfortunately we didn't get a chance to sample the Chateaubriand which looked amazing. I would throughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and comments. The team will be highly delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps upon a future visit you will be able to try the best Chateaubriand in town!!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

Do not book this hotel. We were allocated a room the size of a shoe box at the top of three flights of narrow twisting stairs. My wife had great difficulty getting up the stairs and when we asked for an alternate room we were denied. The room was so small there was no where to lay out a suitecase except on the bed. There was nowhere to sit except on the bed. The ceiling was very low. The window could only be opened a few inches and it was stifling hot. The bathroom door frame was crooked and there was a great gap at one end. The bathroom floor tiles were cracked and broken and there were large black scars in the bottom of the bath where the enamal has been broken off. Part of the barhroom ceiling was not painted. Coffee was provided with cups that could have come out of a childrens tea set. The bed was less than regulation Queen size and both I and my wife's legs hung over the end. This was undoubtedly the most uncomfortable night I've ever spent in a hotel. The chairs in the dining room were too low and were chipped with frayed upholstry. This hotel was advertised as 'Small Boutique' and the room was a 'Petite Suite'. The Small and Petite were understatements and the only luxurious bit was the price. There is no second egress from the building so if you're caught in a fire you have little chance. I'd rate this hotel a Zero if I could.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your spirited feedback. I would wish to address your feedback personally and the small number of inaccuracies in your comments. Please do reach out, I'd be delighted to talk.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

We come to Edinburgh often. Nira Caledonia is in a couple of converted townhouses and a refreshing difference from the bigger hotels in town. You feel more connected to Edinburgh. It has a quirky Gothic feel about it and the interiors are mildly eccentric - we loved it.

What makes a real difference though is the super helpful team that run it. Little things like remembering how you like your coffee all register.

Any downsides? Being a townhouse, the public space is limited, but then there's so much to see outside and the rooms are comfortable and well equipped.

Room Tip: upper floors are good.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pblackwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your feedback and comments. Great to read that you loved our hotel (quirks and all!!) and our little touches. The team members will be delighted to have your personal recognition. Personal service does make a difference.

We would wish to welcome you back in the not too distant future, please be sure to reach out directly so that we may afford you our best attention.

Best regards,

Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Had a one night stay in June and was very enjoyable. Easy checkin - shown up to the room which is a nice touch. Comfortable and warm bed and a powerful shower for the morning. All the little extras you might need.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Littlehibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your comments. We'd be delighted to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Best regards,

Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews