We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveler rating
864
266
92
34
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
266
92
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi suiteprivate gardennespresso machinechateaubriandstockbridge areaboutique hotellovely hotelno lifton arrivallisted buildingturn down servicesmall hoteltop floorquiet streetfull scottish breakfastgeorge streetmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Had a one night stay in June and was very enjoyable. Easy checkin - shown up to the room which is a nice touch. Comfortable and warm bed and a powerful shower for the morning. All the little extras you might need.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Littlehibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your comments. We'd be delighted to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Best regards,

Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

The hotel is made up of three beautiful Georgian townhouses in a residential neighborhood in Stockbridge, about 20 minutes on foot from the Royal Mile and the Castle.

We had a suite and it was huge, with a large king size bed and two small beds for our kids. The high ceilings made the room appear even larger. It was not cheap but overall it was worth the money (Edinburgh is a fairly expensive city).

The room was rather warm because the city experienced unusually hot weather and there is no AC. You have to respect the age of the building.

The neighborhood is very nice, with some good restaurants nearby (Radici and the Kilted Lobster are both good enough to recommend). The Georgian House on Charlotte Square is a worthwhile museum less than 10 minutes way.

The breakfast choices at the Nira Caledonia are wonderful: fresh jam and bread, croissants, fresh juices, excellent coffee (the flat whites were perfect), and the full Scottish breakfast if you are really hungry (eggs, delicious haggis, bacon, black pudding, potato scones, baked tomatoes, and baked beans). The breakfast was included in our room rate and made the value better.

There are no amenities so do not expect a large lobby, a spa, a pool, a gym, or even a garden (some of the suites are garden suites and thus the garden is not open to the general public). Also, the hotel employees appear amateurish and overworked (but they are extremely nice and friendly).

Some of the rooms are tiny so make sure you choose the room based on your needs and size.

Overall we really liked this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BramStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments and feedback, great to read that you had a wonderful time staying with us and that you would return. Indeed very satisfying to read.

I would be most grateful if you were able to reach out directly as I would wish to have a little more clarity relating to the comments you note about our staff.

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

A couple of elegant townhouses in a residential neighborhood have been put together to form a comfortable accommodation within walking distance of the city's major tourist attractions. The hotel's dining room is superb and can be supplemented by a 5-minute walk (literally, around the corner) to the city's Stockbridge district which is full of very good restaurants and food stores. However, keep in mind that this is not a mega-hotel with room service, concierge and air conditioning (which is sometimes needed in the summer). Also, because the rooms have very high ceilings, staircases to the upper rooms are steep -- a challenge for the elderly or disabled. The reception desk staff is very helpful in making reservations and travel arrangements, but are no substitute for a full-time concierge. Nearby restaurants we especially enjoyed were a new Italian spot, Radici, and the dining room in the Raeburn Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank exprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks ever so much for sharing your comments and feedback. The restaurant and kitchen team are very best pleased to have your recognition, as are the rest of the team.

We are always delighted to provide additional help and assistance for any guest who requires a little extra help.

Please be sure to contact us directly upon your next visit to Edinburgh, we'd gladly oversee your arrangements with our personal service.

Best regards,

Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Excellent stay. Comfortable, clean and to high standard.
Very good location within walking distance from points of interest and good service.
Highly recommended for those looking to stay at a higher end establishment.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantinos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Dear Guest,

Wonderful to have your brief and straight to the point feedback. It certainly sounds like you had an enjoyable time staying at our hotel. Your endorsements are highly appreciated.

We would be delighted t welcome you back sometime soon.

Best regards,

Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Stayed for 2 nights , one at the start and one at the end of a 12 day tour of Scotland. On our first night, we had a downstairs garden room in the building two doors up from the main hotel. The room was a decent size, but the bathroom was a bit battered and could do with a bit of TLC. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was really very good - try the Chateaubriand !
Our second visit, we were in the main hotel on the 2nd floor - bear in mind , it's a Georgian building with curvy uneven stairs and there are no lifts ! Again the room was a good size, but the bathroom was small and had 360 degree wall to wall mirrors ... not exactly the view you want when you're sitting on the loo !
Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and varied and you can walk to the castle in around 10 minutes.
There is no parking attached to the hotel, but there are plenty of pay and display bays close by.
Overall , I'd say a very nice place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have no view , 2nd floor rooms have a good city view , but you can't see the castle from any room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereUBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your comments and feedback. Great to read that you enjoyed both of your stays with us and that you felt very well looked after. The restaurant and kitchen team will be highly delighted to read that you enjoyed dining with us.

As a Category A listed building of historical importance we are regrettably unable to install a lift, however every member of staff are ready and willing to provide any additional assistance. This is well noted on our website and those of our third party agents. All of our bedrooms are individually styled, no two rooms are the same. I will of course review your comments about the bathroom.

We would certainly wish to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Best regards,

Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews