We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pure luxuary ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pure luxuary ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

on arrival staff were amazing they took our car and found close parking and took our bags to our room we booked the jaccuzi suite which was great all was clean and to a nice standard we had a drink brought to us on the house great expresso coffee machine cant find nothing bad to say about this place it is stunning breakfast was great too only one think when opening the bathroom glass door it cut my partners toe so just be carefull of that we went to reception and told the they gave antiseptic wipe and plarster never spoilt our stay really we will be going back in the future the staff are great a real credit to this hotel especially shaun on reception thanks guys xxxx

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mcfaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello Mcfaul
It really was great looking after you both. Glad you liked the wee cheeky drink on arrival, we do try to spoil our guests. We have investigated the both room door situation and as a precaution removed and replaced although we found nothing wrong. Thanks for name dropping Shon, he is a trooper and gives his all to guests and staff alike, he's often to be heard dropping the phrase " Mind that time " he is a top lad and works very hard , we reward him with biscuit boosts..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    233
    68
    20
    11
See reviews for
91
729
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Would heartily recommend this boutique-style elegant and refined hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh and who has a few pounds to spare in return for an upmarket experience.

Located in what must be one of the smartest addresses in Edinburgh, for many this will be as close as you get to owning your own Edinburgh townhouse, full of old money glamour yet chic and never dated.

Our room was lovely and the breakfast buffet looked so good I had to take photographs of it.

My only quibbles: there was a crack in our sink and the bath felt as though it was on the cusp of not draining properly, finally a button on the tv started flashing during the night, however these are very minor quibbles and I'm only stating them because it is only possible to say "it was great" so often. Would definitely come back for a special occasion and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 6/12 with access to the garden out back and would heartily recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Sandy A
Thanks for this review . It makes us all very proud when we see guests taking photos of the breakfast buffet because it takes time and effort to source all the items , most of which are sourced locally in Stockbridge . The minor issues you mentioned are noted, our whole hotel is listed and simply removing bathroom sinks can cause all sorts of issues but we are aware of it, the TV button flashing in the night is an odd one , ill have our maintenance team look at it today,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My daughter and recently stayed at this lovely hotel. The hotel is set in a beautiful (and convenient) location and is decorated with flair. Our room was tiny but very well laid out and nice touches eg Nespresso machine and fresh milk. We were very impressed by the staff who were exceptionally helpful. For example, we had a very early start on the second morning and I mentioned that I was sorry to be missing the breakfast. I was immediately offered the opportunity to nip in before the restaurant officially opened for breakfast to help myself to the cold buffet which would have been set up and the night porter was there to make me a welcome coffee. Couple of comments - there was no turndown service on either night we were there which was odd as it was advertised and I could have done with the water that was billed as being included. Also the sink in our bathroom was inexplicably low and small - hopefully just an oversight in that room and not endemic throughout. Not a cheap option but would definitely return. People too nice not too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovenice_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

A real gem. Looking for quality, style and add in the architecture of a Georgian townhouse (complete with cobbles) for many this hotel will tick all the boxes as somewhere special to stay. Already contemplating a return visit. Ideal access - 5 minute walk to Stock bridge, 10 minutes to George Street, 15 minutes to the Botanical Gardens.
Stayed in 1st floor Executive room - spacious and comfortable. Only detraction no heavy drapes/ curtains at the window. Whilst shutters were functional the way the Venetian blinds were installed meant it was not possible to close. Used to a quiet rural location the early morning delivery broke my slumber as did the sound of cars driving over the cobbles. When next visiting I will specify a room at the rear and request a garden room if available.
Ate in the restaurant one evening - faultless, excellent meal and good wine list with some interesting choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagleshamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
298 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed here on business after booking a special offer online.
It's a gorgeous part of town - yes it is quiet but that's not a bad thing for me, especially as it's about a 10 minute walk to George Street and a further 5 minutes to Princes Street.
It would be a challenge to get to the top, where my room was, if you had issues with stairs.
The room itself was very nice and comfortable, if a little small. The complimentary cold beer delivered to the room by the concierge shortly after arriving was a superb touch, and very welcome too on a warm day during which I had been charging around (please tell me what beer that was as I want to buy some more?!).
The breakfast was simply superb - cooked to perfection, high quality.
All in all I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would do so again without hesitation, hopefully for longer next time (and time for more of that great beer).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello Gorillafoot
Great little review, our Concierge Neil popped an Innes & Gunn beer up to your room as it was a hot day ( you can buy these direct from Innes&Gunn or at some local supermarkets)
Glad you enjoyed breakfast, we really strive to make it the best .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

A very pleasant hotel with good range of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Large comfortable bedroom but bathroom was rather small by comparison and no separate shower. A good breakfast and friendly staff. I would be happy to recommend and return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello PatriciaW
Nice little review, it says pretty much what we are. Our bathrooms in some of the rooms are on the small side but that comes with us being hosted by such an elegant listed building , with its own personality and flair. Other rooms feature large bathrooms with Jacuzzi baths, walk in showers (serperate from the baths,) Next time you stay request a bigger bathroom and I'll see to it that it's done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice location, not too far from the city centre (15 minute walk, and buses nearby). The hotel room was pristine, and included minibar, high ceilings and a good shower. Free breakfast (corporate deal) included freshly made eggs & fresh orange juice, so the whole package was excellent, with one downside: my bed (even though the mattress was very comfortable) were a bit short, so with my 1.89m I could not fit in straight and had to lay sideways.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartijnFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello MartijnFH
Great review, thanks for posting . I've updated your profile to ensure on any future stay you are allocated a Super King size bed . We do have a facility pre arrivals for any requests and if you'd have let us know we would have put you in the biggest bed possible, that's the difference with a small boutique hotel you see, personal service and nothing is too much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing