We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I just wanted to say thank you for the amazing service for us all last
weekend. Everything was just brilliant, from the actual booking, to
arriving, to being looked after at the hotel. Everyone was extremely
professional and helpful, and remarked upon by our whole party.

The rooms were also fantastic, spacious, bright, and clean, so again, thank
you. And the breakfast was fabulous. Hope we didn't overstay our welcome in
the dining room as breakfast did last about an hour and a half!

Would happily recommend you to anyone and hopefully some of us will return
again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldschoolfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hello Oldschoolfriends

Well, let me start with breakfast is important and at Nira we take it seriously. local sourced breads and meats, sausages and bacon from a local Butcher and more importantly breakfast runs until 11 on weekdays and 12 at weeknds, i want guests to enjoy their time with us and that starts with a full breakfast and time to eat it. We all really enjoyed loking after your party and i hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Nira Caledonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in a similarly marketed hotel around 6 months and the difference between that hotel and this one was like night and day.

Many hotels could learn a lot from the Nira Caledonia, be it in the appearance and performance of their staff or the carefully sourced food prepared with great attention to detail which the kitchen produces.

All the staff we encountered displayed a level of service and sincerity that is rare in many other hotels. Neil and Emma in particular seemed to go the extra mile to make sure that their guests were enjoying their stay. I also thought that the staff uniform was very smart and unique. No drab, generic black and white here. Beige plaid waistcoats and suit jackets complimented by smart throwback braces set a unique and stylish standard. To be honest, I could sum up the entire hotel vibe based purely on the uniform! Smart, classic & sophisticated, yet stylish.

The rooms are all different and our executive room was spacious and modern with a classic twist (or is that classic with modern twist?) Cherry blossom wall paper was complimented by minimalist black furniture with an Oriental twist creating a very relaxing atmosphere.

Location-wise it provides an ideal compromise. It is tucked away in a classic little cobbled street, but is two blocks from the George Street nightlife and 3 blocks from the hustle and bustle of Princes Street.

We ate dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night and opted for the 7 course taster menu which was delicious. Various dietary requirements were met without any problem and the service was impeccable. Breakfast the following morning was consistent with both the standard of food and level of service.

This trip was a birthday present from my husband and he liaised with staff at Nira Caledonia to provide some lovely little treats throughout our stay. It is these personal touches that really put the Nira Caledonia ahead of the competition.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Awww Caz141
You had me at Hello.
What a peach of a review and thanks for name dropping Emma and Neil. Emma is Head of Reservations and very much the girl that needs to be won over for upgrades and all things nice, and Mr Neil our conceirge is certainly the man to know should you need a table in any restaurant in town.
Our Nira uniform is very special and i think helps capture the true nature of what we are trying to acheive. Individual , stylish service with a twist. Its always nice to know the little touches we try to deliver are noted, from the the scented towels to the tunnocks team cakes, its what makes Nira Caledonia a little different from the rest. Come back soon, remember to book direct (Ask for Emma)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tet S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked Nira Caledonia for a short two night stay and can highly recommend it as a great place to stay. It is located just a short walk from the centre, in a quiet area near to the new town - and we loved the fact that it was just outside the tourist area. There are some lovely cafes and shops in the new town nearby, and the staff at the hotel gave us some great tips on where to go. We were on the hunt for vintage clothing - and with the help of the staff - discovered some great places to go.

Our room was spacious and comfortable, it was up several flights of stairs and on the top floor, fine for us, but would have been a bit challenging for someone less able. There were some nice touches including Tunnocks marshmallow and biscuits - yum!

We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was good although much of it was cooked on a charcoal grill - which did make things taste very much all the same. The breakfasts were lovely though, fresh fruit, nice bread and cooked Scottish breakfast - all cooked to perfection. It really set us up for the day.

The outstanding feature of this hotel was the staff - they couldn't do enough for you and were so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble - and for this reason alone we will be back. My husband and I stay in hotels a lot for work, and we wanted something a little special for our two day break. We definitely found this at the Nira Caledonia.

Room Tip: if you are less abled make sure you dont get the top floor as its up several flights of stairs
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 881JoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Good morning 881joC
Wow, sounds like you had a great stay. The team here at Nira really pride themselves on delivering a top level service, and of course no review is complete without a mention of our favour Tunnocks tea cakes ..
All in all a great little review , thank you so much for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

It's taken a while to find some spare time to write this review but I feel that one definately needed to be written! I stayed at Nira Caledonia with my girlfriend on valentines day this year. From the minute we entered we were treated like royalty. The reception and bar staff were welcoming and polite and we were offered some complimentary drinks as our room wasnt ready when we arrived (which more than made up for the 10 minute wait), the manager even came and chatted to us to see how we were and to give us some information about the hotel which I thought was a really nice touch! The room was incredible and spotlessly clean!!! The MASSIVE jacuzzi at the foot of the bed was amazing! We've stayed in other 5 star hotels but I definately think Nira Caledonia has the classiest look. The restaurant is also definately worth a visit! We had the 7 course valentines tasting menu that was absolutely incredible paired with a matched glass of wine for each course! When we got back to the room after dinner the staff had been in and placed lit candles and rose petals all over the room which completed the night! A really nice touch which obviously went down a treat for the wife! Breakfast was also brilliant with loads of choice! Really cant say enough good things about this hotel, I've paid alot more for a lot less in the past. We will 100% be going back to Nira Caledonia and reccomend it to EVERYONE! Thanks again Nira Caledonia!

Room Tip: Get a "Jacuzzi Room" when you book, they are the business!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hey Jamie W
Thanks for this review, and thanks for taking a few moments to post it, I know a lot of our guests use Tripadvisor to choose a hotel but very few actually post. Our 7 course tasting menu really is a hit, we have tweaked it slightly for the summer but it really is a must try. I look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was our second visit to Nira for our first wedding anniversary. Our first visit for our honeymoon back in April 2013 was pretty much faultless. This time things were lovely (and I don't want to detract from what is a lovely hotel) but there were a couple of things that were disappointing this time. Firstly, we had a jacuzzi suite at the front of the hotel which wasn't quite such a nice room as the first but was nevertheless a spacious and well appointed room. This time, however, I thought it odd that for such a highly rated hotel the bed had one sheet and nothing else between us and the mattress. NOT a good sign of cleanliness and hygiene! What happened to a mattress protector at the very least? The bathroom had one or two issues of 'lazy' cleaning and the shower screen had no strip to prevent the water going all over the floor. Lastly, the waiter at breakfast was polite but seemed a little inexperienced and forgot about us on occasion. He then asked if I was happy to keep the same knife and fork for my main after having had fruit to start. Again, it should be normal practice that you're given clean cutlery for each course, never mind in a hotel of this standard.

I should say that on our first visit we had a fabulous jacuzzi suite at the back of the hotel with our own little garden. Beautiful. Staff were polite, breakfast was lovely and the location meant it was quiet and secluded but a short walk away from Edinburgh City Centre. A really relaxing and luxury getaway.

It's important to point out these discrepancies for the benefit of people thinking of visiting but mainly for the hotel management and staff who might otherwise not be aware of these small but nevertheless surprising issues. All in all this is a beautiful hotel and we may wish to return one day but I think it's important that these 'minor' issues are investigated as they bring down what is otherwise a beautiful hotel. As a result I have given 4 stars on this occasion instead of what should be 5. Keep an eye on the details Nira! The little things let you down this time.

Room Tip: Go for a jacuzzi suite at the back, they're much nicer.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mischief77178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hmmm Mischief77178
I've taken a little time to consider my response to your review. I thought it odd that you claimed to have an amazing visit in 2013 but never reviewed then posted after your second visit. However it seems you had a good stay, with some points to note. All our rooms have mattress toppers and or are "double wrapped" so I'm unsure as to the point you make with regard to cleanliness. It's difficult for me to comment on the shower strip as I cannot ascertain which too you stayed in , as some rooms have Jacuzzi baths with showers over them it is impossible for strip to be fitted . I feel the use of the word "discrepancies " is out with what I would call acceptable , however Tripadvisor disagree , however as always I urge any guest with a suggestion for Management to speak to the hotel directly at the time , rather than post on forums such as this one. I hope that you do visit again and if so I'll look forward to speaking to you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I can't wait to review it though we are still travelling in UK at the moment.Spent 3 nights in this hotel with my wife.small but a really good hotel,big and unique style guest room with good breakfast,and I'd strongly suggest that try its wonderful restaurant for dinner !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Hello MZ1968
Sounds to me like you enjoyed your time with us and that tells me we are doing our job. The team at Nira are all very proud of the hotel and we aim for a guest centric experience that will ensure guests return year after year. I lok forward to welcoming you back to us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $156 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing