We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Consett
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I were treat by our children to a two night stay here for our 50th birthday, we can't speak highly enough about the hotel, but what really makes the difference is the staff. They were all so friendly and helpful, and David who waited on our table both nights, was a star. Would recommend the Nira to anyone. BIG THANKYOU to all of you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hello DavidQ
Thank you for such a great review and for name dropping David from the restaurant ( we call him banter pants ) as his chat really is that good. I'll be sure to mention to him that you said he was a star. The team here at Nira are striving to push a guest centric experience and it sounds to me like that's what we achieved on your visit,please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    237
    70
    22
    12
See reviews for
92
738
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived home from a fantastic stay at this Nira caledonia.
We were booked into the jacuzzi suite for one relaxing night to celebrate getting married and the impending arrival of our baby.

We were greeted with a welcome prosecco to our room then on returning from our meal we found our room very romantically decorated with candles and rose petals.

The staff were the friendliest I have seen in any hotel and immediately made us feel at home and at ease.
With the beautiful surroundings comes a very non pretentious gem of a hotel.
We will definately be returning for our anniversary.
The food is second to none and as mentioned in previous reviews, breakfast so freshly cooked and very enjoyable.

As this was our last break away for a while I cannot thank the staff more for making it most memorable.

The Maclean's

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selkie776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Selkie776
You are so right, we are Edinburgh best kept secret. We are truly boutique, with amazing service and as you mentioned great staff. I'm proud of the whole Nira team as trust me it takes a lot of work to make the "magic" happen. I hope all goes well with your new arrival and look forward to meeting your new addition on your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Took my girlfriend for her 21st. The staff greeted us on arrival and were given free hot drinks while we waited on the room. Taken to our Jacuzzi room and were given complimentary champagne the hotel was amazing with a touch of class throughout. Felt like royalty and the bed was comfy with duckfeather pillows and duvet. Wanted to stay another night and would recommend to anyone! Breakfast was superb. Overall a great stay and would definately return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielM1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hello Daniel1992
Really was great to be able to look after you both I your girlfriends 21st. It was nice to meet you both and I'm glad you enjoyed room 1006 . It has the biggest Jacuzzi and is a firm favourite since refurbishment. I hope to welcome you back to Nira Caledonia soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just returned after a 2 night break... It was fantastic. We went for relaxation and tranquility a d that's what we got.

The staff are very professional and charming who helped with anything.
Our room was luxurious 1011, we struggled to get up the bed was so comfortable wanted to take it home with me...! Breakfast was scummy very fresh with use of local foods.
Location was great very easy to get into town but also great to walk into Stockbridge where you will find some great bars resturants shops to visit.

Will be planning a return visit can't wait.
Loved our stay thanks to you all

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Well LucieS
What can I say? Our location is stunning and StockBridge is a hidden gem for both bars and restaurants but also it's widely regarded by those in the know as "cool Edinburgh "
Thank for taking the time to post a lovely review , it helps us all know that we are going in the right direction. 1011 is one of our refurbished Jacuzzi Suites and it has a stunning typical Edinburgh view with sash windows and cobbled streets. I bet it was bliss. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It is unusual to find a hotel that you consider to be "faultless" but the Nira Caledonia is one such rare and wonderful hotel. I booked a single room and was expecting a small room with a single bed pushed up against a wall but I found a sumptuous and sophisticated room with white Egyptian cotton sheets, the world's most comfortable mattress (I almost tore off the sheets looking for the manufacturer's label") a Nespresso machine, a well stocked fridge, music, guidebooks. The bathroom was a sight to behold, an amazingly powerful shower with beautiful toiletries. The manager is lovely and clearly a bit of a character...he sent up a complimentary drink. Breakfast didn't disappoint either...the jams come from the local farmer's market, the sausages and eggs are clearly not your run of the mill fare...I would say they were organic and from a local farm. There was a wonderful selection of croissants and breads. The staff are great...they offered good advice on getting round the City and lent me a phone charger. Well I know where I will be staying for my next trip to Edinburgh! Thanks for such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophietate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello Sophietate
Nice little review, can't really ask for more . From our side it's just a joy to take 5 minutes during a day to read the new reviews , it gives the whole team a real boost. Sounds to me like you had a great stay and have made full use of all our amenities and thanks for mentioning the Nira Breakfast, as you say it's all local and sourced at our Stockbridge farmers market and or Stockbridge artisan shops. I'm glad you received the complimentary drink it sent you as a return guest. I do hope to welcome you back sometime soon. Kind regards "The Manager" ( I'm a bit of a character )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have just returned home today from a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel. Our room, The Scot Suite was fantastic with its own private garden (definitely a first for us!). The furnishings and attention to detail is just amazing. Breakfast was excellent - full Scottish breakfast both mornings for us. The staff are not just professionally attentive, but the friendliest we have encountered anywhere. Hope to back later in the year and take better advantage of the garden!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi TeresaG
Your review title is a BIG claim.. There are a lot of nice hotels in Edinburgh bit thank you for saying you think we are the best. I enjoyed meeting you both and I love the fact you both had sore heads from the day before, means you properly relaxed and enjoyed a few whiskeys. Breakfast at Nira Caledonia is important, we source all our sausages and bacon from a local butcher, our Jams and preserves come from the farmers market every Sunday and all our breads are sourced from an artisan bakery in Stockbridge, all these things make the perfect Scottish breakfast, I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here during the weekend of 22nd March 2014 after having a previous bad experience. We were personally invited back to see the changes and what a turnaround!
The service is exceptional and most of the rooms have been renovated. The reception and bar area has still to be refurbished, however we cannot wait to see this when complete. The hotel is now very much worth it's 5stars!

The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. A special thank you to Rory the hotel GM for looking after us and very much meeting our expectations and returning the hotel to its former glory

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseB227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello LouiseB227
What a nice review , I'm so glad that we had the opportunity to show you just how the hotel has changed since takeover by Nira and that you loved the room (Scott suite ). It was great to meet you both , i do hope you enjoyed your lunch out and that your evening was a good one. We are aiming to deliver a guest centric experience within a truly boutique hotel so all the staff have read your review today and are happy we have won you back as a regular guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,734 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing