We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was traveling to Edinburgh for the first time with my elderly mother and aunt and the entire experience at Nira Caledonia couldn't have been more pleasant. The manager and her staff were so friendly and accommodating. They were nearly intuitive about anticipating our every need. Our suite was lovely, opening onto a beautiful garden. And the food was delicious. I particularly liked the location. The hotel is a short walk to all that Edinburgh has to offer, without being overwhelmed by tourists. I hope to return in the near future!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the garden suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mtmlsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    233
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
91
731
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Moll and I stayed here as a birthday treat, lovely hotel and the suite we stayed in was fantastic.....spa bath, tasteful decor, coffee machine etc. We bought a wowcher deal so it was great value as dinner was included at the restaurant on site, dinner itself was lovely as was the breakfast. Overall we would recommend a stay here but beware of the cost of parking in Edinburgh - your looking at £16 a day for anything near the hotel and the "free" parking they can direct you to is a 30mins walk away - one for the park and ride I think as everything you need is in walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MartSca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Nira! Lovely boutique hotel in new town of Edinburgh. Money well spent! The staff were very friendly, professional and very helpful. When I go back to Edinburgh I will definitely be staying at the The Nira Caledonia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic little hideaway. The food and staff were great. Room decorated beautifully. It was small but exceptionally well equipped.

A short walk into Edinburgh. Well worth the walk.

Would recommend the josper grill. It makes for a yummy tasting meal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for during our babymoon and had a fabulous time! The room was a comfortable well appointed! It was furnished with modern amenities while maintaining, it's old world charm, our room had a great view of the garden and it was quite nice to be able to look out the floor to ceiling window in the morning while sipping on a cup of tea. My only complaint was that there were no elevators to take us to our rooms and we had a bit of luggage since we were traveling for two weeks!
The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful when we had an issue with our credit cards and had to call our bank from overseas! They made great recommendations as to where to go for dinner and which historical sights were worth the visit!
The complimentary breakfast in the morning was excellent, the service was quick and the food selection was vast! it's truly a great way to start off your day, we used this time to plan our day's agenda! I highly recommend the salmon and eggs, it was cooked to perfection! The dining room is busy in the morning, but I'm glad we were able to take our time without feeling rushed.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay, I wish it was a little closer to all the attractions, but it was fairly simple to get a taxi back to our room! We would definitely stay here again, if we are ever back in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely hotel, Beautiful room & fabulous food. Really enjoyed our stay & wouldn't hesitate to stay again. We got a great deal & had a lovely bottle of champers & some red roses in the room. Well done Nira Caledonia you made our stay in Edinburgh a memorable one

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wardys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is a real gem. Lots of character in the old part of Edinburgh. We had a small room and it was at the top of the building but the space was adequate for two sightseers who simply wanted a clean and comfortable room to rest in. The facilities were excellent, staff very friendly and the building is full of character. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing