We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home in Edinburg”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Elegant house, walking distance from city center and attractions/shoppings etc, but far enough form noises and traffic. Friendly staff, very good restaurant and breakfast. In the room Nespresso coffee maker. Execellent bed and shower. The only (minor for most people I think ) problem is that it doesnt have lifts, so if you have to climb 1 or 2 stairs to reach your room ( because of conservation laws of the city, they were not allowed to put a lift) .

Room Tip: ASk for a room on the first floor unless you like to exercise your legs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kalil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious food in Blackwood's Restaurant to the peace and tranquillity of our location - and close proximity to all attractions of the city. I will share your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

the room was a little small, but we did have the smallest room. enough for me and my boyfriend.
lovely room, docking station was a bonus, along with the bottled water given to us.
only problem we had was with the voucher menu, we realise its a cheap option menu ( as its free ) but it was a dissapointment in the quality of food.

Also breakfast is only cooked, no continental.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heg6402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

My sincere apologies in the delay in replying to your comments on Tripadvisor. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The three course menu as part of the offer is chosen from our main restaurant menu and other options are available for a small supplement. Thank you once again for sharing your comments and experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is second to none. It was set beautifully the decor was amazing and the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave. I hope I will stay there again one day. The staff were so friendly and the hotel altogether it was fantastic. I love love loved it!! Thank you for a fantastic stay x

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donzi103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

My sincere apologies in the delay in replying to your comments on Tripadvisor. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities. Your comments regarding the friendliness and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was fab. The staff couldn't have been nicer. It was a quiet street and you felt safe. The hotel room was very modern and made for a comfortable stay. It had better facilities then you expect to have in a hotel room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jollymans-wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

My sincere apologies in the delay in replying to your comments on Tripadvisor. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and location. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel through a Wowcher deal and I can honestly say it was one of the best stays we have had. The hotel was very welcoming along with the staff who made you feel very comfortable. On our first night we ate in the restaurant which we both found very enjoyable and the breakfasts were delicious with so much choice. The decor in the bedroom was beautiful and the bed so comfy it was an effort to get up in the morning, all facilities were provided, tea making, coffee machine, i-pod docking station/radio. Bathroom was luxurious with a jacuzzi bath. All-in-all we had a great couple of days and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift so anybody with a disability climbing stairs may find it helpful to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious food in Blackwood's Restaurnat to the attention to detail of the room amenitites. I will certainly share your comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you back at Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked a weekend away for the Scotland V Wales rugby and found a great deal staying at this hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful, rooms fantastic, breakfast brilliant. Overall a truly fantastic place to stay! Would whole heartedly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Spartikus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious breakfast to thewarmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

From our arrival on the Friday we were warmly welcomed and looked after by staff throughout our stay. Fantastic executive room with all the touches you would expect from the calibre of this hotel spa bath was a dream. Would highly recommend this hotel for not only its comfort and friendliness but its quiet location to the centre of Edinburgh easily accessed with a sub 10 minute walk. Made my fiancées birthday weekend a pleasure and with a visit to the zoo to see the pandas an all round excellent weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pete_Aspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and location. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. I have not been out to the zoo to see the Panda's yet, but have it on my list of things to do. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,177 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,808 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $131 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing