We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for two nights whilst on a leisure break to Edinburgh. I was unsure about what to expect as i didnt really know much about the hotel. It did not disappoint at all. The entire experience was outstanding. I stayed in one of the petite double rooms which was extremely nice and had a lovely view over Edinburgh. Wen we arrived in the room they had the music playing quietly which i thought was a nice touch. I felt the room was very cosy and personal opposed to the usual corporate feel. During the visit we met quite afew staff members and every single one was extremely friendly and polite, from the housekeeping staff to the chef. It was very nice to get to talk to the chef who was clearly very passionate about the food and produce he used. The food itself was outstanding, i had the scollops which where particularly good. I would definitely return to this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellelouise87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and my colleagues. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were particular impressed with the little personal touches we do. I will certainly pass on your feedback with the team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia in the near future.
Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    233
    68
    20
    11
See reviews for
91
729
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'm just home from two nights' stay at Nira Caledonia on a voucher deal. We booked for two nights' stay and dinner to celebrate my birthday. The hotel itself is very well situated on a quiet street just a few minutes' walk from the centre of Edinburgh.

We arrived on Friday afternoon and were shown straight to our room. Having booked a "petite double" I wasn't expecting much space but I was pleasantly surprised by how well the room was laid out. Had we been staying for more than two nights the fact that the wardrobe didn't close if you put too many clothes in it would have probably bothered me and we may be spoiled in being used to a king-size bed or larger rather than a double. That said, the bed was very comfortable and the sheets were up to usual 5* standards.

We spent a couple of hours in the room when we first arrived and discovered that we could hear pretty much everything from the stairs. It didn't disturb our sleep at night, but was a little disconcerting for a romantic break.

There was a bottle of champagne included in our deal (which turned out to be a half bottle) but for some reason it wasn't chilled or in an ice bucket when we arrived, so we popped it in the fridge for a couple of hours. Not a huge issue but according to a conversation over dinner with our waiter it appears to have been an oversight.

The only other (minor) issue with the room was that the hook appeared to have come off the back of the bathroom door and not been replaced so there was nowhere to hang towels other than a rail high above the toilet.

The shower was absolute bliss and I'd love to have been able to take that home!

We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night. Both the food and the service were exemplary. Robert, our waiter, was friendly, attentive and informative about the provenance of the ingredients. We were also very impressed by Peter who was working behind the bar when we returned from a few drinks later on. In fact, the service throughout was wonderful... other than at breakfast.

Breakfast was the only real disappointment. Having read a lot of compliments for it, we were very disappointed on Saturday morning to have to wait over an hour for our cooked breakfast and for the actual breakfast to be somewhat less than wonderful. It took a lot of effort to get our waitress's attention and, on Sunday, my order wasn't taken correctly. Again, we may be spoiled, but given the quality of meat at dinner the sausages which were more like flavoured bread than the fabulous Crombie's sausages we were served down the road at The Howard were a little disappointing and the bacon was overly salty and not terribly tasty. The cold buffet, however, was lovely.

Actually, we agreed on our way home that it was a shame that we couldn't have had breakfast in bed. It may be that the option was there but wasn't promoted to us, though.

All in all, it was a lovely stay. The issues with breakfast were little niggles but hugely outweighed by the great service in other aspect and comfort.

That said, if it were a choice between returning to either Nira Caledonia and The Howard I think I'd stay at the latter but dine at both.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealEdinLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, you have obviously departed feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your overall experience, and as a valued guest, I was disappointed to read your comments that you may not return to Nira Caledonia when you next visit Edinburgh. I have spoken to our Maintenance Engineer regarding the hook in the bathroom and we will ensure that this is replaced. With regards to your disappointment with breakfast both with the quality of the hot breakfast and the lack of service. I do apologise for this and have spoken to our Restaurant Manager to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for your wonderful comments about Robbie and Peter which I have passed on. It is always nice to receive such positive feedback about your colleagues. I do hope you do consider Nira Caledonia for a future visit and give us the opportunity to show you that this has been a unique occurance and that the enjoyment of your stay is of the utmost importance to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia soon.
Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a two night stay at the Nira Caledonia, late January. The staff were extremely friendly and so helpful. The room was luxury at its best, couldn't have asked for more. Had a meal in the restaurant and breakfast each morning, the food was fabulous and the scottish breakfast will set you up for the rest of the day. The location is brilliant the city is all within walking distance.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrots8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast, fabulous dinner in Blackwood's Restaurant to the peace and tranquillity of our location. Your comments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness you experienced from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our first trip ever to Edinburgh and we couldn't have asked for a better place! The property is quaint and just what one imagines Georgian houses would be like. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully done.

The best part was the little garden and the back. It had a pretty lawn and some place to sit. Even the common dining parlour was cozy. Neither the other guests nor the staff were intrusive, which made this a very pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and gave us tips on places to visit and things to do. We were there during the Fringe festival and were able to navigate easily.

The hotel is a short walk - about 10 minutes - from Prince's Street and the Royal Mile. There are many cafes, bars and restaurants close by, which made it really convenient for us. The breakfast was included in the price of the room. It was a typical continental affair, with the option to order eggs. They also had a full Scottish breakfast.

Although our room was slightly pricey, it was worth it. Edinburgh was our first stop in a two-week long trip across Europe and staying at Nira Caledonia set us off on a high note! We’re definitely going back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floors have little gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and location. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner purchased a voucher for a two night stay with dinner on one evening. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly man who led us to reception, where we were efficiently checked in and shown to our room.

The room itself was on the basement level and led out onto a patio/garden. As part of our package we had champagne and roses awaiting us. The room had a coffee machine, ipod docking station and reasonably priced mini bar. The bathroom was well equipped with pleasant cosmetics and fluffy towels.

We had to take our dinner on the Saturday evening not the Sunday as we had hoped. This is because the restaurant closes on a Sunday. However, it wasn't too much of a problem. The food was tasty and presented nicely although the set voucher menu was a little limited. The waiter was very attentive and we really enjoyed our evening there.

Both breakfasts we had were lovely. We opted for the continental on the first morning and the full Scottish on the second. Great selection of foods, juices and coffee.

The staff are a credit to the hotel, they made us feel very welcome. We requested extra coffee and wine glasses from reception and on both occasions they were delivered very quickly. The service truly was wonderful.

The location of the hotel is great, the Stockbridge area is steeped in beautiful architecture and it is a pleasant 10 min walk into Edinburgh city centre.

We recommend that you go to the deli market on a Sunday. (down the road by the hotel).

We can't wait to visit Edinburgh again and we will most definitely stay at the Nira Caledonia when we do!

Many thanks

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast to the peace and tranquillity of our location. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013 sometime soon.

Kindest regards
Janette Napier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

These hotel is absolutely amazing place! Everything is perfect)
View from the window, location, nice bed, lovely bath, furniture))) everything in nice style, look like in palace, but elegant!) very nice stuff!)
It was my 1 trip to Scotland and my boyfriend organise everything so lovely)))) cant wait to come back

Room Tip: Take camera!))))
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the decor and furniture of your room and the location of the hotel. They are really appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013 sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Mixed feelings about this hotel, to be honest. It is located just outside the city centre and it will take you about 10' by foot to get to the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh. Staff was friendly, but I would not say they tried to be personal in their approach.
We got an upgrade to one of the suites and there my first impression was a bit of a let-down. The suite itself was very spacious, but it was located in the 'basement' and even if the view was that of the garden, the suite gave a somewhat darkish impression. The bathroom was, compared to the suite, extremely small, even though all comfort was available.
Temperatures were below zero at the time and there was a terrible draft in the room. The door giving access to the garden was half-broken and closing the suite securely was not possible due to that.
Would I go back to the hotel when visiting Edinburgh ? Hum ... not sure, but I do not think so. Too many setbacks and I am sure one can find an equally qualititive hotel in the area. You may say, the negative points are mere details, but for an SLH venue (www.slh.com), the bar cannot be raised enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo21Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, you have obviously departed feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your overall experience, and as a valued guest, I was disappointed to read your comments that you may not return. I can confirm that the door to the garden has now been fixed. I do hope that you reconsider returning to the hotel and we would be delighted to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Janette Napier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing