We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Responded amazingly to some minor complaints”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Responded amazingly to some minor complaints”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent a lot of time researching hotels for a special trip to celebrate my 30th birthday. I settled on the Nira Caledonia but as it was quite pricey only booked a petite double.

There were some minor issues on the first night, which were annoying, and would have caused me to write quite a negative review. However I did the thing that most hotel owners on TripAdvisor ask guests to do - to let them know of issues at the time, rather than by leaving a bad review. I am so glad I did - because the managers went above and beyond by fixing these small things and turned an average trip to a fantastic one. Erwin and James were amazing and made it all better!

We loved the location - it was less than 10 mins to walk to Princes Street, and Stockbridge is a lovely area (go to Bell's Diner for burgers!). I think the rooms are probably all quite different as they are spread over 2 Georgian townhouses. There was a loud snorer in the next room but not much anyone can do about that!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind and positive review of our boutique hotel in Edinburgh.

I was delighted that you took the time to make your comments to me during your stay. I was also delighted to read that you felt our actions turned an average stay into a fantastic one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia in the near future. At such a time, please do let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    236
    70
    22
    12
See reviews for
92
737
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night in the Scott suite. The suite consisted of a living room with large tv, bathroom with jacuzzi and bedroom with massive unbelievably comfortable bed. In addition to this we had a private garden thought the weather was bad so we couldn't enjoy it, it looked lovely though.

From the moment we walked in to the hotel we were impressed. The decor is lovely and although we didn't use the Restuarant it looked really nice. The room itself was amazing and very clean, with great books on the desk with ideas of local things to enjoy including art galleries and restuarants. We had breakfast in bed and it was on time and very nice. Our only complaint is that we couldn't get the DVD player to work. Though I will say we didn't Ask anyone to help, so I'm sure it did work. The area the hotel is in is really nice. Close to the city centre and stockbridge. Found a nice bar called igluu nearby which sells art work and bought a nice wee picture. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I visited Edinburgh for the first time and therefore wanted to be in a great location. I prefer small hotels with a more personal service and attention to details. Nira Caledonia was the perfect find. David prepared delicious dishes at dinner time while the rest of the team was always very alert and ready to help. My suite had a lovely private garden ideal for the sunny long days in the summer. I will return and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaLyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Edinburgh with a friend on Thursday July 28th. We had booked two petite doubles for a one night stay as we were going to see a show. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we knew we had made the right decision. A beautiful Georgian building set the scene for the character we were to experience inside. Our rooms were right at the top of the building and the views made the climb up the stairs worthwhile! Classical music was playing in the room as we entered and the nespresso machine was soon in use. Although it was petite everything had its place and was perfectly formed. The ensuite was lovely with a bath and an excellent shower over. The towels were huge and the toiletries just lovely. The staff couldn't have been more obliging and genuinely friendly. That was so true of the bar man who served us on our return from the theatre. It was at that point we discovered there were no trains in or out of Scotland. We went to bed relatively unphased and watched the news the following morning. We made the decision to stay an extra night if at all possible. We knew they were probably full.The staff couldn't have done more for us and were given the same rooms for a second night. As a result we had a very enjoyable second day in Edinburgh. Breakfast was special, from the food to the service. The bed, bedlinen and pillows were exceptional.This hotel provides a very special experience for guests and I cannot rate it highly enough. The distance from the station to the hotel and then into the Playhouse, the Castle was perfect and we enjoyed the walk. We are already planning a return visit in the not too distant future. Next time we might eat in the restaurant in the evening as well. Thank you to all the staff at the Nira Caledonia, keep doing what you do so well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DylanDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel was absolutely amazing. Though it has no lifts, as it is a Grade-A listed building, it has immense character. The rooms are stunning with wonderful amenities. The rooms do vary in size, however, and unfortunately we were given one on the smaller sized, which seemed a bit cramped for a couple. Despite a request for a transfer, and rooms being available on the night, we were not given another one - which is the reason for the demoted rating. However, the hotel is 5-star in every other way. The hotel is situated near the Botanical Gardens, and an easy 15-20 minute walk to the Royal Mile. The hotel does strive to make a wonderful experience for the guests - when you enter your room, you are greeted with classical music. The rooms have high Georgian walls, so you do not feel too claustrophobic, even though we were in a petite room. The bed is very comfortable, and the en-suite bath, though again on the small size, was very modern. I would stay here again in a future trip to Edinburgh, though I was a bit put off about not being re-assigned another room as mentioned above.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Battolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind and positive review of our boutique hotel in Edinburgh, Nira Caledonia.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyable stay with us and I'm sorry that we were unable to allocate you a different room when you request one. I can assure you that it is our practice to change guest rooms, if for any reason the room assigned is not suitable and we have rooms available.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and if I can be of any assistance with your next stay, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
159 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Only stayed here for one night but I was so well looked after by the staff I wished I was staying for longer! From the moment my taxi pulled up outside, I couldn't have wished for better service. The property itself is an absolute delight - very charming, loads of character, beautifully decorated. I didn't have a suite, just a standard double on the 2nd floor, which wasn't huge to be fair but seriously well kitted out with creature comforts you wouldn't even see in a suite at a Hilton! I had dinner in the restuarant which was not what I would describe hotel food - it was superb; a well thought out menu, beautifully cooked to perfection, with a fabulous wine list to accompany it and staff knowledgeable about what wine suited which meal (tell me a hotel under £100 per night that does that?!). Dinner service was at a relaxed pace, you weren't rushed but equally you weren't neglected. If you are looking for a sterotypical bland hotel chain affair, stay here to redicover what customer service is really all about. Equally, if you want to be well looked after, well fed, get a great night's sleep, feel spoiled by waking up to your own nespresso machine with classic fm on in the background, book the Nira Caledonia, you won't be disappointed...by the way you'll see my reviews that I rarely offer an 'Excellent' score, but this hotel truely deserves it.

Room Tip: I don't think you'll get a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissV-MiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for you taking the time to post your review of our boutique hotel, Nira Caledonia Edinburgh.

I have passed your comments on to our team and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our Chef was particularly grateful and says "THANK YOU"!!!

I look forward to welcoming in the near future and in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and myself stayed for two nights in the Wilson Suite last week. The suite comprised a very large bedroom and a sitting area with a leather sofa and coffee table at one end. The bathroom was rather small but absolutely fabulous. We had dinner with wine on one night and the chef was also the waiter so the food was piping hot when it came to the table and was one of the best meals I have ever eaten. Breakfast was rather special too. All the staff we met were friendly but professional. Other reviewers have mentioned that it was quite a walk into town from the hotel but we didn't think so. Perhaps the other people are used to driving everywhere, whereas we walk a lot anyway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your very kind and positive review of Nira Caledonia, Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you like the large Suite and sitting area in the room allocated. I was sorry that you felt that the bathroom was small. I assure you that as with most Edinburgh Boutique Hotels, and as one of the many listed buildings, each room is unique in configuration and shape thus giving our customers a real boutique feeling.

I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, but in the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing