We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel i've ever stayed in!!”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in my time and especially in Edinburgh but i was blown away by every aspect of my stay at this wonderful hotel. Firstly the service that i received on arrival was outstanding, professional, friendly and immediately gave me the impression that i was staying in a really special place and the room did not disappoint. I was shown to one of the jacuzzi suites which is stunning. Everything about the room is fabulous especially the jacuzzi which my only grumble is that it takes a while to fill up but this is minor.
I was meant to stay for one night but loved the room so much that i asked to stay for another night which the reception staff, Erwin sorted out for me promptly. So i am also getting to stay tonight which i am loving!!
Would definitely recommend to anyway above the Sheraton, Malmaison, Hilton. It's the best hotel i've stayed in, in Edinburgh and very reasonably priced.
I hope to return again at some point in the future. Keep up the good work Nira Caledonia!!

Room Tip: 1011 has a great view of Gloucester Place.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amccabe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you for posting your very positive review about Nira Caledonia on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to read such nice comments about our team, service and rooms.

We look forward to welcome back to your Edinburgh home in the near future.

Kindest regards,

James Lane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Nira Caledonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank kitkat1962
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Where to start! We had a jacuzzi suite. It comprised of 4 rooms, one dedicated entirely to a jacuzzi room. Massively comfy bead, such friendly helpful and efficient staff, lovely touches like nespresso machine (with the coffees thoughtfully refilled during an evening turn down of the room). Next time in Edinburgh I will not even be looking for alternatives, why when you can stay in such luxury at a really reasonable price. My only negatives would be parking is not ideal. Expensive on street and you have to move the car after 4 hours, and it is a slight walk to all the main sites, but to be honest, it wouldn't have the same great townhouse feel if it was any more central. We truly loved this place

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for posting your very kind and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

All the team here at Nira Caledonia, Edinburgh were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I was also please that you liked your Jacuzzi Suite and our new Nespresso machines which we have placed in every hotel room.

I was sorry to read that you thought the ample on street parking outside the hotel was expensive at £1.60 per hour. I can assure you that our street is competitive compared to other more commercial areas in Edinburgh.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime if I can be of any assistance, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed at the Nira Caledonia from Thursday 8th March 2012 for two nights. We arrived just after 11.00am and obviously we knew our room would not be ready but there was no problem in leaving our luggage until we returned later.

When we did get back to the hotel later in the afternoon, check in was dealt with smoothly and our luggage taken to our room. The executive room was amazing with a nice sized bedroom, separate large room with a jacuzzi bath and then a bahroom with a lovely shower etc. It was beautifully furnished and was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast on both mornings were very good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

As our train back was not leaving Edinburgh until 6.00pm again there was no problem in leavng our luggage.

This was our first time at this hotel and we plan to vist Edinburgh again later this year and would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Choose and Executive Room or Suite
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLTN477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Nira Caledonia, Edinburgh on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read you had such a good time with us and that you liked your Executive room.

I have passed your comment on about the breakfast to the team and they are so pleased you enjoyed it.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and at such a time, if I can be of assistance, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night last week. I had been once before, we always go for a room with a hot tub as they are amazing!
Friendly & helpful staff, Our room was downstairs and had it's own garden with patio doors. The bed & pillows are the most comfortable I have ever experienced, Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Hot tub is a must
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenBrodie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Thank you for posting your very positive and kind review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you continue to enjoy your stays at Nira Caledonia Edinburgh.

We are also delighted that you liked your new bed. The bed you had was a lamb’s wool quilted 2,000 pocket luxury bed which has been covered with a Goose feather and Down topper. In addition to this, we have also placed new Goose feather and Down pillows and duvet for that extra feeling of luxury and comfort. The level of comfort you experienced in your room is present in all 28 of our guest rooms at Nira Caledonia.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do let me know.

Kind regards,

James Lane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. When phoning to arrange some details, I found the staff to be courteous.

On arrival, we were given a warm welcome and shown to a room in the basement of the second building. As the view was of a garden, we found this fine.

At first glance, the room seemed well appointed but as I frequently stay in 5 star hotels around the world it soon became apparent that this is closer to 4*.

The finish of the 'newly decorated' room was poor. The wallpaper was badly hung. The wall next to the bed was splattered with liquid. The wardrobe did not close without brute force. The bottom of the shower screen had mildew on it. The shower head did not remain fixed when in use.

The room also had a massive skylight with no visible means of closing the blind. Which means that people in other rooms/buildings could easily see into the room.

The room had been partitioned and the dividing wall was thin. So providing a iPod dock in each room was not a blessing as we were kept up but the party going on it the next room.

I had ordered a bottle of champagne on the 1st day, which as arranged was in our room on arrival. What we didn't expect was to find the same finished bottle with ice bucket and dirty glasses, left in the room the next day after it had supposedly been cleaned.

While it maybe a 5 minute walk downhill from George St to the hotel. It certainly is not a 5 minute walk on the way back up. Be prepared for a bit of a hike!

I also found it really odd when I had asked for cooked breakfasts on both days and then wanted to change to a continental on day 2. Only to be told that the amount had already been 'posted', so I could have the continental but would have to pay for a cooked meal! This really isn't 5* service.

All in all, this hotel is just ok.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ledonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Nira Caledonia Edinburgh on Trip Advisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to profusely apologise for the gaps in the service and product that you received during your short stay. I can assure you that this not up to our usual high standards and I have addressed all the points you have raised to ensure that a repeat does not occur.

I would be grateful if you would give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and as such, I would ask that you contact me directly so I may personally make the arrangement for your next visit at Nira Caledonia, Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

we have been here about 4 times now ,in past few years ,we stay in same room twice and then room down stairs ,this is wonderful hotel and love rooms are so nice , we were here on 10 july 2011 we had great time this was our honeymoon at time we had great time ,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Nira Caledonia Edinburgh on tripadvisor.

I was delight to read your positive comments and that your continue to enjoy your stays with us. I have passed them on to the whole team and everyone was really pleased!

I look forward to welcoming you back to your Edinburgh home in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $156 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing