We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel a few little things.”
Review of Ben Craig House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ben Craig House
Ranked #310 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel a few little things.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during the Fringe, got a cracking deal on price and got a massive family room right at the front to go with it. Do be aware of the advanced purchase rate when we booked on LateRooms.

Room: The room was furnished beautifully with a very much old fashioned look, (looking very closely there was some wear an tear on where people have abused it) The bed was massive and quite comfortable with some spare pillows hidden away in the cupboard, got a good dressing table with plenty of mirrors to be able to beautify ourselves.

The people who worked there were very friendly upon arrival we were greeted by what we assume is the manager of the hotel and was prepared with everything we need to get started in the room. He even kept our bags locked up securely after we checked out so we could explore more of the city and the zoo.

The Location of the Hotel is perfect right on the main road that connects to the train station, this is a long walk especially with bags but a good way to start looking around the city since the road is completely straight, a bus stop right outside the hotel was handy as well using the 31 lothian bus service we could pretty much quickly cart ourselves too and from the hotel.

The hotel being next to the road we did get some road and people noise but this didn't really bother us at all but this could be an issue with some other.

Would and probably will stay here again.

Martin

Room Tip: Family Room was massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    19
    13
    12
See reviews for
16
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend as it was very close to where I needed to be. The room was a good size as it was a triple room. Bathroom small and once you flushed the toilet it took about 5 mins for the pipes ect to stop making a noise not much use in the middle of the night. The light switch for the bed wall light was behind the headboard so I had to pull the head board out to use the switch not the best idea. The room was clean and I found the staff friendly and obliging. The only other thing was breakfast which was fine it is just the time it's served 8-9 only that's weekends too. Just a bit to expensive at £180 for 2 nights .

Room Tip: Ask for one upstairs as the downstairs are either next to front door, kitchen or dining room a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dak40_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very nice and peaceful, very clean and tidy the only problem i had was we were in room number seven so we were right next to the kitchin and music was playing it was very annoying.....would liked to have been in a room upstairs..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezz211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ben Craig house is located about 2 miles from Edinburgh old town centre. It's an average walk slightly uphill, or you can catch the bus which stops conveniently outside every 10 minutes. The house is an old stone manor with several tastefully decorated large rooms. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and despite a busy road out the front, we hardly heard any traffic and had a wonderfully restful sleep.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, pointing out the local areas to visit and how to get there. We didn't have breakfast, but it certainly smelled good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannefarrell955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The pillow cases were dirty with snot. When I asked for a clean pillow the staff were less than friendly. The TV did not work, WIFI was not working either. The light bulb by the bed had blown, when I asked for a replacement the man asked me "what have u done to it?". Very dusty too. When I asked for a blanket because te room was so cold te gave me wat looked like a dogs blanket. Would never recommend this place and don't understand hw it's a 4 star, I'd class it 1.5 stars

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belvedere8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben c, General Manager at Ben Craig House, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Respected Guest
All of our team try very hard to make all guests as comfortable as possible whilst staying with us (as previous reviewers have stated). We would like to emphasis all issues ???? that you brought to our attention were rectified immediately and to your satisfaction. It is very unfortunate that you have endeavoured to highly exaggerate your experience with us via these negative views
General Manager
Ben Craig House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying here during the first leg of my trip to Scotland... It's everything I wanted in a B&B. The price is right.
The location is good. It's about a 35 minute walk for me to the Royal Mile- admittedly I have long legs and am fairly fit so it was easy for me... If walking isn't your thing, don't worry! Ben Craig house is on a major bus route, and you just step out the door and walk across the street, hop on any bus going by and your in the heart of town in 5-10 minutes. I'm not used to taking public transit, and it was not an issue at all.
I was greeted warmly at the desk by the owner, and they have answered all my questions no problem.
I'm staying in room 5, which is a double with a twin. The room isn't huge, but for one its great, for 2 it would be cozy but still comfortable. The room is spotlessly clean, decor tasteful and includes hair drier, tv, alarm clock, kettle and FREE wifi. The washroom is small- I'm quite tall, and had to watch my elbows when shampooing, but otherwise it was again completely functional, and impeccably clean. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here agin, or recommend it to anyone!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect, with a bus stop on your doorstep with a brilliant bus service. We opted not to have breakfast so can't comment on the food. The room was nice, although it wasn't cleaned fantasticly well. Friendly staff. We got this as a late room deal so was worth the £35pn. Probably wouldn't of paid much more for it. Overall not a bad place to spend the night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poweredbypasties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#103 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Craig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Craig House

Property: Ben Craig House
Address: 3 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Craig House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ben Craig Guest House provides you with the best of Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Scotland's capital city, Edinburgh. We deliver only the highest standards and warmest welcome to all of our customers, making them feel at home in our Victorian building which is fully fitted with original period décor and quality soft furnishings.Our convenient position in the south side of the city means that you are within reasonable walking distance of many of Edinburgh's top tourist attractions, including the historic Old Town, the Scottish Parliament Buildings, Holyrood Palace, various galleries and Edinburgh Castle. Ben Craig Guest House also offers you secure car parking at the front and rear of the house, free on street parking, and the easy option of public transport, allowing you to leave your car and enjoy a stress free day in the capital. You will also benefit from the extensive variety of restaurants, shops and bars situated nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ben Craig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Craig House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Craig House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing