We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Ard-na-said

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ard-na-said
Ranked #13 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ideal location ,Easy access to all amenities.Great hosts,very helpful and welcoming.Who could ask for more.Would highly recommend.My partner is not very good on his legs so Olive and Jim arranged for us to have a ground floor room, it was perfect ,large very comfortable and airy with a great bathroom.Everything you could wish for.We stayed a week but would happily have stayed longer if it had been at all possible.My partner is Spanish and to help make him feel at home he was greeted with a buenos dias every morning.A nice little extra touch.Thank you Jim and Olive.

Room Tip: I am sure that all the rooms would be perfect/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 382 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our 3 night stay at Ard Na Said was very enjoyable. Olive and Jim were gracious hosts and we loved the spacious and well-appointed room. Everything was spotless and the breakfasts were exceptionally good. We enjoy walking and found the location of Ard Na Said close enough to the Royal Mile that it took us about 25 minutes to get there from the B & B. We walked to all the venues we wanted to see, as well as to three different restaurants for dinners during the visit. There are several good restaurants close to Ard Na Said, and the ones Olive recommended to us were very good and the prices were very reasonable. We would recommend Ard Na Said to anyone who is visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The area in which the B & B is located is quite quiet, and although our room overlooked the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved Olive and Jim's hospitality and home, we could not have asked for more the room was amazing and so spacious and even our own little space outside to sit and chill. Breakfast was lovely also salmon and scrambled eggs every day yummy!! And full Scottish for the hubby. Thanks Jim and Olive sure we will be back xx 10/10

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Jim and Olive's wonderful house was our home for 3 nights whilst we visited Edinburgh. Their hospitality and warm welcome met us when we arrived and stayed until we left. The bedrooms are immaculate and the breakfasts cover everyone's personal tastes. Coupled with Jim's humour in the mornings, the days started in great shape and continued all weekend. Thanks you two.

Room Tip: Bus service in and out of Edinburgh cheap and frequent. Taxis expensive but again plentiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed two nights and loved this B&B. It has a bright, airy feel and is beautifully decorated. The bedroom was very roomy for the three in our family and the en suite bathroom was very modern and spacious. I appreciated the large, fluffy towels! Breakfast was delicious. The Lyons' were friendly and helpful hosts. They have a list in the room of nearby restaurants and cafes and Mrs. Lyons helped us figure out which bus to take. The B&B is an easy bus ride to the Royal Mile and not a bad walk (unless you're in a big hurry). We walked from the B&B to Holyrood Palace in about 20 minutes or less.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merrie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My mother and I stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast this past July. Our room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. Our room had all the amenities and then some (free wifi that worked without a hitch, tea, tv, clean and comfortable beds. We had our own bathroom which included fancy shampoos and soaps. The hosts were genuinely friendly, efficient, helpful, but not obtrusive. Breakfast was served on time with a wide selection of choices. The house is located on a quiet street, just steps away from the bus. It's an easy bus ride to the Royal Mile, but we decided to walk (about 25 minutes). I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

we recently stayed at this quality B+B its a lovely setting for your stay in Edinburgh, although it is a bus ride to get into the city.
the host were very nice and jim is quite funny,
overall Beautiful room, nice hosts, other guest were very nice too. I would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone . if you need any questions answered just contact me on jonespucker1@gmail.com. Happy Memories!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jones212676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,040 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 394 in Edinburgh
738 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#15 of 394 in Edinburgh
516 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
781 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 394 in Edinburgh
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $78 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing