We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ard-na-said

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-said
Ranked #25 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent two nights in the Wallace room which is huge and beautiful. The in-room tea/hot chocolate service and cookies was a nice touch. The room was very quiet and dark. Our only complaint was that the bed wasn't very comfortable. The four-poster was so grand and beautiful I was very surprised that the mattress wasn't comfortable to match. I realize that everyone's tastes in mattresses are different and it's hard to please everyone- but I'm the type of person that can sleep on just about anything, so if I notice it, it's a big deal. The Wi-Fi was fast and reliable. The location isn't super close to the main part of town, but it's only a short walk to the bus and we had no issues navigating the bus system - it gets you to attractions very quickly. Breakfast was wonderful - Smoked salmon and eggs was so yummy! And having a private car park was a bonus. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaeCBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    42
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
156
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked here as no room in my usual place which is very good. The room was very well equipped and comfortable. Often a single room may be a bit cramped but this was a normal double. The breakfasts were delicious and I will certainly visit again. The one problem I had was very quickly and efficiently dealt with. Happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Ard Na Said for three nights over the Hogmanay New year's celebration. Jim and Olive were extremely inviting and warm. They took very good care of us. We loved the beautiful room with it's high ceilings and large windows. We stayed in the Burns suite. The bed was extremely comfortable, best bed in all of the UK! The B/B is super easy to get to by bus or taxi. Great location, and very quiet! We loved exploring the area and local cuisine! We will definitely be back! We highly recommend the Ard Na Said to anyone traveling to Edinburgh. Cannot say enough about this place!

Room Tip: The Burns suite is extremely comfortable. It's on the front side of the house, but it's extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollytancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We loved our 3-night stay at the elegant Ard-na-said B&B over the New Year's holiday. Hosts Jim and Olive were wonderful - so kind and welcoming. The house is just beautiful - we stayed in the Stevenson and Scott rooms and they were spacious with wonderful high ceilings and lots of natural light. We took advantage of the free WIFI, the TV/DVD player with DVD collection, and the in-room tea service which included hot chocolate and cookies. The breakfast room was delightful and breakfast was delicious - with options of a full Scottish breakfast, generous continental breakfast, porridge, salmon/cream cheese on a muffin, fresh fruit. All very delicious! The breakfast room also functioned as a lounge where we could relax in the evening and use the laptop. Each room had a notebook with area information and restaurant suggestions which we used on several occasions. Jim and Olive thought of everything, right down to the little bowl of candy by the front door. We loved this place so much and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Edinburgh. The only downside is that it spoiled us for any other B&Bs on our trip!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sherdon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and it was great! In a lovely, quiet neighborhood with lots of restaurants.
The hosts, Jim and Olive were wonderful to us and so accommodating, breakfast was delicious in a comfortable room. We had a nice room on the first floor with a large bathroom, clean and relaxing. Would encourage anyone to stay here even though it is a bit from the center but bus service is great...you can catch the bus right across the street. Tom & Ginnie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nearing the end of an extended vacation We chose Ardnasaid B&B as our accommodation in Edinborough.The elegant house is well located minutes by bus( stop at street corner) from the downtown and a short walk from several excellent eateries. Our room the Wallace is the largest and we beleive best in the house ;beautifully appointed with a 4 post oversized King bed;modern bath and a street view. James and Olive Lyons though typical understated Scots are very helpful and knowlegeable hosts.Highly recommended B&B.

Room Tip: Wallace room is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My traveling companion and I selected this on the basis of reviews on TripAdvisor and the RS guidebook. The house is beautiful and the rooms spacious. Breakfast comparable to other places we stayed in Scotland. Overall, a decent higher end B & B. But all things considered, if one is traveling without a car, I'd recommend something closer in. Taxis in Edinburgh are expensive and while I am all for using public transportation, during the two days we were there, the taxi ride added $20-$40 to the tariff both days, which makes this a pricey option. The first night we had a fancy dinner and I was not about to climb on the bus all tarted up. The second day (Sunday) we booked the 8:45 am Hairy Coo tour, which necessitated a taxi due to the early hour. While there are some places to eat within walking distance, it is a long walk when you're hungry. Edinburgh is a beautiful city with many accommodations and next time I'll be staying in a different neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HVane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliveEdinburgh, Owner at Ard-na-said, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Cannot understand the comments made regards the distance from the centre, we clearly state on our web page that we are 1.5 miles from the centre and our location is shown on the bing map so I do not know what else can be done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmarAgua Guest House
AmarAgua Guest House
#50 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunedin Guest House
Dunedin Guest House
#133 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#77 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#69 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#31 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Property: Ard-na-said
Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing