We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming!”
Review of Ard-na-said

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ard-na-said
Ranked #13 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Many thanks to Jim and Olive for the warm welcome of their home and guesthouse, Ard-na-said. We arrived rather late 7 days ago and were warmly welcomed by Olive, who had waited several hours for our arrival. We had booked The Wallace Room and were overwhelmed by it's grand and beautiful space. It became a haven of quiet and peace at the end of each busy day in Edinburgh. There were so many thoughtful touches in the room... DVDs, wash clothes, special aromatic body washes and lotions, soft and plush towels, robes and slippers, and lovely bed linens. Breakfasts were hot and tasty and were served in a spacious breakfast room on the main floor. We had booked our stay at Ard-na-said 5 months in advance to ensure 7 nights in the same room and the same guest house; we were so glad that we had taken the time to do that. We loved the location because it was off Dalkeith Road on a quiet street and only a 25 minute walk into the Old Town. We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone travelling to Edinburgh on business or pleasure. Bravo! Carolyn and Robért

Room Tip: The Wallace room is grand and spacious. Street noise was minimal. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynduerksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful house for 3 nights from August 3rd. We were very pleasantly surprised by the splendour of the house. It is beautifully decorated with many of the original features preserved. We stayed in the Burns room which had a lovely large en-suite bathroom & a great sized room with very comfortable bed.
My sister & her husband stayed in the Wallis room with its huge four poster bed.
Breakfast was wonderful & served by our very cheerful host, Jim.
Jim & Olive were very welcoming & always willing to help & advise.
There is a bus stop into town at the top of the road & we had no problems getting around the area by public transport.
Very highly recommended!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful but the Wallace has a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

In planning the trip for our 36th wedding anniversary to Scotland, I was reluctant to stay at a B&B because we typically stay in Marriott-type hotels (Courtyard and the like); but my wife really wanted to stay at a Scottish B&B, so I began a thorough web search for possibilities--a near impossible task. I saw on Trip Advisor that Ard Na Said (Scottish gaelic for Arthur's Seat, the tall peak in Edinburgh that can be hiked/climbed for an awesome view) had received pretty good reviews and was in a good location, just 20 min away from the town center via bus. I am so happy I agreed to not only stay at a B&B, but, in particular, THIS B&B. Jim and Olive, the gracious hosts, are wonderful people and will tend to your every need. The breakfast selections are excellent as well. We sampled smoked salmon, haggis, black (and white) pudding, and other items. We stayed in "The Wallace," which they advertise as their best room. It was incredible. Four-poster bed, en suite (i.e., private) modernized bathroom with shower, incredible views, including one of Arthur's Seat. Very easily accessible by several of the city busses. I strongly recommend Ard Na Said and will gladly return here if we ever re-visit Scotland.

Room Tip: Go for The Wallace; however, I suspect their other rooms are superb and can be viewed on Ard Na Said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millerdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I came to Edinburgh for an academic conference and looked for a place nearby the university. Ard-na-said seemed to be well located, and, indeed, it was a two minutes walking distance from the conference center. It was also within a very short bus drive from the city center, and there were plenty of shops and restaurants in the neighborhood as well. As it was a bit off the main road, it was quieter than most B&B and guest houses in the neighborhood. Thus, overall it was in a perfect location.
I stayed here for five nights, and enjoyed it a lot! My room was specious and beautifully decorated, with free wi fi, TV, and coffee maker. The bathroom was new and well equipped, and the bed was very comfortable. It was well noticed that a lot of attention was given to the small details. The breakfast was nice, and was served in a beautiful dining room. It was a pleasant way to start a long conference day.
To summarize, this place is warmly recommended for visitors of the University of Edinburgh and / or for tourists that are willing to stay a bit off the city center.
IMPORTANT: The price was fair, yet, if you make reservation DIRECTLY and not through one of the agencies you can save 10-15%!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our first trip to Scotland (it was a 20th anniversary splurge), and we don't think we could have picked a better place to stay than Jim & Olive's B&B! Perfect location, loved that it was a little off the street so it was quieter, but a 5 minute bus ride (1.4 pounds) to the City Center. We also walked it easily in 20 minutes. Great breakfast (lots of food!). We stayed in the Wallace room, which had a stunning view of Arthur's Seat out the side window (when it wasn't raining, of course!) Of the five places we stayed during our trip, the bed was most comfortable here. When our plans changed last minute, Jim and Olive were able to accommodate us another night. We stayed 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh! Great restaurants nearby, favorites were Salisbury Arms and Heller's Kitchen. Note: the wifi was occasionally and briefly intermittent, not sure the reason; we managed to get connected each night

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JocelynBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Off street parking very important. Real close to bus lines or short taxi ride. House very well appointed and very clean. Host went above and beyond to make our stay very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Overall experience was great.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the ground floor, but all the rooms we had were very well appointed. We chose not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeygs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This guest house is in a quiet location with easy access to the centre of Edinburgh by bus. My room was comfortable and clean with a modern bathroom and the standard of food at breakfast was good. Breakfast was served by the proprietor, who was friendly and helpful.

However, if you choose to stay here, I would strongly recommend that you specify your requirements very clearly and follow up any booking with an e-mail or another 'phone call.

On 5 March 2012 we made a booking secured by credit card for 2 single women requiring a room each, one for 3 nights and the other for 2 nights. An e-mail address for confirmation was neither requested nor offered. We explained the circumstances and were given advice and directions for one of us arriving from Copenhagen on the Friday and the other arriving from Newcastle on the Saturday morning. When I arrived on the Friday evening, one room was available for me, but I was told there was no other room for my friend for the following night.

When my friend arrived on the Saturday, she was offered a put-me-up in my room. This was not suitable as we had booked singles because one of us snores. So our holiday began with the prospect of searching for another room. The city was very busy due to a marathon taking place, but fortunately a room was found nearby.

We were later offered a room for my friend at Ard-na-said for her second night at a specified cost. However, when the proprietress asked what my friend was paying elsewhere, she tried to increase her own price. Not surprisingly, my friend decided to stay at her alternative accommodation for the 2 nights.

Mistakes can be made, but the rude and defensive attitude of the proprietress would preclude a return visit to this guest house.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
Fraoch House
#7 of 396 in Edinburgh
786 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 396 in Edinburgh
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#9 of 396 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#14 of 396 in Edinburgh
547 reviews
94DR
#4 of 396 in Edinburgh
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $66 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing