We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to good reputation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House
Ranked #115 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lived up to good reputation”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Claymore is a lovely vegetarian B&B with an old-fashioned atmosphere. Hospitality is in focus, with real care from the hosts and great attention to the small details, from a bounty of hot drinks to umbrellas or ear plugs (some rooms face the street and there is occasional traffic noise) - the small but important comforts and considerations.

Breakfast is generous, varied and high quality, with a choice of breads, spreads, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals and a cooked option as well - eggs are a staple, and only the bacon and sausage are missing for carnivores, with halloumi and the usual beans/tomato/potatoes/tattie scone/mushrooms making up the sides.

Also old-fashioned is their cash only policy, and wifi coverage that is largely limited to the front breakfast room of the house, but dodgy wireless coverage is the case in much of Edinburgh, and the front room was always available for use.

Another plus is a local bus stop being directly outside the door, making the centre of town a very quick and easy trip away, handy if the famous rain is present. Princes Street is about a 15 minute walk, and the neighborhood is peaceful. A taxi ride from the Old Town is about £6, not including tip.

The rooms are large and furnished in style, with flatscreen TVs and satellite channels alongside vintage furniture and artwork. Not all rooms are ensuite.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xlondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you xlondoner for your honest appraisal. We appreciate you taking the time to review us ;-)

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
43
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We loved this B&B, the room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated and it was close to the city centre but still nice and quiet (squirrels in the garden too). The breakfast was amazing - what a choice, we had omelettes and they were lovely. Cathy is a darling and genuinly cares about her guests. We would definately recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you much for your review The B ... I am blushing! Glad you enjoyed your stay and our squirrels too ;-)

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We incidently booked into Claymore Vegetarian Guesthouse and were warmly welcomed by Cathy, who showed us our roomy room with large beds and en-suite bathroom.
Excellently located to discover Edinburgh, free parking on the road, a copious breakfast to start the day - and yes, it was very good despite being vegetarian (I might be converted one day if all meals could be as good as the breakfasts served at Claymore).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us CedricVandermeulen, we appreciate it ;-) We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfasts and survived the lack of bacon and sausage!

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Thank you so much for the lovely welcome and hospitality, Cathy - and the sustaining breakfast, John! My room was quiet, comfortable, and homely. Claymore is a splendid base from which to explore both the city centre and the wider area. Great value and so convenient, with parking and public transport at the door. I look forward to having an excuse to come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank learnernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you Learnernz, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. We really appreciate you taking the time to review us ;-)

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Granted, you can get a Vegetarian breakfast almost everywhere- but I don't know another place where the owners get up at 5:45, in time to make you coffee (with a choice of soy milk, if preferred) and cereals, on a Sunday, because you want to run a marathon. My only regret is that I couldn't sample their full breakfast menu before running - I'll have to come back for that another time.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Querfeldein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed here on a trip up to botanic gardens. None of us are veggie but we were recommended the place and for ease decided to try it rather than search out another place that did meaty breakfasts. We had a great trip and the Claymore made the perfect base. Great rooms, good location, lovely host and fantastic breakfast. Didn't miss the swine one bit!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomMatthews79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I had a wonderful, relaxing time in this B&B. Everything about the stay was lovely and I would recommend it to anyone wanting an inexpensive B&B for a trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
The Conifers Guest House
#152 of 392 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardmor House
Ardmor House
#76 of 392 in Edinburgh
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canadale Guest House
Canadale Guest House
#133 of 392 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#93 of 392 in Edinburgh
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#86 of 392 in Edinburgh
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Vegetarian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Vegetarian Guest House

Property: Claymore Vegetarian Guest House
Address: 68 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10-15 minute walk to Princes Street. We offer three things to our guests - enjoyable accommodation, warm and friendly atmosphere and good food and we do it with pleasure. Although our food is vegetarian and vegan, we have had many meat eating guests over the years and most of them have gone home happy! We welcome every kind of people and look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing