We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Walker Guest House
Ranked #105 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 4, 2008

we loved our stay at this guest house and will definitely be going again. the room was lovely, bathroom beautiful and relaxing. the breakfasts were delicious and it's in such a good location. the walkers were great, really helpful and friendly and we're already planning our next trip!!

  • Liked — everything!!
  • Disliked — that we had to leave!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Susie2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    50
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
120
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed here for one night to attend a wedding dance nearby. 10-15 mins bus/taxi from Waverly Stn. This is a really lovely guest house, room was very modern & stylish, extremely clean and a good size, view was overlooking the craggs. Owners were friendly and helpfull. This is a great base for a trip to Edinburgh, and only 10 minutes walk to Prestonfield house for anyone going to a wedding there! Breakfast was great, they did a great full cooked vegetarian option. Very good value for money, would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Stylish modern decor, friendly staff, great breakfast.
  • Disliked — Steap staircase to room on top floor.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sharpstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquitaine
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We took our pick from the internet and didn't really know what to expect. What we found was a real gem. A lovely ,well appointed room, superb en-suite facilities, a house full of fresh flowers and hosts who were both very welcoming and helpful. They have just been awarded 4 stars and it is entirely merited. Breakfasts are excellent with choices to suit every taste. The house is located on a bus route , close to the city centre, but for the more energetic the walk into the city is easy. Well done Johnnie & Lucy and the rest of the Clan Walker- your efforts are much appreciated.

  • Liked — Beautifully furnished and decorated, excellent hosts.
  • Disliked — For us, everything was perfect
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

This B&B is located on a major street. You can easily catch a bus to the Royal Mile starting at the Palace but our family of 3 would just walk the 25-30 minutes to the Palace which is also near the Scottish Parliament Building, Planet Earth and where you catch the hop on, hop off bus. The B&B is also just a few minutes walking distance to the Commonwealth Pool.

There are 7 rooms available but only 3 spaces available for the carpark in front. We were able to get a spot and left our car there for the entire time of our 3 day stopover in Edinburgh.

We had a spacious room on the 3rd floor with a pretty view of Arthur's Seat (the hill). The room was clean and tastefully decorated. Gorgeous linen on the beds (including the sofabed where our daughter slept) and a plush duvet. The bathroom looked newly renovated and had a nice powerful showerhead.

At breakfast, there was a choice of the traditional full English breakfast but also mackerel, scrambled eggs with a potato pancake or a mushroom/tomato/cheese omelette. All were very good.

The owners were friendly and helpful.

I found the place to be of excellent value, especially because they did not charge for our 8 year old.

  • Liked — the room!
  • Disliked — no fruit at breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numansdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Warm welcome and parking at the front door ! We had 2 rooms both beautiful decorated with all possible needs. Very nice beds.
Good breakfast served from a very friendly lady.
Just the place to stay when you like to visit Edinburgh!
Bus stops at the front door so you don't need a car.
Thank you very much for making us feel like "home"

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanDelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

This B&B is a wonderful place, but the support I received during my unexpectedly long stay there while my mother was in the hospital with a broken ankle was incomparable. The combination of comfort and nurturing made this one of my favorite places to stay during my trip.

The rooms are cozy, clean, comfortable - I loved being able to sink into the pillows at night. The front rooms have an excellent view of Arthur's Seat and the back rooms have a relaxing view of gardens and flowering trees.

The breakfasts are excellent and enormous, with quite a variety of cereals and breads in addition to the traditional cooked breakfast fare.

The house is located within walking distance of the Old Town and Arthur's Seat (be careful hiking there, that's how my mum broke her ankle!), but there is also a bus stop right in front of the house with several routes ready to whisk you downtown.

But best of all are your welcoming hosts, Lucy and John, who are willing to chat and give tips - and if you're lucky you'll get to meet John's mum and aunt as well, who were always ready to cheer me up when I got stressed out about having my mum in the hospital.

I highly recommend this guest house and would love to visit again.

  • Liked — Rooms and location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2008

The Walkers are friendly, helpful, and accommodating hosts. They went out of their way to meet our needs. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and pleasant. There's a nice dining room and a generous, delicious cooked breakfast. Good access to the University and Royal Mile by foot or bus. We stayed for 8 nights, and it really felt like home. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#102 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#42 of 392 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#18 of 392 in Edinburgh
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#24 of 392 in Edinburgh
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#196 of 392 in Edinburgh
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#167 of 392 in Edinburgh
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Walker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Walker Guest House

Property: Clan Walker Guest House
Address: 96 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best value bed breakfast Edinburgh has with 4 Star Scottish Tourist Board rated Guest Houses in Edinburgh. A family run business, centrally located with some private parking, all rooms are En-Suite. The Clan Walker is close to all amenities and attractions, a full delicious Scottish breakfast and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Clan Walker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Walker Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing