We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$132
View deal
eDreams$132
Priceline$132
Agoda.com$132
Tripadvisor$132
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
495
48
6
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
495
48
6
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portobello beach city centre a short bus ride lovely guesthouse cooked breakfast a lovely stay visiting edinburgh breakfast was excellent angela hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 558 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2016

We arrived in Edinburgh to visit the Festival again on an extremely windy, rainy evening. We made our way to the Abercorn Guest House by taxi, tired and in need of comfort, which we got - in abundance! Our hostess was charming and welcoming, and our room was lovely. Extremely comfortable bed, very high ceiling giving the room a light and spacious feel, elegant furnishings and everything you would wish for a relaxing stay. Breakfast the next morning was generous, fresh and delicious. The close proximity to the sea and the opportunity for a bracing sea side walk to begin our first full day was too tempting to ignore. Getting into the heart of the city was simplicity itself, as the bus stop is a 30 second walk from the front of the house! We loved this guest house and will come back the next time we are in Edinburgh!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DKI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Abercorn Guest House and can't praise it highly enough. A really beautiful house, elegantly decorated and furnished, extremely comfortable with lovely bedrooms. The owner, Angela, is one of life's special people with a fascinating story to tell. She and her husband have got the pitch exactly right here with a very warm and friendly atmosphere while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy peace and privacy. I was there with three youngsters 12,14 and 21 who all thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated their stay. In particular the breakfasts went down a treat, with tables beautifully set and a superb selection of breakfast options! For the young ones, the fact that there was Wi-Fi was a great boon. The gardens are lovingly cared for, the location of the house and its proximity to the beach and local services, plus the free on street parking all mean that this is a gem of a place to stay. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank rhuannjoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Abercorn enlightened us to staying near the sea when visiting Edinburgh. 5-10 min walk away, Portobello is a great beach is end any day. There are pubs and eateries overlooking the sea. Children and dogs running about the beach and the smell and sight of the sea. Abercorn itself is a large quaint house with beautiful rooms and dinning area. But most memorable of all - super size breakfast and Angela is such a wonderfully friendly & cheerful host.

Room tip: The rooms are quiet despite being on the ground floor with roads nearby
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TCK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

The Accomodation is just 2 minutes walk from the beach, 5 minutes by car from City Centre of Edinburgh. It's a big house with a nice garden. The room is large and the bathroom is good. The breakfast is good too. The owner is a lady very nice and friendly and it's a pleasure to speak with her.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016

My friends and I stayed here on Saturday the 11th of June for an overnight. We were going to Musselburgh races and so this Guest House was the perfect location. On arrival we were greeted by the owners who were most welcoming and friendly. We were allowed to leave our bags in the rooms and we headed of to the races. The house itself was stunning, the rooms were beautiful and the beds were very comfy. We ordered our breakfast the night before. Where we got served breakfast was lovely it was in the conservatory. The breakfast itself was delicious and very well presented. I would recommend this place to family and friends. We will be back :)

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alysongraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews