We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abercorn Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$115
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$300
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$565
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$135
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$187
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$319
$204
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$100
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
437
47
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
47
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsportobello beachcity centrewonderful guesthousea short bus ridebuses runplace to staybreakfast was delicioushigh ceilingsporridgebeautiful roomvisiting edinburghwonderful stayyogurtprinces streetangelaespyscotland
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 493 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I was very pleased with my stay at abercorn guest house. My mama and I stayed here in a double room last november for three nights. The cost was reasonable at £210 with full english breakfast. The interior design was beautiful with its elegant Victorian style. The breakfast was good; not a hundred of choices but enough to fill you in. The location was quiet which was perfect for mama. It was in portobello which was away from the city, but very near a beach and bus stops. The service was excellent. Angela and her husband are great hosts. They will make you feel most welcomed!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy_teng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this excellent guest house.This place is spotless,the room was very spacious and had everything you would need. Breakfast was freshly cooked to perfection and set you up for the day.The owner Angela was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. On our first morning she gave us a map of Edinburgh and marked where things were on it and was very knowledgeable.Plenty of freeparking on the side street. Portobello is a lovely place to stay- a lovely promenade and only 15 mins by bus into Edinburgh. Would definitley stay here again and would have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone.You will not be disappointed.Thank Angela for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owls-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Abercorn. Portobello is a good choice to stay if you want to see Edinburgh. It is easily accessible by car via the bypass, avoid going through the city. Parking is available without problem in the side streets around. A bus stop is a few meters away, two buses (15, 26) go directly to the city center within 20 minutes. Use the day pass! In Portobello you also find some restaurants and shops in walking distance, and don't miss the waterfront for a walk!
The Abercorn is a nice old and luxurious house, we had a very spacious and beautiful room on the ground floor towards the back. It's quiet, no city noise! Angela, the owner, is really nice, helping us with lots of information for Edinburgh and the surrounding. Her husband was also very nice and helpful, showing us around upon arrival. Breakfast was really great, lots of choices and all freshly made!
Next time we go to Edinburgh, as we surely will, we will stay there again! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We visited the Abercorn for the second time and it was as good as we remembered. It I s a lovely old manse house with well furnished, clean and good sized rooms. The owner Angela is a diamond who looks after you and is a great source of advice and suggestions. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked, tasty and plentiful. Although outside the city there is a bus stop outside and the wonderful 26 bus service has you in the heart of the city in about 20 minutes and runs all night. OK you have to run round a bit in the shower to get wet but overall the Abercorn is a wonderful and relaxing venue

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank BigDaveWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed about a week at this wonderfull b&b in Edinburgh . Very clean with an excellent breakfast and rooms like suites. The hotel is not near to the city center but with the bus (the bus stop is just outside of the hotel) you will be at the city center in 15 minutes max..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews