We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abercorn Guest House
Ranked #24 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked Abercorn Guest House after a recommendation from a friend who lives in Portobello ( no bettter recommendation than from a local) and we were heading there for a friends 40th celebrations. What can I say that hasn't already been said by previous guests? Nothing, the room was beautiful, stylish and comfortable and the welcome amazing. Its like staying with a friend who makes you feel at home.

We got the bus out from Edinburgh, which was easy. We just asked the driver where about we should get off which was at the park and no problem.

Room lovely, bed was so comfy, the type of bed that you wish check out was midday. Breakfast was fab and much needed after a few drinks the night before at Esby bar. Hospitality at its best. I would definitely book again and recommend Abercorn Guest House.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Coralie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 484 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Me and my partner visited 7th January for two nights, I must admit I wasn't particularly looking forward to going especially as soon as i booked we had weather alert from John Tetley on the TV, suggesting the -48 C, wind, storms and hurricanes where on their way across the Atlantic heading straight for Edinburgh, I thought just my luck death in Scotland! but on a positive note I can now make use for my unwanted thick woollen jumper and my 18 pairs of sock I received for Christmas (always a silver lining!). When we arrived Angela was just nipping back from the shops across the road, I didn't notice her and slammed the big white entrance door in her face, even so she still greeted us so pleasantly with all smiles, I knew then this is going to be a good break.
We were shown to our room and asked whether we would like a tea and coffee which was good, we had a room on the ground floor next door but one to the dining room, rooms are spacious, very high ceilings with large windows with shutters on (for extra warmth!), its quite an old building & well looked after and very tastefully decorated. After I had unloaded the van of my partners 6 cases and shoe bags we unpacked and was then told of the different sights, restaurants etc of things to do.
Breakfast was excellent, you fill a little form in of what you would like the night before, then it is cooked fresh at your sitting, there is also an array of fruits, cereals, jams and pastries to scoff on. There was even happy feel good music playing in the background so if you arrive at breakfast a bit depressed or argued with your partner over the last shortbread biscuit the nightbefore, all is soon forgotten, & before you know it you tapping your spoon to the beat of the drums.
I was really glad we choose here and a guesthouse, you feel much more part of something than being in a massive hotel with a Luke warm buffet breakfast.

Location is excellent and only 5 minutes walk to the beach, which is quite nice! if you don't fancy driving the bus system runs 24hrs and its only approx. 1.5-2miles to the centre of Edinburgh!

I highly recommend it and could find no faults, only an idea would be to have some dvd's maybe.
All in all tremendous!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Angela was a beautiful host, the room was superb, the location quiet with an easy bus ride into Princes Street and a block away from the beach Hoping to stay there again in 2 years time and for more than 2 nights.
Jenny Baringhup Australia

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennymorsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great setting,great owners,great place and a great city.Nothing more to say except that the exceptional breakfast here was a great way to start the day!!.Oh and one more thing, busses run 24/7 every ten minutes more or less outside the door into the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claret92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here from Sunday 1st to Wednesday 4th December. From the moment we arrived Angela was the perfect host. The property was absolutely stunning and Angela & Sean were marvellous. The room was beautiful, the breakfast was just amazing. Just a few moments walk from the beach front, and it was a beautiful well maintained beach. Thanks again Angela and Sean. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie411972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here Sunday and Monday 24/25 November, in room 5.
Booked via Booking.com after reading previous reviews on trip advisor. Excellent hostess, stunning bedroom, breakfast exceeded our expectations. A truly special place to stay.

We drove to Edinburgh from the Lake District, took about three hours. Parked at the hotel and didn't use the car until we left after our stay. Bus 26 stops near the hotel and took about 20 mins to centre of Edinburgh. We visited the Xmas market and as it was a nice night we walked back. Took one hour ten minutes.
Breakfast - you put your order in the night before, and have the choice of what makes up a full English, as much or as little as you want. There is fruit juice, fruit etc before you have your cooked breakfast. Very nice.
I can not fault this b&b whatsoever....and I am very hard to please.
We will return for sure.
Thank you for making our stay wonderful x

Room Tip: Room 5 is at the back, and is lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnSedbergh_Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Quite possibly the best breakfast ever in a hotel/bed and breakfast and what a wonderful hostess! An overnight in Edinburgh to see a band,wanted to be by the sea so Portobello seemed like the obvious choice. It turns out that the guest house was the highlight of our mini-break away rather than the band! Angela,the owner,is delightful,nothing too much trouble and is obviously very proud of her home.On Angela's recommendation we ate at the Espy,the best location in Edinburgh and the next day had coffee and cake at The beach house,( after a dip in the sea and a Turkish bath)again on the sea front,blankets given for seats outside on a breezy November afternoon.All in all a lovely 24hours in 'Porty' Thank you to Angela and her team!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#11 of 394 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
536 reviews
Sonas Guest House
#33 of 394 in Edinburgh
246 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#25 of 394 in Edinburgh
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Guest House

Address: 1 Abercorn Terrace | Joppa Portobello Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH15 2DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $83 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abercorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercorn is a large Victorian family property, an Old Manse built in 1870. This luxurious four-star GOLD accommodation has recently been refurbished and offers double ,twin and family rooms for up to 5 persons. Easy access to city center every 10 minutes and the buses are 24 hours a day and close to sandy beach, shops and restaurants. A very warm welcome awaits, so why not book today and have a superb stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abercorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abercorn Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Abercorn Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing