We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abercorn Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestonfield(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
437
47
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
47
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bportobello beachcity centrewonderful guesthousea short bus ridebuses runplace to staybreakfast was delicioushigh ceilingsporridgebeautiful roomvisiting edinburghwonderful stayyogurtprinces streetangelaespy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 493 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We've had a 5 night stay at Abercorn house and it was a wonderful bed&breakfast guesthouse! The MacDonald family is very friendly and I felt welcome the second I entered the door. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
It's a 2 minutes walk to the beautful seaside.
The bus stop is right next to it and there's a bus every 10 minutes. It takes about 30 minutes to get to the city center (it depends on the traffic).
If you want to arrive by bus, take the Airlink bus from the airport to City Center (Waverly Bridge), then walk up to Princess Street (there's The Scott Monument, you can't miss it, beautiful towerlike monument). Cross Princess street. Right next to Marks and Spencers (M&S) is the Lothian Bus station for busses 15 and 26 (direction Tranent/Eastside).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atani310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

16th-20th July - Just back from our 4 night stay at the Abercorn Guest House in Portobello. I had read the reviews before booking this Guest House for my 50th Birthday trip to Edinburgh, and it exceeded all my expectations. It is the most beautiful house, spotlessy clean and tastefully decorated. On arriving through the white door from the road its like entering into a secret garden, which is also beautiful. The Landlady, Angela, gave us the most wonderful welcome, and is so friendly and helpful when it comes to advice or help on where to go, or booking taxis etc. There are lots of little extras which all go to making it the best ever Guest House we have ever stayed in - little bottles of wine in the room, lovely hand soap, moisturiser etc in bathroom and being able to use the conservatory to sit and talk and meet up before going out in the evening, fresh flowers everywhere and lovely scented candles. Angela and her family made us so welcome that by the time we left it felt like our home. On my actual birthday she allowed my daughter to decorate the breakfast table with balloons etc and we had the most wonderful family breakfast (with Angela's Dad joining in with the 'Happy Birthday' singing) - it certainly all made my 50th Birthday so special. And talking about the breakfasts - extremely nice too!!! This was our first time to Edinburgh and will definitely be going back as it a wonderful City, and there is only one place we will be staying and that Abercorn.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birthday-Girl-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Abercorn is a lovely big rambling B&B with spacious light rooms, comfy beds, tasteful decor and good furnishings. You will experience a truly warm and genuine welcome from Angela & family and the breakfasts are excellent and very generous - who says the Scots are mean?

The house is in a good location just east of the city centre and is on a main bus route - 2 minute stroll to the nearest stop. Portobello town centre, swimming pool, beach and promenade are all within a 5 minute stroll, as are a selection of decent pubs and restaurants. All in all Abercorn is a great B&B and an ideal staging post to explore the delights of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rob_log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

This is a lovely, clean and very welcoming B&B. We arrived after a long flight and settled in very comfortably. Nice location, away from the city but right on the bus line. There are lots of wonderful neigborhood restaurants nearby. Angela and her family are very friendly. We only stayed for 3 nights and wished it could have been longer. We experienced many Scottish B&B's but found this one superior.
Thanks for the wonderful memories. We hope to be back.
Wendy & George Hewitt

Stayed: April 2008
Thank wendyhWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Thank you to the people who take the time to review on TripAdvisor!

I planned a trip to Scotland for my elderly parents through the advice of the people at TripAdvisor. You were "spot on" when complimenting Abercorn Guest House. My parents were thoroughly impressed with the host, Angela McDonald, and Abercorn -- and, they have traveled a lot in their long lives.

According to my parents Angela is the consummate host: she is warm and friendly; she anticipates her guests' needs and meets them 100% -- even doing extra touches; the manse is "georgeous," and has a decorator's touch; the beds are comfortable; the rooms are "immaculate" and ultra clean; and, the breakfasts are "splendid."

Without question, Abercorn should be the archetype for all guest houses worldwide! Angela needs to write a book on how to run a guest house!

Abercorn is THE PLACE they would return to when visiting Edinburgh and Portobello. The 100% positive reviews assured me this would be the best (and surprisingly reasonably priced) guest house my parents could stay while in Scotland. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Perfectionandstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews