We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as excellent second time around!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abercorn Guest House
Ranked #29 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was our second visit to Abercorn. We actually stayed in the same room we had back in 2009. It is a great location, shops across the road and a bus just outside that takes you into Edinburgh city in about 10-15 minutes - perfect location. Angela (the owner) makes you feel like family - such a lovely lady. Rooms are comfortable with everything you need. Breakfasts are huge too. Couldn't fault the place and Angela is so warm and friendly. Highly recommend Abercorn. By the way, parking isn't an issue on the main street, and even though it can be busy at times, noise isn't an issue and we were at the front of the house. Great place in a great location!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 480 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had a great time at the Abercorn Guest House.
The rooms were beautiful, elegant and clean.
It was very easy to get to the house, the bus leaves just outside the house every 10 minutes.
Our host Angela and her family were so friendly, helpful and sweet.
The breakfast was great too. Everything was perfect!
We would definitely come back if we came to Edinburgh again.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MogM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I were visiting Edinburgh for the first time and wanted to stay somewhere convenient for, but not in the centre of, Edinburgh. (We were travelling by car to Edinburgh, and did not want the hassle of taking a car into the city centre with all the attendant problems - driving through a busy, unfamiliar city centre, the high cost of parking, etc).
Thankfully, we found the Abercorn Guest House for our 4 night stay.

It oozes class.

It is a large property of character with a walled, secluded garden, situated a two-minute walk from Portobello sea front.

It is run by Angela and Willie who are really warm, genuine people. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable and gave us lots of information in relation to restaurants and places in the area to visit.

Breakfasts were full, cooked breakfasts “to die for”. Cooked to perfection. Quality and quantity. We've never tasted better. Guaranteed to keep you going until late afternoon.

We had a sumptuous, large, high-ceiling double room with a beautiful bathroom, flatscreen TV and tea making facilities.

My wife and I need to check our business e-mails on a daily basis and the (free), wireless internet operated flawlessly and with a very strong signal in our room using our own laptop.

Although there is no “on property” parking, there is absolutely no need for it, since there is unrestricted parking all around the vicinity of Abercorn Guest House. Most of the time, we left our car on the road right outside the property and used the fantastic local bus service to travel into the city centre and back again. The bus service is very frequent and operates virtually round-the-clock, so staying in the city centre till late is not a problem if that is what you wish to do. We bought a bus ticket which gave us unlimited!!! travel around Edinburgh for 24 hours for the amazing price of £3.40 each. Beats the stress of driving into a city centre any day!

Within a short walking distance of Abercorn Guest House were several very good restaurants including an Indian, a Mediterranean bistro, and a restaurant called “The Espy”, on the Portobello seafront, run by an Australian couple, that specialises in home made burgers of the highest quality, as well as seafood dishes. Very laid back atmosphere and full of character. Well worth a visit.

Although we are not vegetarian ourselves, we do like eating at vegetarian restaurants occasionally and we had a fabulous evening (which included live piano-playing) at Hendersons Vegetarian Restaurant at 94 Hanover Street, in the city centre (check out their website).

During our stay, we went to Edinburgh Castle (see photo) and Edinburgh Zoo where we saw the giant pandas – the female Tian Tian (“Sweetie”) and the male Yang Guang (“Sunshine”). In our photos, Yang Guang is eating bamboo whilst Tian Tian is resting (aren't they beautiful?).

We also visited the Palace of Holyroodhouse, the Queen's official residence in Scotland, where part of the fabulous Royal Collection is displayed. It was amazing! If gold, diamonds, rubies, sapphires and emeralds are your "thing", then enjoy! (We have displayed a photo of the abbey ruins from within the grounds of the palace).

We also paid a visit to the Scottish Parliament Building, opened in 2004 , where we watched a live session, and also the “retired” Royal Yacht Britannia, at the nearby Port of Leith (really, really interesting).

For those of you who have never been to Edinburgh before, the road connecting Edinburgh Castle and the Palace of Holyroodhouse is called the Golden Mile. This offers a really quirky walk comprising shops, restaurants, public houses and other places of interest.

We also include in our review a photo of “Queen’s View”, a splendid view of Loch Tummel, one of Queen Victoria's favourite places, which apparently was named originally after Queen Isabel, wife of Robert the Bruce.

So there you are. If you want a top-notch place to stay in the Edinburgh area, convenient for all the main attractions, get yourself down to Abercorn Guest House!

And thanks, Angela and Willie, for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boneycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This place is great, the lovely young woman who runs the guest house was attentitive to our every needs. The room (double) was very comfortable and nice. Beds were great. The location is good too, a walk into town, or we could just jump on the bus for a 5 min ride in. A fantastic place!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Abercorn Guest House. This was our first time and it will definately not be our last. This Guest House is absolutely fantastic. The decor is exquisite and every attention to detail is thought about. From the moment you enter the house you are made to feel so very special and completely welcome. The host Angela could not be more cheerful and helpful. The location is superb. It is a two minute walk from portobello beach, which is lovely and a short bus ride into Edinburgh city. There is no problem with street parking next the Guest House. And what can we say about the breakfast..... A gastronomical delight.... All locally bought produce.... The bacon is to die for.

We are already thinking about when we can next go back.

However don't take our word for it, try it out yourself. You will not be disappointed.

The Mcleish's, Portknockie, Buckie, Moray

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portknockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

While Google Maps directions will NOT get you here, if you can find your way to Portobello High Street on your own, the Abercorn Guest House is easy to spot. Though "included parking" is not immediately available (you can pull in after you check in), on-street parking was not hard to find even on a Saturday. Our initial reaction to this place was one of despair, but not because of the place, but because Hotels.com had completely failed to book one of our rooms. Traveling as a family, we had booked two rooms and only one of the reservations was made. All the rooms were completely booked that night, and the proprietress offered to call a place down the street to check availability there. They did have one twin room that was suitable for my sister and her son, so off they went. I was still pretty miffed at Hotels.com that we could not stay at the same location, but since my husband and I were allowed to stay (even though it was MY reservation that got lost) and the room was so big and bright I was soon pacified. Of the 4 B&Bs we stayed in on our trip, this one by far had the largest room, softest sheets and towels and nicest breakfast presentation. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, but I CERTAINLY would not trust Hotels.com with my reservation and would contact Angela directly.

Room Tip: Not positive, but think it was room 6. Top of the stairs, slightly to the left, windows to the east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweet_insurgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had very nice stay in Abercorn Guest House, beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and traditional english breakfast family made was great.
All people I was traveling with said it was the most tasty meal in England!
Place is a little bit outside of the city quiet atmosphere but there is some good restaurants around.
This is highly recommended B&B!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snow012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#11 of 394 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
359 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4Kt Guesthouse
#24 of 394 in Edinburgh
155 reviews
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#22 of 394 in Edinburgh
169 reviews
The Bridge Inn
#19 of 394 in Edinburgh
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Guest House

Address: 1 Abercorn Terrace | Joppa Portobello Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH15 2DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $97 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abercorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercorn is a large Victorian family property, an Old Manse built in 1870. This luxurious four-star GOLD accommodation has recently been refurbished and offers double ,twin and family rooms for up to 5 persons. Easy access to city center every 10 minutes and the buses are 24 hours a day and close to sandy beach, shops and restaurants. A very warm welcome awaits, so why not book today and have a superb stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abercorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abercorn Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Abercorn Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing