We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a place in the heart of Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Twenty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Twenty
Ranked #146 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Perthshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem of a place in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Twenty for one night last week. The hotel is situated around a couple of minutes walk from the Edinburgh Playhouse at the end of Princess Street and is easy to find. I can't comment on the parking as I was on foot.

When I walked in, the place smelled really clean and fresh. Always a good start! I had an early check-in which went smoothly and the owner John greeted me, introduced himself and shook my hand (which I thought was a nice touch). He said to ask if I needed anything and to enjoy my stay. He also explained that the hotel is being gradually renovated over time.
My room (room 1) was freshly decorated in a funky contemporary red/black and white colour scheme and of a fine size. It had a single bed, a large wardrobe with plenty of hanging space, a chest of drawers, a good sized digital TV (with working remote!) and a complimentary tray with tea and coffee. There was fresh towels, little soaps and some tubes of body wash.
The room was very clean, as was the en-suite shower room. 
I was surprised to read that some of the other reviews found the room cold. I came back to the room at 9pm and it was lovely and warm, despite being very cold outside. 
I checked out in the morning and chatted with one of the other staff and found him very friendly  and efficient too.
I can't comment on the breakfasts as I didn't have breakfast at the hotel.

A couple of small points to note is that room 1 is located at the front of the hotel and is level with the road. If you are a very light sleeper then the road noise may annoy you slightly, but I found it no trouble. Also, the room is above a pad Thai restaurant and the cooking smells were making me hungry!

I would definitely stay here again, and recommend this hotel to other travellers. I thought that the location and price was excellent for the city of Edinburgh. Also, it was very clean and the owner and his staff were very friendly, efficient and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    123
    106
    67
    98
See reviews for
60
209
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stopped here for 1 night in late march 2014,this hotel is warm and welcoming,clean with pleasant decor and a really good price for central edinburgh,with views overlooking carlton hill.
There are many shops,bars,restaurants,cinema and a theatre nearby.

Room Tip: booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterwoo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for six days and it was exelente! Even if I was not lucky to have a new room wich I wasn't even bothered because I only used the room to sleep.
My room was tidy and clean! Eddie and John was exelente to me and my partner they helped us with any issue that I could have! The only thing that I did wrong was to go to the Thai pad on the last day because I coudnt go back again, it was delicious the staff was friendly!
Thank you for doing the extra mile for us!
Leonardo and Rubina
See you soon

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel and I had a very nice experience. The room was nice, clean and very comfortable. Very good standard and excellent value for money. Staff is nice and very professional. The location is perfect to reach most of Edinburgh attractions - everything is at walking distance. Plus: there is an excellent Thai restaurant in the same building!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

City centre location close to Princes Street and railway station, clean room with en-suite shower room, television and electric kettle, clean linen on bed but mattress a tad soft, basic breakfast - all for £23.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Quentin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

very good hotel and the manager is very kind. good price. highly recommended! central location very close to the very heart of the town. clean rooms. i stayed only one night but wish I had stayed more !!! free wifi and free luggage storage

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AdryTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Only stayed one night but was delighted with everything. The owners were great, friendly and helpfull. The location was perfect for a longer stay. The hotel was spotless. Free Wi Fi everywhere and the Thai restaurant downstairs was excellent. But best of all it was incredibly inexpensive, especially for central Edinburgh
Jack and Leigh Currie, Macduff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. Ground floor and at back so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
607 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,103 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Twenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Twenty

Property: Hotel Twenty
Address: 20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Twenty 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Twenty is situated in the heart of Edinburgh. We strive on giving a good customer service at the best possible prices. Hotel Twenty is within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverly Train station and all its shops, pubs and clubs. We have only recently taken over the Hotel and have already done a lot of cosmetic work to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Twenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing