We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Marks”
Review of Hotel Twenty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Twenty
Ranked #145 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Full Marks”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Only stayed one night but was delighted with everything. The owners were great, friendly and helpfull. The location was perfect for a longer stay. The hotel was spotless. Free Wi Fi everywhere and the Thai restaurant downstairs was excellent. But best of all it was incredibly inexpensive, especially for central Edinburgh
Jack and Leigh Currie, Macduff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. Ground floor and at back so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    123
    108
    69
    120
See reviews for
64
222
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed during a week in this hotel and I had a great time!

Since the beginning the team was very friendly and helped me prepare my trip to Scotland. Once I was there, they were always ready to help which was very much appreciated.

The location of the hotel is perfect. I could do everything I wanted in Edinburgh without taking a bus or a taxi.

The continental breakfast was excellent! There was a lot of choices each morning, so everyone can be satisfied.

As for the room, it was very comfortable and nice.

My flight back was very early and I had to leave the hotel during the night. This was not a problem as we can let them the keys and leave the hotel at night, which was something very important to me as I could not have another flight during the day.

When I will be back in Scotland, I will be sure to book again a room in this hotel.

Thanks for making my trip even better!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gribouille5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I thought this hotel was just great for the price. Very friendly staff, basic breakfast and fast internet and I only paid £27 for a night. I won't be using easy hotel again which is what I usually use when working in Edinburgh. Location super too. I really recommend this place. I suppose the only downside is you can hear folk outside the room if you are in the downstairs room but it doesn't last late into the night. Thanks hotel 20.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Billie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had an over night stay and it was fantastic, rooms clean and tidy and staff very friendly, the Thai restaurant in the hotel was amazing as well.
will certainly use hotel twenty again. It was great value for money...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was our first time in Edinburgh and we chose the hotel because it was stated as being very central and it was exactly that, The staff were second to none and very helpful, the room was very clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever had in a hotel. We needed a hair dryer and in the guest info folder it stated that we could hire one so my wife went to reception and was given one free of charge. We had continental breakfast and it was the perfect start to the day. Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend the Hotel 20 as it is great value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kopiteDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a wonderfully quick stay. The gentleman running the place was as friendly and informative as it gets. He suggested a couple of Pubs for good haggis and he was spot on. We needed an electric adapter and he gave us one to keep, very helpful on our trip. The next day he let us keep our luggage in the hotel so we didn't have to haul it around all day while seeing the sights. I highly recommend Hotel 20 and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Service was second to none and the guy on reception was extremely helpful, gave us bus route information and times, told us which were good bars and pubs to go to, and even offered to pick us up if we could not get a taxi! All of this and he even brought breakfast to our room the next morning!
Location of the hotel was fantastic, very close to the playhouse and omni centre and very close to main bus routes and just a ashort walk from waverly station and princes street etc.
Room was very clean and well presented, bathroom was quite small but we only stayed for 1 night so not too much of an issue and was very quite despite being a very busy weekend in edinburgh with football and rugby matches on.
Would definatley stay here again and recommend to other!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and taking your time out to do this. It was a pleasure haveing you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again and hopefully next time you visit we would have completed some more of the upgrading.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#128 of 149 in Edinburgh
267 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#138 of 149 in Edinburgh
259 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 149 in Edinburgh
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 149 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#127 of 149 in Edinburgh
70 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#77 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Twenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Twenty

Property: Hotel Twenty
Address: 20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Twenty 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Twenty is situated in the heart of Edinburgh. We strive on giving a good customer service at the best possible prices. Hotel Twenty is within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverly Train station and all its shops, pubs and clubs. We have only recently taken over the Hotel and have already done a lot of cosmetic work to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Twenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing