We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fanastic!!!”
Review of Hotel Twenty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Twenty
Ranked #145 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The new owners have quickly rubbed their own stamp on things and its reaping rewards... Given time this will be one of the finest hotels in the capital at very reasonable rates!

Our room was very spacey and the level of service was exceptional!

If I were to be really picky... They should Put a small jug of milk on breakfast tables for coffee;)

Seriously though... This is place all be it work in progress is taking shape very nicely indeed...

Highly recommended and we will return for sure!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feed back. As you are aware we are upgrading the hotel and hopefully upon completion it will be up to a high standard. We will take all guests comments in to consideration and always try and improve the hotel. Thank you for staying at Hotel Twenty it was a pleasure having you as a guest and hopefully we will see you agian.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Twenty
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 550 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is under new management and trying to shake off the reputation of the previous hotel owners.
The environment needs work but the staff are warm, polite and nothing is too much trouble!
The continental breakfast is basic but served with a smile and this is reflected in the lower accommodation prices - ultimately you will get a good price for a fabulous location with good customer service from John Paul, Eddie, Cat and the rest of the team!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feed back. As you are aware we are upgrading the hotel and hopefully upon completion it will be up to a high standard. We will take all guests comments in to consideration and always try and improve the hotel. Thank you for staying at Hotel Twenty it was a pleasure having you as a guest and hopefully we will see you again.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but this lovely little place has made me make the effort. Apart from the obvious plus points like price (cheap & with breakfast included, and location - so central just near the Playhouse, and it only took me 5-10 mins walk from Waverley Stn). On arrival, I was greeted so warmly by the staff I immediately felt so at home. The atmosphere was helped by the fact the owner and management obviously take pride in appearances and cleanliness - I was impressed. My room was great - for the price, fabulous. Again, spotless - and what I loved was that yes it was relatively 'basic' but it was made up with such care and attention to detail - it was as if they cared you were looked after! These extra touches I want to applaud because so many hotels are just about making money. This place felt like it had the personal touch - with owners who care about their guests and clearly want them to return. A big added bonus - the thai restaurant attached was fabulous! Obviously have a good chef (and the portions were welcomely substantial!). I was only in Edinburgh for one night but I ate there (encouraged by the fact you get a discount at the restaurant if you're staying at the hotel!) When I told the staff I was staying at the hotel they gave me complimentary thai crackers as I waited. Again, these extra little touches to make you feel valued. Cannot more highly rate the staff - they really gave me a memorable overnight stay in this gorgeous city. I'm going to stay there with my partner when next over. I would have stayed for longer, felt strangely sad to leave! It is a gem of a place.

Room Tip: They are gradually doing up the place room by room - think room 9 is the nicest single so far. Mange...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Hotel Twenty . We take every comment in to consideration. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and as you know we are upgrading all aspects of the hotel so when you visit again you will see a big difference. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel twenty.

Yours Sincerely
John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed only 1 night in this hotel on ou're way to Newcastle but we were verry friendly recieved. The staff is so helpfull and the price is good. We had a good time in hotel Twenty and i recommand this hotel. The Thai restaurant is also verry good and you get a discount when you are a gast of the hotel. It is a short walk to the centre of the town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Hotel Twenty . We take every comment in to consideration. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and as you know we are upgrading all aspects of the hotel so when you visit again you will see a big difference. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel twenty.

Yours Sincerely
John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Staff all very helpful and pleasant.Staying in Edinburgh overnight on this occasion but would stay here again for longer. The breakfast is continental including cereal,fruit juices,ham,cheese,yoghurt and toast which ead fine.The hotel is located close to The Playhouse Theatre ,John Lewis and shopping cente and about 10 mins from Waverly. Overall I'd say this is a good value hotel with helpful staff and nice location

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Hotel Twenty . We take every comment in to consideration. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and as you know we are upgrading all aspects of the hotel so when you visit again you will see a big difference. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel twenty.

Yours Sincerely
John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were left without a place to stay when our first hostel did not honor our reservations. Since this was the night before the marathon and the scottish cup, we came by Hotel Twenty expecting to be told the rooms were all booked like the rest of Edinburgh that night.

Despite not having a room the staff took us in and tried their best to find us a place to stay the night. In the end, they gave us mattresses and let us stay at the lovely little bar they had next to the reception desk.

If you want to stay at a place with great friendly staff who will really look after you, Hotel Twenty is a great place in Edinburgh. We wholeheartedly wish them the best and recommend Hotel Twenty to all who visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longchuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Hotel Twenty . We take every comment in to consideration. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and as you know we are upgrading all aspects of the hotel so when you visit again you will see a big difference. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel twenty.

Yours Sincerely
John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

we stayed at this lovely hotel in the middle of may, before we arrived we came on here and read some of the reviews, we were a little wary to say the least, however on arrival our mind was put at rest. We were met at reception by a lovely young lady who was very helpful. She saw that we were a little disheveled from our travels in the typical Scottish weather ( TORRENTIAL RAIN!!! ) and offered us a hot drink straight away as our room was not quite ready with us arriving earlier than the check in time. She allowed us to sit in the quaint bar of the hotel and made up our room as quickly as possible, we didn't need to wait long and when we got to room 10 we were more than pleased, the room although a little tired was perfect for our needs, and we were so glad to see that there was a hair dryer and also an iron and ironing board which was a godsend. Breakfast was continental and free so couldn't complain! I do think a cooked breakfast would be better even if we had to pay would have done so gladly! Thrilled with the time and care the staff gave to us and will be sure to return in the future. Don't be put off by negative reviews go and check this hotel out for yourself, once they have finished decorating everywhere I don't think that anyone could fault it! The hotel is not a 5* and does not profess to be so, however what they do have is 5* staff!!

Room Tip: we have only stayed in room 10 and it was a little tired in decor, however the bed was comfy and the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Hotel Twenty . We take every comment in to consideration. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and as you know we are upgrading all aspects of the hotel so when you visit again you will see a big difference. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel twenty.

Yours Sincerely
John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,209 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
407 reviews
Victoria Park Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#140 of 150 in Edinburgh
267 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#136 of 150 in Edinburgh
658 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#91 of 150 in Edinburgh
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Twenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Twenty

Address: 20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $58 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Twenty 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Twenty is situated in the heart of Edinburgh. We strive on giving a good customer service at the best possible prices. Hotel Twenty is within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverly Train station and all its shops, pubs and clubs. We have only recently taken over the Hotel and have already done a lot of cosmetic work to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Twenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing