We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First & last stay”
Review of KM Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
KM Central
Ranked #133 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Tulsa, Ok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First & last stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Unless you take great pride in staying at sub-par lodging, thinking you're getting a great deal, I'd pass on Kenneth Mackenzie. You're not getting that great of a deal. This place is okay ... it's clean, the location is good --just a 10 minute walk from the Royal Mile and Waverly train station, and the breakfast was good.

But the room, carpeting, bathroom, and furnishings are way past their prime ... the room hasn't been updated in a long time, if ever. Out of curiosity, I checked at some of the mid-level hotels in the area, and their prices either matched or beat what I was paying. I stayed here in February, and I'm wondering if the price at the Kenneth Mackenzie never varies. The other hotels' prices fluctuate with the season, so I think that in the off-season, you'll get more for your money if you opt for a real hotel instead of a rundown student dorm like the Kenneth Mackenzie. At least, that's the way I'll go next time in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TulsaLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    126
    81
    24
    17
See reviews for
15
115
66
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Room very clean and relatively comfortable but there was a distinct feel of uni halls remaining here. Rooms and en-suite could do with modernisation and upgrading. Breakfast was the highlight with a lovely selection of cooked and cold produce to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LogieMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I was invited to Edinburgh to work with the University so I wasn't paying. They booked me into the Kenneth Mackenzie. It is a good basic hotel. It is not fancy, but it is does a good job. The breakfast was good and the people serving it were friendly. The room was not luxurious, but it had everything I needed. It is centrally located so it is easy to get out and see the city.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was very shocked at this hotel on arrival because it had been advertised as a 3 star hotel and it looked very run down at the front. Reception is also located in a different building. There is no lift at this hotel which is not very well advertised on the website so if you hate lugging your suitcase up flights of stairs this hotel is not for you. The inside of the room was nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great (where the 3 stars come in). This hotel is situated a little bit outside the centre of the Royal Mile and the street it is in is quite dead so I felt a little bit unsafe walking back at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Exceptional hotel. I have stayed in far better hotels, yes, but I have paid a lot more for them too. For the price I was very pleased with my room which was clean, had a comfy bed, working TV and powerful hot shower.

Service was brilliant, everyone was genuinely very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was the icing on the cake. The cooked to order breakfast was delicious and the buffet breakfast had a lot of choice. I would go so far as to say the breakfast was perfect.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Room was fine and very clean.The bathroom was a little small but it was very clean and did the job. Very well priced for the location as it was very near the festival theatre. Breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Slightly shocked on arrival that this appeared to be a student type base. Not at all what was suggested on the booking site. Room was okay with the basic facilities and was spotless. Good bed and quiet enough location to sleep soundly. Definitely breakfast was the best I've had at any hotel for quite a while. Plenty of choice for continental and made to order Scottish breakfast. Staff where friendly and helpful. Despite my initial reserve I would use again if on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnydays247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#121 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#69 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KM Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KM Central

Property: KM Central
Address: 7 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH8 9ST, Scotland (Formerly Kenneth Mackenzie)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — KM Central 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to announce the refurbishment of Kenneth Mackenzie is going ahead at the start of 2017. These exciting developments mean that this year-round hotel will be able to offer 45 new double en-suite rooms as well as a re-design of the breakfast room all available from mid-summer 2017. Our bed and breakfast accommodation at Richmond Place is close to all of Edinburgh's main tourist attractions, including the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle, so you will find it easy to see the sights during your stay. All 20 double and 20 single rooms have en-suite facilities, TV, telephone, chargeable internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your KM Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenneth Mackenzie Hotel Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Hotel Edinburgh
KM Central Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing