We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annie Dowie”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Annie Dowie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Modern, clean, trendy cental hotel in the heart of The Auld Reekie. Sara (from Gävle in Sweden) in the reception is very serviceminded and helpful/friendly. I would most defo reccommend this hotel to friends :-) I´ll be back in September next year (2015). Cheers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi Annie,

Thanks for the great review - we really appreciate it!

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found Sara to be particularly helpful; she will be so flattered to see your personal mention.

See you next year :-)

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    700
    194
    83
    48
See reviews for
352
723
226
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Care and thought to detail was in everythig these people did. From check-in to check-out, not a single thing went wrong. The pub next door had a great breakfast, the location was fantastic, and the staff was super helpful. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Edinburgh.

Helpful?
3 Thank Zaynea1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi Zaynea1,

Wow, thanks for the lovely review - we are really flattered!

It's great to hear such fantastic feedback on your stay and the fact you would recommend us has really made our day :-)

I hope we will see you again in the future,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

for young people. Central to Old Town, restaurants and night life. Small but clean rooms. Bathroom very functional. Only one modern uncomfortable chair to relax in after a day of trekking in Edinburgh. Make sure to get a room on third of fourth floor. Otherwise, you may be listening to the heavy base from the pub next door, and party revelers on the street. I would go back.

Room Tip: 3rd of 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank travellight47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi travellight,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our future guests :-)

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again; please let us know if you are returning and we will ensure you receive a great returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

At first when I decide to book this hotel, I thought it was right in the middle of old town. Short walk from the airport bus stop. Yes, it was but it was an uphill walk! Imagine you were there with relatively big luggage and in a middle of the rain!
Anyway when we reached the hotel,receptionist was very friendly and informative. And it’s really boutique hotel. Nice design. I like it.
The room was really small,but it's what I expected since it's in the old town and old building. The receptionist offered us to send our luggage to the room but we refused since we think our room were just on 3rd storeys. But trust me, if you go there, let them carry for you! Narrow path stair and many doors to walk thru. And the lift is only go upto 1st storey. Overall experience I would say it was a nice hotel. Good for short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi Jackie,

Thank you for the great review!

It sounds like you had a fantastic time in Edinburgh and made the most of our central location; Edinburgh is a lovely city to walk round - but you are right, there are so many hills to prepare for!

It's lovely to hear you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and you enjoyed your time with us.

I hope we will see you again!

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Close to the action but on a less touristy street; entrance is in the large square with many restaurants and bars so felt safe. Hotel was very clean, modern and comfortable, and had a special charm. Main building has elevator while the annex doesn't, so make sure to ask them if you want an elevator. Staff very friendly; books and games to borrow for free from the reception, and sweet treats daily!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 0AS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi 0AS2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay - we really do appreciate it!

It's lovely to hear such fantastic feedback about your time with us, particularly in regards to our central location and our cosy reception area.

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive a great returner rate on your next visit :-)

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

My daughter and I arrived for a one night stay. We had a great comfy room on 4th floor. This hotel was situated in the middle of the grass market area of Edinburgh. We called it the alternative tourist area, full of small shops, cafés and bars it was great. We also bought 24hr tickets for the hop on/off tour bus which stopped close by, a great way to see Edinburgh when you're only there for a short time. The hotel staff were young friend land helpful. The room was tastefully trendy. It is a listed building so obviously some of the rooms would be quite small, ours wasn't it was perfect! My daughter was thrilled with the iPod /phone dock at the bedside which when connected also played in shower room! Everything you could need was thought of in a unique way, even the toiletries smelt divine. I would definitely go back. The breakfast was in the Irish pub next door, which has a connecting door from hotel for guests, there was a great choice and kept us going throughout the day!

Room Tip: Our room was a good size and was on the 4th floor. However, I didn't see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh - it sounds like you had a lovely trip with your daughter :-)

It's great to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us, and I will pass on your kind comments to the team next door at Biddy Mulligans.

I hope we can welcome you back again in the future!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nightscat the hotel. We asked fora quiet room and it was, exceot for the hum of the music in the bar nexr door, the muffled banging of the bar door and the muffled scraoing of chairs as they cleaned up at night. None of which really caused a problem it wad just back ground. The hotel is very ckean, the staff very helpful and we would stay there again. Rooms are little small but this is city centre and we would have tgat for the great position of the hotel. Ideal for walking in Edingburgh. The niggles (not problems!) were that there was no where to sit other than on the bed, no where to put anything down and watch out for the ihternal stairs if you have heavy suitcases. Overall though looking forward to going back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartbrackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Stuart,

Thanks for the great review; we really appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their experience with us!

It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Edinburgh, and it sounds as though you made use of our great location throughout your time here! We think that Edinburgh is a great city to explore by foot; though you do have to prepare for the hills :-)

As you have noted, some of our rooms do vary in size due to the age of the building. We categorise our rooms to try and assist our guests when choosing at the time of booking, and our smaller rooms are designed to make good use of the space available.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we can see you again on your next visit to the city!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing