We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant Location”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #50 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dunmore, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brillant Location”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at the Grass market in February/March 2014. I found the location brillant, very close to the Edinburgh Castle and quite close to the main shopping street if you dont mind climbing alot of steps. The room was quite small ( Twin), but was clean, the ensuite and shower were lovely. The breakfast was in the irish pub attached to the hotel which was quirky and really nice. The staff in here were lovely as well. I would highly recommend the Grass Market, its a hotel with a difference. You will enjoy your stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hi Kiara,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh; it sounds like you had a great time and made the most of our fantastic city centre location :-)

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the room, the amazing rainfall shower and the breakfast next door in Biddy Mulligans – I will pass on your kind comments to their management team.

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive the best returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    735
    216
    87
    54
See reviews for
393
772
231
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The location is great in the city centre of Edinburgh. The bed is very comfortable and room is very clean. Lovely bathroom with walk-in shower. The Dandy Wallpaper and wall map with word magnets adds to the fun and quirkiness of the hotel.

Definitely would recommend for a nice visiting weekend stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerTL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi TravellerTL2014,

Thank you so much for leaving a review about your recent stay with us; we really appreciate it!

I’m so pleased to hear you found the rooms comfortable and clean, and that you enjoyed our fantastic bathrooms!

It is also great to hear you would recommend us to others :-)

Hope to see you again,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We found the hotel easily - it's close to Waverley, and it's in a perfect location. We were close to lots of great clubs, good restaurants, castle next door, market on Saturdays... We really couldn't have asked for more the place was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40coats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi 40coats,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review of your time with us; we really appreciate it!

It sounds like you had a great time during your stay in Edinburgh and that you made good use of our excellent city centre location :-)

Please let us know if you are returning and we will ensure you receive a great returner rate!

Thanks again,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel will be a pleasant stay from the first moment when you open it's doors..the very stylish reception room with games on the wall and a lot of books to read as well as always so welcome and friendly receptionists will make you feel like almost at home yet a bit better.
A trip to the bedroom might be a bit interesting through the maze of the hotels little corridors but I'm sure you'll find your room easily enough and when you open the doors.. you'll be happy you chose this hotel over all the others.. just plug your iPod/iPhone in the dock which is in the wall and listen to your favorite tunes coming from the ceiling and even in bathroom :) There's a huge map on the wall with little magnets so you can plan your evening in the city. Comic books to read and one of the tastiest little Scottish snacks on the table together with a variety of tea and coffee. The beds are amazingly comfortable and smell absolutely beautiful and always clean I must say that these truly are the best mattresses in Edinburgh 'cause I've stayed in plenty of hotels in the city before I discovered this gem. Now this is the only place I'd go to..and why not? It's right in the middle of the best part of the city and not so far from the big party avenues like Prince and George streets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelsaArdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi HelsaArdino,

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of your recent experience with us here in Edinburgh!

I’m so pleased you enjoyed our unique reception area and our friendly reception team; we aim to please :-)

The layout of the hotel can be confusing at times, due to the age of the building, but we think it just adds to our charm!

Please let us know next time you are coming to stay and we will ensure you get a fantastic returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Room and atmosphere was great, staff really helpful and the modern room was amazing. Great location with great bar attached. The layout was great and teacakes instead of biscuits was a nice touch. Easy walking distance from the castle and some great night life and attractions. Breakfast is good aswell

Room Tip: Well worth a stay, easy walking distance from Waverley station which will save you the taxi fair. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TomQuayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Tom,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of your recent stay with us :-)

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the room, our unique atmosphere and our superb staff! I must admit; the teacakes are a favourite of mine too….

Hope to see you again in the future,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel has been tastefully and uniquely modernised, the beds were very comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep until the window cleaner woke us up before it was even light! The staff were friendly and helpful and I would definately return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi Alison,

Thank for the great review; it sounds like you had a fantastic trip to Edinburgh - I'm pleased we could play a part in that for you :-)

I am sorry to hear that the window cleaners disturbed you; I will look into this and discuss it fully with our team.

It's great to hear you would return - please get in touch and we will sort you out with a great returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Brilliant location right in the old town, The room was very well cleaned spacious and comfy. The staff were all friendly and happy to help. Great little hotel very reasonable prices. We stayed on my wifes birthday and arrived back to find a card and chocolates left in the room. there are many little quirks at this hotel that sets it aside from the rest. will definatly stay again

Room Tip: The top floor had brilliant views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatt00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Tatt00dle!

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of your stay – it’s great to hear such positive feedback about our wee hotel :-)

I hope you and your wife had a lovely trip to Edinburgh for her birthday, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future – please keep in touch!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,519 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#86 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 149 in Edinburgh
331 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing