We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel in a "spooky" area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
344 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in a "spooky" area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I booked room in Grassmarket hotel for 2 nights through an online reservation site. The booking was smooth process.

The hotel is well located near to most attractions and has several eatries, cafes and pizza joints around. The check-in was smooth and hassle free. We really like the 'different' decor of the reception, and rooms. They had nice quirky decor complete with board games etc at reception.

We had to take several flights of stairs in all directions to our room - which we found somewhat awkward. The room itself though was quite small (maybe fine by Edinburgh standards), and was uniquely decorated. It had comic printouts all over the wall. The bathroom was decent and everything worked well.

Since we were out most of the time, and did not spend much time in hotel, except to sleep, we did not experience much of their service first hand. But with our limited interaction at reception, and few other times, we think service would be at par.

The hotel is located at a place which was an 'execution center' earlier - hence 'spooky'. - though there is nothing spooky about the neighborhood anymore now.

Room Tip: Try to get room which not deep in wandering alleys
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indiavoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Morning indiavoyager,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us and glad you had a smooth booking process making your reservation. Our location really is steeped in history with many tales and story’s from the past right on our door step, there’s always something interesting going on or things to learn. Please let us know if you’re coming back to Edinburgh again, we would be delighted to have you stay again.

Best wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    688
    194
    83
    48
See reviews for
345
714
225
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights this weekend in a comfy twin...room 212 in fact. Great quirky hotel with a few thoughtful extras. Only booked 2 weeks ago but couldn't have asked for a better location. Near bars, cafes and shops in the Old Town. Was v clean and quiet. Our room was at the back of the hotel so peaceful...no noise from street & bars. We didn't opt for breakfast but instead went to Hula cafe just round the corner...another gem! Great hotel and would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Rachel C,

Thank you for the lovely review. It really was our pleasure to have you as our guest, if your ever returning to Edinburgh please do let us know directly. We would be delighted to have you stay again. Have a great day,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Grassmarket Hotel. Brilliant staff who can't help you enough, excellent location just behind the castle in a cool area of Edinburgh with a series of bars, live music pubs, shops etc.

Had a slight problem with windows on 5th floor being sealed. When I had a shower the whole bedroom would steam up. I was upgraded to a bigger room without any fuss whatsoever but that part of the hotel being located on the 1st floor above a music bar meant the room was noisy until about midnight.

Service for breakfast in the bar was pretty slow.

That said I really enjoyed the stay and would easily stay there again. Great value for money, friendly staff, good clean rooms and cool and funky little design items meant it really was a great place to spend 3 nights in Edinburgh. The location is unbeatable in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jms999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Good morning jms999,

Thanks for taking the time to review us, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and great you enjoyed your time with us. I will certainly speak to our maintenance team regarding the window on the 5th floor, thanks for bringing this to my attention. Come back and visit us again soon.

Best wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I picked this hotel off the internet so was nervous about it, no guide book reviews, and it was great, a very modern hotel inside a historical building in an excellent and convenient area with a helpful staff. We had a corner room, 402, with wonderful rooftop views, not large but well designed. We would stay there again, close to good pubs and restaurants and the Castle. I could do without the comic book wallpaper, but whatever! It is a hike from the airport citylink, took a cab going back....

Room Tip: Corner room! good views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Barbara F,

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with such a lovely review! I will certainly make sure our team have the chance to have a read of these comments you kindly posted. Please make a point of getting in touch with us a the Grassmarket Hotel is your ever returning to Edinburgh, we would be delighted to have you as our guest again.

Take care Barbara and thanks again...

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, the rooms were very airy feeling, very clean, comfortable beds and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The bathroom was very modern, loved all the toiletries and treats in the jars for guests. Considering the great location and affordability, it was a fantastic hotel. The only thing that would have made it even better is air conditioning and getting to our room was a bit confusing with lots of partial levels and stairs. Overall though, i would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelKoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Morning kleo02,

Big thank you for this great review! Always great to hear such fantastic feedback, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and welcome back anytime. I will certainly look at the air-conditioning instructions with our maintenance department to see how we can make it a bit more user friendly, thanks for letting me know about this. Again, thanks for this review. Take care…

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Grassmarket Hotel is great fun, especially for kids! The rooms look like they were decorated by kids. The hotel is located really close to the Royal Mile, so you can nip back when the rain gets to heavy, and believe me it can get heavy quickly. We only stayed one night before heading to Italy and this was perfect. I loved the place, the quirky nature appealed to me. My wife was lest impressed but still happy.

Couple of points to note- parking is not on site and you need to find your own. The hotel was great at telling us where to get parking. I'd suggest you use the car park in the RaddisonBlu hotel off the mile. It's 24 hours so if you have an early departure as we did its no issue getting the car back. Also, it's a hotel so one room. We were all so smashed after a day walking the city that it didn't matter. But if you have young kids that go to sleep early suggest finding a 1 room apartment if you want to stay up later. And finally, the hotel looks to be 3 buildings interconnected. We had to take a lift to the first floor, then wind our way through the buildings to take stairs to our room. Not a big deal at all, but if you hate stairs ask for a room in the main building.

And one last thing, Scotland has some crazy rules ion kids in pubs. We actually found it hard to find a place that would let our 8 & 9 year old dine. S, you might need to plan your dinner around this. We found a place just down the road but had to be out by 8pm and sit at the back.

Room Tip: See tips in main comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZMidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi MZMidds,

Firstly, it was a pleasure having you both and the kids stay with us. Our location and quirky décor really to set us apart and it’s great to see you appreciate this. If yourself and family are ever returning to Edinburgh please let us know directly, we would love to have you all as our guest again. Thanks for the kind review and your time…

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We (myself and my husband, early 40's) stayed at the Grassmarket Hotel on 3 September, 2013 for two nights.

There are a lot of great things about this hotel. The design was fun and funky and exactly what I was hoping for (although the morning in-room puzzles mentioned on their website were absent from our stay). Everything from the room-key holder to the packaging of the toiletries had a fun aesthetic.

We enjoyed the location and the shops and restaurants nearby. It was an easy walk to the castle and Royal Mile (not next door, although it sits almost under the castle, but easy and pleasant past lots of great shops and restaurants).

Our room faced the Grassmarket and was over the bar. At night noise from the street and bar drifted up to the room. It didn't bother us, but it's worth noting that if you're a light sleeper, you may want to request a room in another part of the building.

Unfortunately, the bed in our room was extremely uncomfortable. Beyond firm, it was simply hard (like sleeping directly on a hard floor). We slept terribly. A hard, uncomfortable bed isn't for me, so despite so many other great qualities, this will prevent me from booking at the Grassmarket again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel facing the Grassmarket have a great view of the area, but may be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Good morning hmeeson,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review, it’s lovely to hear you liked our fun design and location. We pride ourselves on giving our guests a good night’s sleep and disappointed that this was not the case in your experience. I will make a point of personally looking into the bedroom you stayed in and check out the bed, everyone has a personal preference of how they like sleep and if you are ever returning to Edinburgh please let me know directly. I’ll do my very best to allocate you the comfiest bed in our hotel. Thanks for your time,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing